1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Athlon X2 4800+ 939 temperatures too high?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Widjaja, Jan 3, 2008.

  1. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    System Specs:-
    ABIT AV8 3rd eye BIOS version 28 (Latest)
    Sapphire X1950pro 512mb
    Athlon X2 4800+ @ 2.61Ghz 1.45v
    120mm Exhaust, Tuniq Tower 120 LFB, no intake.

    Ambient temps are at 30-31 degrees Celcius.
    Temperature readings from Core Temp BETA 0.96

    While gaming here are the temps with the Tuniq Tower, regardless of 4 reseats.
    core1 core2
    CPU Idle 35 36
    Max 52 55

    Orthos Blend - stress CPU RAM 15 min.

    Core 1 53
    Core 2 62

    2X Prime95 - Large FFT

    Core 1 55
    Core 2 65

    BIOS reads CPU in between 59 to 61 max temps through all tests including gaming.
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    65 is about MAx for that core....61 under full load is not bad with Aircooling. Still a bit high though you would think it would run cooler. Have you "burned in" that CPU? Try lowering Vcore and see if OC stays stable.

    :toast:
     
  3. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    DOn't check from bios get speedfan/everest/coretemp to check tempratures.
    Bios always seems to show higher temps
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,794 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,174
    Do you really have to run that many volts at 2.6?!
     
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I get errors in Orthos if I lower the core any futher.
    No I haven't burnt in the CPU.

    I get these temps if I use the stock cooler at 2.45Ghz with 1.35v doing Orthos.:(

    Is there something wrong with my CPU?
     
  6. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Burn it in - Run Orthos/Prime 95 on both cores for a couple hous then try lowering Vcore. :toast:
     
  7. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    yeah those load temps are pretty high, I would think about a different cooler or lapping/ reseatting the one you have.
     
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I'll give it a shot.
     
  9. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Drop your OC first, so as to not dammage anything...(or get better cooling). :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page