1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS ROG Crosshair IV Extreme Features Hydra

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 10, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,759
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Following the apparently-successful launch of the ROG Crosshair IV Formula, ASUS is preparing the second, even-higher end offering under the Republic of Gamers (ROG) series for the socket AM3 platform, the Crosshair IV Extreme. First pictured and detailed in March, the Crosshair IV Extreme turned out to be a little more than just a beefier Crosshair IV Formula with a stronger VRM and more expansion slots; it has an important addition to its feature-set which was revealed after some websites pictured the board without its chipset heatsink. The Crosshair IV Extreme makes use of the Lucid Hydra engine, with a 32-lane Hydra bridge chip that supports 3~4 graphics cards. While the AMD 890FX isn't deficient of PCI-Express lanes, the addition of Hydra gives the motherboard the unique ability to mix and match graphics cards, with special modes for pairing ATI GPUs, NVIDIA GPUs, and ATI + NVIDIA GPUs. Another feature that got revealed with the heatsinks off is the CPU VRM, which makes use of no less than 11 independent phases, and a super ML capacitor that helps voltage tuning with high precision, and conditions CPU voltage better than conventional capacitors. ASUS may choose Computex as the ideal launch-vehicle for the Crosshair IV Extreme.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Slashgear
     
    Kei, Lionheart and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  2. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,631 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    London
    Mmmm :D
     
  3. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,077 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Thanx for posting this, like I said before, simply stunning motherboard, 5 PCI E slots and good spacing, great colour scheme as well, luvin it:toast:, I can't wait till I get my Rampage Extreme III motherboard:rockout::rockout::rockout:
     
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,222 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,128
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Wow power circuitry. They sure shoved that CPU socket over a lot to make room. Can anybody else see potential conflicts with RAM and HSFs?
     
  5. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,478 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    Not with water...... and lets face it if you spending this much on a motherboard you should just grab some water action also.
     
  6. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    366 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Sweet mobo, shame it's going to waste on an AMD CPU.:cry:
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    It seems wider, is it E-ATX? Yeah, that socket is a bit close to the memory slots.
     
  8. Mescalamba

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    SLi on AMD? Interesting..
     
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,802 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    AMD has taken the high road on this one. Not only do they promote Xfire on other platforms, but now thier promoting SLI on thier own, PLUS this reeks of giving user ability to have a secondary NV card strictly for Physx. Conicidence - NOT.

    Would NV ever do something like this? Not in the forseable future - they are way to arrogant.

    AMD rocks.
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    You can already use SLi with AMD on the 980a AM3 chipset. ;) From what I've seen (dumo I think) it's quite nice!
     
  11. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    yeah at least now we can have SLi and crossfire in one mobo, just like X58
     
  12. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Singapore
    N0 wA1 dUde!
    First of all this is in no way an AMD product, it is entirely engineered by Asus.
    Secondly the Hydra driver doesn't support physx yet. Remember you have to install the Hydra driver and then the ati and Nvidia ones as "sub-drivers". That means the Hydra driver runs as a sort of a hypervisor that virtualizes other drivers instead of running them natively and that means we won't see physx any time soon.
     
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,802 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Ahhh... well that's too bad. Suspect it'll never natively support Physx, unless Hyrda is bought by NV and forced to not support ATI. :rolleyes:

    Edit: This says a sort of different tale, it's only ASUS implementing Hydra:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/107704/NVIDIA_Shuns_Lucid_Hydra.html

    " The Lucid Hydra engine by design is vendor-neutral. It provides a sort of abstraction-layer between the OS and the GPUs, and uses the available graphics processing resources to upscale resulting performance. This effectively kills NVIDIA’s cut, as motherboard vendors needn’t have the SLI license, and that users of Hydra won’t be using SLI or Crossfire anymore. Perhaps fearing a loss of revenue, NVIDIA is working on its drivers to ensure that its GeForce GPUs don’t work on platforms that use Hydra. Perhaps this also ensures "quality control, and compatibility", since if the customer isn't satisfied with the quality and performance of Hydra, NVIDIA for one, could end up in the bad books. This could then also kick up warranty issues, and product returns. "
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2010
  14. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    id buy the board for all the other features it has first before any of this, cause it has allot most will just use it for 1 cheap card Phsyx
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,685 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,872
    Slot config is still not optimized for dual video cards
     
  16. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    really nice but im afraid to see the retail price
     
  17. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    they are all 16X... not just the first 2 and u can turn them on or off at the top of the board

    not going to be more than 289/300most (but with all the other features not listed here it sounds right) The only problem with an anouncemnt like this is itll overshadow everything else cool about the board and enter gimmik territory. For 300 most 279 least It wont be bad for the ppl there trying to target. ppl who WANT way over need. If you have a 78T like like your specs say then itll be too steep, or not your market. The lucid is just something extra most ppl with 890 boards have already chosen a camp.. but the X6 for its price could be a game changer on the cpu side. It wont be more than the Intel maximus extreme even with the lucid chip.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2010
  18. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I just bought the Crosshair IV, havent even used it yet... guess ill upgrade as soon as it comes out.:rockout:
     
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    And people called me crazy not getting the formula :) this willl look nice with my other crosshair series boards as for the anti amd comment towards the top my 1090t does 4.4ghz on air stable enough to loop 3dmark vantage a few times and performs like a 920 so it clocks and performs like a i7 I can handle that ;)
     
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,759
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    You could SLI on AMD before you could Crossfire on AMD, or even SLI on Intel.
     
    cdawall says thanks.
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,685 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,872
    What I am getting at is the fastest slots are used but those other slots right underneath get sacrificed because videocards are dual slot anymore, and Scaling beyond 2 goes downhill.

     
  22. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,808 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    MAkes me want it even more, but honestly, it is not much better than the Crosshair IV Formula.
     
  23. aquariuz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    69 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hi Bta, what do you mean by that though? Sorry, I'm just trying to figure out which AMD boards/chipsets will support SLI. I'm not very familiar with AMD chipsets or mobos, and lately, with AMD coming out with great and affordable products makes me wanna move to them :D but I'm still researching more into their compatibility with my nvidia cards :)

    thanks,
    Aqua
     
  24. EarlZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Surely they would not, AMD has nothing to offer on the table yet.
     
  25. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,759
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I meant that the AMD platform was the first PC platform to support NVIDIA SLI. NVIDIA's nForce SLI chipsets have been available for the AMD platform all along.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page