1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Unveils World's First PCI-Express 3.0 Motherboard for AMD Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    330 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Yap, As discussed before, there's no GEN3 on Sandy Bridge (the logic simply isn't in the CPU! Trust me, we've tried!) or in any of the AM3+ CPUs.
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,977 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,112
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    So why are there these users with SB showing PCIe 3.0? Nearly all are using boards without bridges, too. I've seen both ASRock and Biostar with that now in the past few months.

    That's the weirdness that gets me. I understand all the stuff about switches.

    What made sense to me si that PCIe 3.0 encoding was used, but like you say, SB shouldn't be able. Yet...
     
  3. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    330 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Are those are software readings? I can't even trust those for measuring voltages.
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,977 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,112
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Honestly, I dunno. I just try to keep an ear to the ground on all things motherboard, and this has been an issue that's popping more often now, and I have no idea why. Not just here on TPU, either.

    I mean, we can generally say, that if IVB is used, no matter the board, PCIe 3.0 is possible, link width is questionable though, and dependant on switches used. No problem there, of course, very straight forward.

    Using PLX PEX8747, on PCIe 2.0, giving PCIe 3.0, does add some boost to multi-GPU, even though to the CPU is still just PCIe 2.0. So this ASUS board, to me, makes sense for multi GPU users.

    Those PCIe 3.0 cards on this board, they'll show up as PCIe 3.0, I am almost willing to bet.

    Are they really running 3.0? I guess the PLX PEX8747 makes this possible...or does it?

    :roll: products like this one don't make this any easier. :roll:
     
  5. fusionblu

    fusionblu

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    282 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    London, England, UK
    Hi everyone this motherboard is nice that it is the only other alternative to have to run PCI-E 3.0 opposed to fully shelling out for either a new Ivybridge system which isn't a great improvement over Sandybridge in terms of processing power alone or a Sandybridge-E system which is generally pricy (although prices are coming down now) and fairly inefficient for the normal tasks that most desktop users do (gaming included, but there probably is a significant improvement though).

    I can see there is some sort of argument here. Put simply a normal Z68 or Z77 won't run Gen 3 without a Ivybridge CPU, that is simply fact. There is only one motherboard which is an exception to this rule and it is a ECS Z77H2-AX which has an additional chipset which allows Gen 3 with the use of a Sandybridge CPU; however, the motherboard in question is expensive and hard to get and you are looking to pay around £280 for it on ebay. There is a review of this particular motherboard on here for that.

    Also to add, yes this particular ECS motherboard does make use of a PLX PEX8487 chipset.

    Here is the review I mentioned: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ECS/Z77H2-AX_review/13.html

    There are other Z77 motherboards with the PLX PEX8487 chipset
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2013
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,977 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,112
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    Yes, I wrote that review. There are boards from every brand with PLX PEX8747 on Z77 that'll do that, the last review I did, the Z77X-UP7, is just the same.
     
    fusionblu says thanks.
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I can't think of any situation that would make this the preferred choice, is there one?

    The current Sabertooth 990FX is around $180. Due to the PCIe switch, the new model is going to cost more and it's questionable at this point if there will be anything gained by it's use. Shelling out less for a better performing Ivy Bridge system is looking really good right now.
     
  8. fusionblu

    fusionblu

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    282 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    London, England, UK
    That is true and maybe only a AMD diehard user would go for this as their preferred choice, but the idea is that it is an option that will be available and that Intel isn't the only choice if you want PCI-E 3.0.
     
  9. Bp_968 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Question pertaining to this discussion

    I noticed a MSI hardware guy on here and had a question similar to this discussion. I've been looking at a device that will (passively) switch a single x16 slot to two x8 slots using a flexible cable and a PCB with two x16 slots on it. It requires support for pci-e bifurcation but doesn't explain if thats a chipset, MB, or CPU feature or if it requires the BIOS to allow it (or if it just automatically splits the first port into whatever the other two ports need).

    Any ideas? It would make it possible to turn my mATX board into something with a bit more expansion possibilities with lower bandwidth cards (stuff thats plenty happy with a couple lanes or less).
     
  10. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,648 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    943
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I wish they'd offer this in a microATX form with the same color scheme. And for god sake without the prehistoric PCI slot... It seems there are no proper high end boards for AMD processors in a microATX form, which i need for my tiny box...
     
  11. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,237 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Why so much hate for the old PCI slot?? I have an old Leadtek tuner on PCI, I also have an USB 2.0 adapter for PCI with 4 ports, also an old X-FI PCI sound card, still better than any integrated...
     
  12. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    http://ark.intel.com/compare/65693,65694,65692,65690,66168
    http://ark.intel.com/compare/63696,70845

    I don't know, I'm not going to bother with benchmarks I'll be back with more information with Ivy Bridge being PCI-E 2.0. Ivy Bridge and Sandy Bridge-E have the same thing they have PCI-E 2.0 that can run at 8 GB/s. Sandy Bridge-E has 40 lanes of PCI-E 2.0(@3.0 Speed) while Ivy Bridge has 16 lanes of PCI-E 2.0(@3.0 Speed) going through one PLX switch or several PLX switches. (variations: 16x/16x/16x or 8x/8x/8x)

    True native PCI-E 3.0 won't be supported till Haswell, hopefully. PCI-E 3.0 isn't just speed.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2013
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    AMD isn't releasing anything, but it's server chips on LGA. Everything in normal desktop is sticking with a socket. :laugh:
     
  14. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    AM3+ is the last socket for consumer/performance desktop of this generation.

    The next generation is either Socket GC36 or this unknown socket which is based on Socket F and Socket G3.
     
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Not according to the last batch of roadmaps that put steamroller on a new socket supporting ddr4 with am3+ backwards compatibility.
     
  16. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    Show me this roadmap.

    I've only seen the APU one and the server one.
     
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Google it and remember amd servers are not amd desktops. G34 and C36 along with LGA1207 are server sockets something AMD will not release desktop parts onto. G3 was abandoned in 2008, GC36 does not exist nor is it on any roadmap. So wtf are you talking about.
     
  18. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    I did google it.

    28-nm FMx = Bolton <-- Socket (Mainstream)
    28-nm LGA1 = Riverside <-- Socket (Performance)
    28-nm LGA2 = Riverside <-- Socket GC36 (Server)
    ^(Only the FMx socket is compatible with the previous chipset since the infrastructure for LGA1/2 is substantially different than Socket C32/G34 and AM3+)
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2013
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I have seen nothing about LGA1/LGA2 and LGA1 is an Intel Xeon socket.

    [​IMG]

    Server side still shows a split 2P and 4P side through 2015 along with AM3+ through mid 2014.

    Like I said before

    They also mention AMD moving to a unified socket after FM2+ and AM3+ run there course.

    source
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page