1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI’s R600 Possible Benchmark Results Leak.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by manson_ze, Feb 11, 2007.

  1. manson_ze

    manson_ze New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    73 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    According to benchmark results obtained in several popular benchmarks on a system running quad-core Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700 overclocked to 3.2GHz with 2GB of system memory, the ATI R600 graphics board has just a tiny performance improvement over Nvidia’s GeForce 8800 GTX, though, the testers used modified drivers for Microsoft Windows Vista to benchmark the R600-board under Windows XP.


    source: x-bit labs

    Attached Files:

  2. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    these have been bouncing around for a while now
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Whats important to note is the fact that R600 should be more OC friendly than the G80. As with anything however, only time and testing will give the answer to that question.
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    This is due to the fact that the mightiest stock cooler on the 8800GTX can barely keep thee card alive:D
  5. Jadawin

    Jadawin

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    165 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Erm. I've got 12k 3DMark06 in Vista with my Quad Core at 3.2 and my 8800GTX, which I didn't even overclock to the max... no way they would only have a bit more than 6k on th 8800GTX. I say those "benchmarks" are crap.

    Edit: Oh, I've seen it's a different setting than the standard. I'll have to check that on my machine hehehe
  6. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Also note that the R600 was running both HDR and antialising which the nVidia 8800 is not capable of. I beleive that this the reason of the benchmarks being so close
  7. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    lets release a gpu thats so absurdly overpowered, it wont be outdated until cpu's multiply like rabbits again!

    cpu bottlenecks anyone?
  8. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    well i would take those with a pinch of salt as theres no proof there even real also if they managed to get hold of an r600 there are no working/optimised drivers out (8800 anyone ? :D )

    btw anyone else take a look at oblivion fps? that game takes the piss big time not even 2 high end cards can play it at high res at decent fps i know it is a nice game with all the eye candy on but it nots that bloody great looking to justify the frankly shiite performance it delivers.
  9. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    There x1950 crossfire scores are off. I get 18,000-05 and 8800-06 (rounded). Maybe they used an AMD or something. :laugh:
  10. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    WTF yeah there well out, i get 10,000 in 05 compared to 11000 by the r600 hmmmmm i think not, and just because of that i would deem anything on those benchmarks invalid
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Man... those are FALSE results from another website T_T.
  12. Jadawin

    Jadawin

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    165 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Ok, with those settings in 3DMark06 (1600x1200, 4x AA, 16x Anisotropic filtering) I get 8051 3DMarks. At standard settings I get 12513.
  13. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Those results were obtained by the false "IM THERE FIRST" website called Level505 which got closed down.
  14. Jadawin

    Jadawin

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    165 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    A shame they didn't even get the benchmark numbers right for cards that DO exist out there already ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page