1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI 4890 choppy gameplay despite high fps in win7

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by vlajko80, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. vlajko80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    System is a custom built, with all new components.
    CPU: Phenom II X4 955, Rev C3
    MB: Asus m4a79xtd evo - 790x Chipset
    RAM: 2 modules, Kingston KHX1600C9D3BK2/4G 4GB DDR3-1600Mhz
    PSU: Lc-power 600 w
    GPU: PowerC Ati radeon 4890 1gb ddr5

    So the problem appeared when I installed win7 64bit. No problem what so ever on XP.

    The games runes about (50-100) fps depends on the game, with apsolutly no lag but accompanied by some a kind of jerky motion. Some kind of frame problem. Relay i don't know how to describe it.I tried to reinstalled (formatted) the whole system. fresh drivers for the motherboard and graphics and still nothing.Updated my bios. Tried win7 32bit to. But when i downgrade to Xp, problem simply disappears. Does anyone know what the problem is and how to solve it? ...i don't want to return to Xp again :)

    The strangest thing...when i play battlefield bad company 2 i have around 70-100fps and choppy gameplay. but when i run some background process like fraps ( movie capturing with f9 -function on ) that lower frame rate in game , problem disappear . How strange is that ??
     
  2. Jamborhgini313

    Jamborhgini313 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    You in the 10.3 drivers? I have it and I noticed more FPS in games but more choppy
     
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,088 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,846
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Mess with your Catalyst A.I., some claim turning it off or to Hi/Max helps out with that. And what drivers are you running? No such issues on 10.2's for me, I run very smooth in BC2 and all other games, but I am on a newer gpu. But at those frames you're running, could be a few different things. Could be superfetch or similar, but I generally leave those on because they seem to pay back in the long term, albiet a little annoying on a fresh install, I can't recall it causing hitching issues while gaming.

    Have you tweaked with CCC? What settings are you running in your games, most notably BC2? Do you notice it worse with features like AA and AF cranked up? Have you tried vsync? I'm kind of curious to find out what the situation is for ya, and hopefully we can keep you on 7 x64, it's worth it imo. Also, welcome to TPU!

    :toast:
     
  4. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    383 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
  5. TVman

    TVman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    turn on vsync and problem solved:rolleyes:
     
  6. vlajko80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes i tried all kind of combination in CCC. The most reasonable is to everything to Appctr.
    I tried turning on/off AA AAA AF Vsync ..etc. On xp everything works normal. Man i so desperate. Tried tuning/flasing Mboard BIOS. Tried every possible catayist driver.New drivers for mother board. I even tried to instal win7 32 bit.
    But, for example when i dissable ACPI 2.0 and ACPI APIC in BIOS i get lover frame rate in games, but no choppy movement. There is something with power management between ATi/ASSUS/WIN7 and i dont know what. I tried to set power scheme in win7 to performances. I tried disabling enabling cool'n'quiet in Bios.
    But the weirdest thing to me is that in xp everything is ok. If not, i would say, ok the card is defective and i would have here replaced.

    To be honest, when I use XP, games like Battlefield BC2 works normal (no choppy mvm) with the new Catalyst drivers (10.2)... But the games such as GTA4 lags horribly. I solved THAT problem in XP (with GTA4), by rolling back to older version of catalyst. And with that older version every game works just fine, with high frame rates and no lag ...and without this kind of problem that i have on win7. On the other hand in win7 i have new catalyst driver no lags in games, high frame rates but i have this strange motion problems like missing frames or something ( its like "teleport" effect, when you are going forward ), overlapping frames.. F-ING CHOPPY MOVEMENT.and all of that at frame rate of 80?:(
    Its wherry weird and i cant determine the cause of that ?:(

    I cant believe that any body on this wold don't have this problem.I wrote on:

    http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/283171-15-4890-strange-problem-win7#t2094506
    http://www.sevenforums.com/graphic-cards/69354-4890-ati-strange-problem-win7.html
    http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=260&threadid=129326&enterthread=y
    http://www.rage3d.com/BOARD/forumdisplay.php?f=69

    ......and many others.
    Any way, thank you all for advices....and thank you for welcoming me :)

    P.S some people think that my ps (lac power 600w) may be the problem ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2010
  7. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    I had some problems with Crysis..FPS was up but had some chopping around ..dunno might be the shitty crysis also..didnt experience anything like that in Stalker 3 and WoW so i think its the Crysis only ( I havent patched it from 1.0 version..) Im running 10.2 ..im considering trying 10.3 with 4890..oh and your PSU should not be problem with as it has DC Output +3.3V @ 24A, +5V @ 24A, +12V @ 17A, +12V (2nd) @ 18A . Im running smooth on 500w Antec Earthwatts and my friend ran 4890 with 450 w psu..good advices in above posts.
     
  8. vlajko80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  9. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    According to me you dont have to have 700 w. I have 500 w Earthwatts and Im running smooth OCd Q6600, 4 gb ddr2, 4890 , DFI BloodIron , DVD-drive , 2 x HDD etc..so no ..its not your PSU..and those calculators have allways upscaled results imo.
     
  10. vlajko80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my mitake sorry ...its 350w
     
  11. vlajko80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    But I dont understand ..if lower frame rate, everything is ok (usig fraps movie capturing with f9 -function on ). And with out it i have high frame rate and choppiness?
    wtf dudes ?:\
     
  12. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    It is simply because you monitor cannot keep up with the higher frame rates ;)
    You are not running CF so I assume this is the case.
     
  13. vlajko80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so what do you suggest, that i should buy a new monitor ? l:/
    how come that in xp i dont have these problems ?
    man, this problem is overcoming me!
    btw, i have samsung syncmaster 2043nw
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2010
  14. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Because games like BF: BC2 has broken vsync in DX10 and 11 mode :shadedshu
    It works fine under DX9 mode which is the only thing XP can do.

    The tearing in BF:BC2 is at worst when you fire fully automatic, the flash just goes all over the place.
     
  15. vlajko80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah, but i have this prob. in every game i install :(
    but i dont sea that other people have this kind of problem using ati graphics and win7os?
     
  16. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    In the other games you need to turn on vsync.
    Screen tearing with high FPS don't really have much to do drivers, it is just a natural thing.

    You really can't see anything more than 60FPS on your monitor,
    so when the game runs at 100FPS you get a picture that is a few frames mixed together.
    This is the "normal" reason that it looks like shit.
    Turning on Vertical Sync locks the FPS to the monitors refresh rate (60Hz), therefore solves this problem.

    Edit: To make it simple, if vsync works turn it on. (quite a few games have buggy vsync in DX10)
    If it doesn't work then you must some how lower the FPS. ex. Turn on 8x AA or something.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2010
  17. vlajko80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you for the advice. i will look into it:)
    but i still dont understand. When i am in xp, and when playing bf bc2 , i have about 90fps
    and no problem with it ?
     
  18. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    1. Try a different video driver version.

    2. Play with these settings:

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Not sure on that, DX9 uses a different code path vs DX10/11.
    So you can say they are pretty much 2 different games in terms of that. :twitch:
     
  20. vlajko80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    omg, it looks like i am going back to xp :banghead:
     
  21. vlajko80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  22. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Have you applied all of the updates on Win 7 when you're trying this?
     
  23. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Make sure you grab the DX web update also.
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...38-DB71-4C1B-BC6A-9B6652CD92A3&displaylang=en

    For BF:BC2 you can go to the settings.ini in My Doc. and force the game to run in DX9 if you wish also.

    Code:
    [WindowSettings]
    Width=1920
    Height=1080
    Fullscreen=true
    RefreshRate=60
    VSync=true
    [Sound]
    Quality=medium
    VoipEnable=true
    SpeakerCount=0
    [Graphics]
    Effects=high
    Soldiers=high
    Vehicles=high
    Overgrowth=high
    Undergrowth=high
    StaticObjects=high
    Terrain=high
    Shadows=high
    Bloom=true
    HSAO=true
    MSAA=3
    Water=high
    MainQuality=custom
    Texture=high
    DxVersion=auto [B]<= change this to 9[/B]
    Aniso=4
    Detail=high
    RenderAheadLimit=2
    Fov=55
    
    Edit: Have you try updating / using older drivers?
    You can also uninstall the drivers and use the 10.2 Hotfix drivers
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2010
  24. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    Thing is I use Win7 and had a 4890 and it was smooth as butter.
     
  25. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    +1
    The Vista / Win 7 drivers are by far better than the XP drivers.
    My brother with his 4850 is good because his rig can't push out 70+ FPS (and he has a 75Hz monitor) :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page