1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus xonar Dx on asus maximus gene-z

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by X800, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. X800

    X800 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    FIN
    So today i got my new stuff and have it all installed but i have no slot put my asus xnonar dx card in! The board has 1 x PCIe 2.0 x4 but the card is 1 x PCIe 2.0 x1 or something.
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12,991 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,031
    should have thought about that before you bought your soundcard or motherboard then.


    No idea which one came first as you werent very clear on what your 'new stuff' actually is.

    There are 3 solutions to this problem:

    A) get a refund on the soundcard or sell it.

    b) get an ATX board instead of an M-ATX

    c) find an M-ATX with a PCI-E 1x on it.
  3. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    You can put the sound card in the x4 slot.
    X800 says thanks.
  4. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,787 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,426
    +1 The audio card will work just fine in that x4 slot. Hell, I had my X-fi Forte(x1) sitting in a x16 slot without issues.
    X800 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. X800

    X800 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    FIN

    The sonar dx is from my old set up.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page