1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATA Controller card on P35Mobo

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by casper250c, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. casper250c New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    196 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Ok new dumb question for you guys, I'm looking yet again to upgrade my mother's computer and was planning on using a mobo with P35 chipset not a big deal I know but 1 thing slipped my mind IDE drives :wtf:..

    She is currently running 1 Sata 2.0 drive (320gig) not the problem lol, 2 250 gig IDE's and an 80 gig IDE not counting the fact that both her burners are IDE THATS the problem I'm having right now..

    Pretty much all the P35 boards only have 1 IDE slot as you guys know already which is fine for the burners but at the moment she is running her HDD's with an ATA controller card in the machine she is currently running this is where I am unsure how to go and what leaves me tomy question..

    Will I be able to use the ATA controller card on the P35 mobo This is the board I am planning on using.. She don't overclock and she don't game.. If I were to use the controller card that would work ok for her older drives right??

    Unfortunately replacing all her drives is not possible right now
  2. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,557 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yes, they will work, as long as u have the same card interface on ur mobo which u will, PCI i assume then all u have to do is stick the card in your new mobo and then hook it up the way ur mom has it.the exception would b if the interface was PCI-x which is very unlikely, and why in the world would your mom have almost 1TB of harddrive space lol
    casper250c says thanks.
  3. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    pr0n ? :laugh:
  4. casper250c New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    196 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Yes it is a PCI interface sorry I forgot to add that

    Why so much space you ask lol well she does graphics create/edit ect. , movies, music, and pretty much saves EVERYTHING that looks interesting to her.. TBH I don't know half of what she has on the computer but she uses alot of space lol and it keeps her happy that's all i care about :)
  5. casper250c New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    196 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Basically though your sayin just install the controller card same as it is on her current machine and all is good?
  6. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,557 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yep, the only thing that keep any type of card from working, is its the wrong interface which u'd notice immediatly, or the psu would b insufficient. so yes ur card will work just fine. gl and no dout on keepin moms happy:toast:
    casper250c says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page