1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ati 5850

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Aleksander, Dec 12, 2009.

  1. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,259 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    If i buy an ati 5850, is it good for my system, or it is the worst buy ever. Pls help me. I was wondering if this type of card could be handled by a poor system as mine. And i was wondering which card would be the best for my system to buy
     
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    363
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    I think you need to buy a whole new system
     
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Yep, sort out a tricore from amd and a decent board with that ati card
     
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,551 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,572
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    It would be massively bottlenecked by your system. To get the full performance out of the HD58x0 cards, you need at least a decently-clocked Core 2 Duo/Core 2 Quad or an Athlon II X2/Phenom II or better. However, it wouldn't be too expensive to get 2GB of DDR3, an AM3 785G motherboard, a Corsair CX400w, and a Phenom II X2 550BE, and then you would be ready for a new GPU. There is no way you could upgrade around your current motherboard to not seriously bottleneck a modern GPU (or even an older one, such as an 8800GT)
     
  5. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,259 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    is the nvidia 9600 gt a good buy, or it bottlenecks again??? I think it bottlenecks even with the 7600gs!!!!!
     
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,551 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,572
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    It would potentially even bottleneck a 9600GT, as I mentioned, you would be best off upgrading all of the significant components (CPU, mobo, RAM, PSU), and then getting a new GPU
     
  7. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,259 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    u are right but it would cost a lot of money. I think i will wait a lot to buy a new system with the 890gx chipset. Any of u guys who can recommend a good upgrade for my system, for example the ram? It costs 42$ for 1 gb cuz it is ddr1
     
  8. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,225 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    not trying be mean but trying upgrade your system is pointless and waste of time and money.
    its not worth upgrading or touching it now.
    If you really want see a complete upgrade improvement then spend $400 and go with a build like this:
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,259 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Is this msi board the one who unleashes the amd athlon II rana to phenom? If so u are totally right.
     
  10. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,225 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    it has the hyperthreading to do so i believe but i wouldn't really try going all effort to unlock another CPU because only a few AMD CPUs can do it not all of them.
     
    Aleksander says thanks.
  11. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,259 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Well unleashing it from rana to a phenom X3 it is good too ;)
     
  12. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,225 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    the athlon II x3 are completely different model to the phenom X3
     
  13. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,259 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    I know it can unleash the L3 cache with the msi motherboard bios, but i dont really know if your suggested motherboard is the one i am talking about. In cpu-z it says phenom after doing the "unleash"
     
  14. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    hyperthreading?
    I guess you mean Advance Clock Calibration :p
     
  15. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,259 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    yeah u are totally right cuz that hyperthreading technology is just a simple calibration and nothing more.
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,171 (12.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,712
    I agree with this ^^

    Who cares about unlocking. The chip using two cores will be enough for you. Though I wouldn't use anything under 500W for a 5850 regardless of brand.
     
  17. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    It's a bit more than just a calibration to the cpu.

    Anyway like i said in the other thread get a better system before getting a 5850 otherwise you will have the performance of a 4830 at best.
     
  18. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,259 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    U are saying that the 4830 is the best card for my current system?
     
  19. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Well probably not. I just used it as an example.
     
  20. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,225 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i would highly recommend go with the build i posted,you will see a huge huge improvement from your rig and i promise you that now.
     
  21. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I just saw you have a skt 754, so untill you can get a more modern mobo be happy with what you have.

    Make friends with someone here in the USA and have them pick up something like this to send to you
    http://www.frys-electronics-ads.com...ore-Processor-E5200-MSI-G31TM-P21-Motherboard
    now that would be a good upgrade
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2009
  22. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    That's a good deal. It might even be cheaper for someone in the UK to send it to you even though our prices are higher.
     
  23. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Xazax posted it earlier
     
    DrPepper says thanks.
  24. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,259 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    What about that low power consumption ati's low end series 5670? is it a good buy? or again better stay where i am?
     
  25. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    stay, than later on when you get a modern mobo/cpu/2 gigs of memory pick up a 5750.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page