1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS ROG MARS III Dual GTX 680 PCB Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,705 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,667
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASUS' Republic of Gamers MARS III dual-GeForce GTX 680 graphics card may have been extensively covered at this year's Computex event, but very few have had a peek at its innards (PCB). Expreview posted pictures of the card's PCB, sourced from the manufacturer.

    The pictures reveal an unusually long and tall PCB, which draws power from three 8-pin PCIe power connectors, a 21-phase VRM that uses Super Alloy chokes and driver-MOSFETs, PLX PEX8747 PCI-Express 3.0 x48 bridge chip, and of course the two GK104 GPUs with a total of 32 individual GDDR5 memory chips (16 for each GPU, 16 on each side of the PCB) wired to them, totaling 8 GB of memory.

    Edit: We received an update from ASUS, clarifying that this card will not be released. The design was only displayed during a factory tour, to show ASUS craftmanship.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Expreview
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2012
  2. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    lulz.
     
  3. LTUGamer

    LTUGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    177 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Lithuania
    32 GB of VRAM? No point for this.
     
  4. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    32 memory chips bro. 4gb per gpu totalling 8gb for this dual gpu monster. Which is still..yeah...overkill lol. I want!
     
    LTUGamer and xxdozer322 say thanks.
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,737 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    977
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Does it come with its own nuclear power generator?
     
  6. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    If anythings gonna need a nuclear reactor to power itself, thatll be the dual tahiti version which will inevitably hit the shelves. But still, triple 8pins to power this thing, yikes.
     
  7. semantics

    semantics

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    111 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Does a lamborghini come with it's own oil rig and refinery?
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,949 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,624
    is this even a graphics card anymore or a motherboard?
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,737 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    977
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    In fact it does. It's a Lambo. If you look in the trunk you'll also find a mechanic there. And only tool that he uses is a hammer.
     
    adulaamin and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  10. LTUGamer

    LTUGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    177 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Oh sorry, bad eyes :)
     
  11. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Down Under
    Why you no let me give you my money ASUS?
     
  12. Svarog

    Svarog

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    183 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Don't see how 4GB per GPU is overkill. Makes perfect sense to me since you would be playing Skyrim with this on 3 Screens with 2K and 4K Texture Mods.

    I play Skyrim on a Single Screen at 1680 x 1050, 4x MSAA + 2x SuperSampling and i reach over 2700MB VRam.

    So it all makes sense.
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  13. Slacker

    Slacker

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    56 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    its weird, but the link that posted about the video card with its shroud has the same dimensions as the pcb shown.
     
  14. lastcalaveras

    lastcalaveras

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    121 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Asus....I Dare You to Make it...I Dare ya
     
  15. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    probably just a test card before the real 690 came out
     
  16. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,047 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    For one game, it doesn't make sense.
     
  17. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I don't get why people state "overkill" for 4GB of VRAM, this card is going to cost more than 1k $ for sure, so 4800x2560 gaming isn't out of the question, and it REQUIRES more than 2GBs.
    W1zzard proved it with some testing.

    Sure it is overkill for single screen but are you really sure to play single screen while investing 1k+ in gpus?
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  18. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Lamborghinis are not terribly gas inefficient.

    This card is equivalent in efficiency to a tank pulling a trailor full of tanks.
     
  19. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    with the engines of the tanks in the trailer idling :D

    anyhow, why would 4gb per gpu be an overkill? a card this powerful will run anything coming in the next 3 years, 4gb vram could be high end standard in that time. sure if you got money to burn on this, you got money to burn for every next gen of hardware but this card could be pretty future proof (as much as is possible for a graphics card anyway :ohwell:).
     
  20. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I grew 2 inches just looking at the pix :laugh:

    Too bad Asus' name is on it :shadedshu
     
  21. badtaylorx

    badtaylorx

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    481 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
  22. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,496 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    I don't think anything should be considered overkill on a card like this. The whole damn card is overkill :laugh: (at least for me it is)

    I think it's good that there is 4gb per gpu. Just as someone else pointed out, this overkill card will be powering/running an overkill monitor setup with some sort of massive resolution. Which is when the 4gb per gpu will come in handy, plus bragging rights for owners of this monster.
     
  23. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    987 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    *If* I had an ultimate monitor setup, I would prefer this Asus card had 8gp per gpu. Reason thrown to the wind! :)
     
  24. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    8GB per GPU = useless

    4GB per GPU = useful.

    [​IMG]
     
  25. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    The Mars 2 evolves. LOL
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page