1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus working on dual Radeon X1950 Pro as well

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, Jan 12, 2007.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,640 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    807
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Sapphire will not be the only one with a dual X1950 Pro card out there. Asus is working on one as well. The design is completely different and sports two PCBs which are connected, instead of packing everything on a single board. The EAX1950 Pro Dual clocks the Radeon X1950 Pro GPUs at 581MHz and 256MB of GDDR3 memory at 1404MHz. No price or release date has been mentioned.
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: X-bit labs
     
  2. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Whoo baby that thing looks hot.:rockout:

    The card's getting so big that in the near future we gonna need a case for the videocard alone.LOL
     
  3. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    i wonder how much this'll cost :rolleyes:
     
  4. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I think they are going to be $350 when released.

    Oh it's a Asus one make it $400.:laugh:
     
  5. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    that looks like a monster of a card but for the lack of dx10 and the no doubt high energy demand would stop me buying one of these
     
  6. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    ahh two 1950pros in crossfire already perform like a 1950XTX so unless this card outperforms that its completely useless.
     
  7. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    HOLY SHITE THAT LOOKS MAD... Its a GX2 clone-released at the right time!!! With the right cooling! And it has a full speed Crossfire!!! It uses DVI Crossfire, you can tell, looking at it, Two DVIs and one Analog... wow...

    This is battering the GX2 again. Funny that it will be cheaper than the X1950XTX though.
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,110
    They are going the way of NVidia with the 7900GX2 style.

    http://www.nvidia.com/page/quadroplex.html :wtf:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    But they are doing it properly this time. Proper cooling i mean, look at the GX2's crappy cooling, its god damn aluminium tubes with a tiny, whiny fan.
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,110
    It got the job done, personally the fact that this doesn't appear to exhaust out the back of the case worries me.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Yeh... why couldn't they use heatpipes or migrate the connector to the rear?

    Basically this X1950X2 PRO = 2 GPUs, you can probably use the top card on a normal PCI-E slot if you had a proper motherboard. Its good that it uses heatpipes though because the slot is blocking airflow.

    EDIT: You can use the first card's slot as a Riser card FTW!!! a Daisy chain of the bottom half of these X1950 PROS FTW!!!
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If you have proper ventilation, it's no big worry. I have an Accelero X2 on my X1800, and chipset temps only increased by 2C. I think it was worth it, but I guess it does come down to your individual setup and personal preference.
     
  13. tvdang7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    318 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    whats the advantages and dis about both?
     
  14. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    This thing is a beast and beautiful. I would probably go sapphire's rout, as its the smarter solution and probably less expensive one. Though Asus did rehash a good GPU to mock the 7950 GX2. Now, if they make these where you can run them in a CF type setup, 4 GPUS ::drool:::rockout:
     
  15. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I wonder why they need to put 2 PCBs together.....
    The X1650XT Dual is already a single PCB with 2 cores....

    Seems like that ASUS isn't good enough to make them on 1 card, making sandwiches isn't that tasty after all.
     
  16. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Why would you even but memorysinks on the memory, when you can't but them on ALL.. Sometimes these engineers feel so stupid it hurts to even think about it. Leave them bare or make a bend on the heatpipes, so that some aluminium/copper fits under there and use a single block memorysink, that has fins there where they fit.
     
  17. desertjedi

    desertjedi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    IMHO, what a waste. Does the card provide double the power of a single card? Absolutely not. It simply glues two cards together and you're still stuck using Crossfire crap. Or in the case of the GX2, SLI crap.

    When are these companies going to incorporate multiple GPUs on a single card and integrate these GPUs at the hardware level or a "firmware" level far below the driver level. This is way overdue. Instead they "integrate" the gpus at the driver level leading to buggy implementation, sketchy compatibility and questionable performance gains.

    By implementing "SLI/CF" at the hardware level you would think there would be a theoretical doubling (or very close to) of performance and it would work on every 3D game ever made as the game software would never know that mutliple GPUs were doing the rendering.
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,110
    I don't know about this card, but the GX2 did exactly that. SLI was implemented entirely on the card, the computer picked it up as a single card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,469 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,171
    does this mean that quad cf is in the works over at amd labs? hmmmmmmmm....
     
  20. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    yes, but in non sli enabled games, it only used 1 chip, and performed slightly worse than 1 7900gt (due to the gx2's lower clocks)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page