1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ati 5870 Recommended System setup?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Kofoed, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hey, So I guess the titel kind of explains it all.. What would be a good system to get the max out of the new 5800 series grapich cards?
    For slot intel socket 775. (If any..)
     
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    why go 775? its outdated, go lga1156 or AM3 with that card

    unless you have a 775 setup
     
  3. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yeah, But im having the P5E Deluxe motherboard, It's gonna be pretty expensive upgrade, Motherboard, CPU, GPU.
    Currently im useing a Intel E8500 3.16Ghz duo.
    But I don't think it will be able to handly the 5870, Mabye one of the 4800cards if im overclocking it :p..
     
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    hvorfor skulle din cpu ikke kunne klare 5870?
     
  5. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yeah, Bottleneck and those things?
    I just belive the grapich card won't get to use half of it's power with this CPU
     
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    then get a used 9550 or something like that, or if you're into overclocking then get a qx9650 or something like that used
     
  7. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    It might work... But how do you think it will work?
    I just though it would need something like a I7 core or so.
    I rather prepare my system for the card :) Don't want to get the card and get lots of bottlenecks because of that I should have upgraded the CPU before the grapich card.. :p
    But the card is yet pretty new, There might be others thats gonna try this with a CPU around the same as my current.
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    Your current setup will work fine with a 5870 even at stock. Even if you get a slight bottleneck due to the CPU (which I highly doubt), you can easily overclock a E8500. Core i7's are nice powerful chips, but absolutely not needed for gaming.
     
  9. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i do think that your CPU will be enough, but if you do get a cheap 9550 or something like that, 4gigs memory, and the 5870 then it will handle every game you throw at it.
     
  10. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Im not sure if theres even a difference, But XFX Radeon 5870, Im just a fan of XFX for some reason mostly of theyre design, However, How sure about that are you? and XFX/standart 5870, Any difference or am im paying extra for the titel? :p
     
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    all 5870s are the same at the moment, but sapphire is working on their vapor model i think, så that will have better cooling
     
  12. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Sounds like a plan..! However as im not a big overclocker, I think standart cooling would do just fine.
    I got 3870 atm, But im having some problem with my games, it's very stable around 65-70C, stock cooling.
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    XFX has a good warranty. All the refference 5870's are exactly the same. Yeah, you are paying for the brand name and the warranty.
     
    Kofoed says thanks.
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i tested the sapphire 5870 the other day and even after 3-4 hours of hard gaming it was like 50c and did not make a sound, my 4870x2 is like 85c after 1 hour gaming haha, so its a biiiiiig difference
     
  15. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Only 50C? that's impressive :p.. Im having my fan at 50%, you can hear it, But it's nothing, Really. So looks like they/sapphire, got a good cooling :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2009
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    its a refference cooler, the same as the others.

    but i did test the cooler at different speed levels, and there is A LOT of differnce between 40% and 50%

    but if you can wait then take the vapor from sapphire, it should be overclocked and have a much better cooler,
     
    Kofoed says thanks.
  17. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Sure I wait.. :p I can search for a CPU, In case it's gonna be needed.
    Well.. Thanks to both of you for the help :p
     
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    The e8500 will handle it just fine, I can run an SLI gtx 260 setup on mine @4.0 without any noticeable difference from the same setup with a Q9650 @3.85 - And I have the additional overhead of a dual card setup.

    Just OC and you will be golden. CPU power is massively over-rated these days.
     
    Kofoed says thanks.
  19. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Sounds fair, Thanks to you too :p...
     
  20. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Yeah no I had the same dilemma as you a few months ago. Upgraded to a quad Q9650 thinking that the 260's (theyre clocked at 810 core and 1620 shaders for 24/7 use) were being bottlenecked by the CPU. No such thing.

    There actually was a decrease in some games due to the lower clockspeed of the quad (the MB doesnt liek to OC quads). :/

    Totally not what I expected. Those e8500 are beasts, and they game smooth thanks to 6mb cache lol. OC it past 4GHz if you can.
     
  21. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    I can, I got it 4.1Ghz stable at max 50C, Which I think is fine, Right?
     
  22. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    thats amazing lol... you can go much higher voltage permitting.. Just as long as you dont venture too far past 1.4v.

    Here is a review of processors vs framerates... you see that clockspeed is still king(sort of).

    http://www.legionhardware.com/document.php?id=807&p=0
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2009
  23. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Aha, Well Im gonna overclock it to 4Ghz, If that enouch. I just want a clean free error CPU/GPU combination :)
     
  24. bobzilla2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    455 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    my phenom II X2 940 seems to be ok for maxing the card, apart from on gta4 :) i would imagine that i7's are required for dual cards though :)
     
  25. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I believe it won't be too bad even on CFX.
    GTA IV is just poorly optimized period. I will certainly not get an i7 just for 1 game. :shadedshu
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page