1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus Z77 Sabertooth Help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by GreenD, May 22, 2012.

  1. GreenD

    GreenD New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Rockhampton
    MY question is RAM Compatibility

    1.) DDR3 16GB (4x4G) G.Skill 2133Mhz RipjawsZ Ram Kit
    2.) DDR3 8GB (2x4G) Corsair 1600MHz Vengeance CL8 RAM Kit x 2

    Will these RAM kits be compatible with the Z77 Sabertooth? and if they are which would be the better choice, and if not what RAM would be Recommended?

    Thanks
  2. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,422 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,510
    Here is their list(s):
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    You shouldn't have any worries with either kit.
    GreenD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. GreenD

    GreenD New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Rockhampton
    Which of these would you recommend? i dont know if the G Skill is dual channel
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    take the tighter timing and higher speed
    GreenD says thanks.
  5. GreenD

    GreenD New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Rockhampton
    well i understand higher speed, the G skill but what do you mean by timing?
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    [​IMG]
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Memory_timings
    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Understanding-RAM-Timings/26/2

    Attached Files:

    GreenD says thanks.
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I have the quad-channel kit of Ripjawz at 2133 (9-11-10-28) and it runs pretty well on SB-E. I would imagine IVB will handle it well too.
    GreenD says thanks.
  8. GreenD

    GreenD New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Rockhampton
    ive also actually wondered what dual channel actually means
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    :eek: have you used google before?
    single channel ram
    [​IMG]
    dual channel ram
    [​IMG]
    so with dual channel memory your ram could handle data twice bigger than single channel ram
    so it would boost your rig performance \
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-channel_memory_architecture
    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Everything-You-Need-to-Know-About-the-Dual-Triple-and-Quad-Channel-Memory-Architectures/133/3

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 22, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page