1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI 58XX owners Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Fitseries3, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,710
    Is that idle or load? If it idle I would watch out!
     
  2. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    100% load
     
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,710
    Then you're fine.
     
  4. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    It just crashes when I load it at 980mhz no matter what I do so I guess my card is maxed out at 975mhz.
     
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,710
    Did you up the volts?
     
  6. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    I set it at 1.35v and its the same.
     
  7. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    8pin sounds good, moor powah! Are the pipes 8mm? Did you happen to take the cooler off and some pics? <- edit: never mind, forgot W1zzard already took those.

    Does the smartdoctor remember voltage after you shut it down? Can to voltage be lowered too? Auto fan hits 38% max?

    Could be the choice for me, once prices drop, Will be harder and harder getting those reference design cards.

    Question hour with OnBoard :laugh:
     
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,844 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,627
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Lol.... in the order you asked (you got the yes answer on the 8mm point from Wiz's review):

    1. Yes, it asks if you want to maintain the changes once closed.
    2. Yes, but only tried it to 1.05V.... will try some more shortly, I'm having damn Win 7 issues ATM!
    3. Auto fan didn't need to go higher than the 38% to keep it in the 60's when on STOCK volts at 900mhz, I havent yet tried auto fan at 1000mhz on 1.250V.
     
    OnBoard says thanks.
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,844 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,627
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    OK, Update as of Monday Night........

    I have been tweaking the card, it turns out that the CCC upper limit is 1200mhz..... very useful! So now all I need is Smartdoctor for voltage which goes upto 1.35V :eek: (remembering the card is non reference) and CCC overdrive.

    I set the volts to 1.250V and the max I can achieve is 1005mhz, now thats using 15 minutes of Furmark, 15 minutes of OCCT GPU Stress test and a full 3D Mark 2006 run. The amazing thing is this cooler, it also has heatsinks for all the PWM's/regulators and the fan blows over all of it, I have added an Antec Spot cooler just to blow up between the shroud and PCB, during all of those tests with the fan at 100% (silly not to go max when overvolting.... at least initially). the GPU never climbed above 65C and the VDDC stayed in the mid 70's C, this cooler really is the dog's whatsits!

    I have just updated my Motherboard BIOS so none of my high overclock settings remain, so I was just running the CPU at 3.62gig with all background proggies running and I hit 24K in 3D Mark 2006 ! The max juice I am prepared to run through her for benching is 1.275V (Yes I know, I am a scared old man now!), I am hoping to hit near to 1050mhz with that.

    Once I have pushed as far as I am "willing" to go, I will step up the CPU to 4.3gig and do a full 2006 and Vantage run to see where I am.
     
  10. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    nice tatty. i have this card, as well as a TOP version in crossfire. they're very nice cards imo. i've been having some freezing issues but i'm working them out i think.
     
  11. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Well the VF1000 + stock plate do pretty decently. I got the VRMs just below 90C with Furmark, and that's with the fan on half speed.
    The stock cooler cools better on 50%, but on the same noise level (which would be ~15% stock cooler speed) it's useless.

    Also take note I didn't use any heatsinks. Just stock plate + VF1000
     
  12. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,269 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Whoo hoo! my 5850 came in the mail, and EARLY!, have you ever heard of such a thing? lol..
    Kinda sad I'm still waiting on the new HDD. I'd rather do everything at once, so I'll wait a day or two until I get the new HDD, reformat and install fresh, clean, drivers on a brand new system. I am so looking forward to this, might get metro 2033 just to see dx11. :toast:
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    A single 5850 has a hard time with Metro. You can run some things lower and still have DX11 though. Dirt 2 looks great in DX11 and Battlefield BC2, if you're into that.
     
  14. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,269 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    It can't run any worse than an 8800gtx..lol So regardless I'm happy. :) Don't play bfbc2, though I thought about it, don't play to much racing games now a days ..XD
    How hard of a time could it have exactly? like what I can't run it at 16xAA? lol. Not buggin me in the least, I'll just run 8xAA and max everything else.
    I haven't even opened the box yet, but I bet it's perty.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2010
  15. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,844 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,627
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    One thing that is very clear to me with these 5850's...... when compared to my 4890 the IQ is so much nicer on the 5850.
     
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,844 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,627
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    TBH, if 1.35V won't get you 1000mhz then as you have probably gathered, your GPU is probably maxed out, personally I wouldn't even entertain anything near that even on water, for me with good custom air cooling I won't go past 1.275V which currently is getting me about 1030mhz :( once you get to a point, it takes a lotta juice just to move up 10 or 15mhz I am finding.
     
  17. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Depending on your resolution, you will probably have to turn AA off, or set it to AAA. According to HardOCP, the highest playable settings were "high" with no AA at 1920x1200, as opposed to the "very high" settings of the 5870:

    http://www2.hardocp.com/article/2010/04/05/metro_2033_directx_11_gameplay_performance_iq/4

    Other sites seem to echo the fact that Metro is an extremely demanding game. Bear in mind that this is a TWIMTBP game and ATI will probably improve performance slightly with new drivers now that the game is released; however, I wouldn't expect any miracle cure. Nevertheless, I do think that the highest playable game settings published by HardOCP present too wide a gap between the 5850 and the 5870 - they aren't that different, are they? The game even stresses the 480. Moreover, the framerates provided for Nvidia cards in reviews are questionable. It seems that the 480 and 470 default to high settings even when very high settings are selected. This is being blamed on driver issues, but very few sites will return to their review to rectify the comparison if and when this mysterious "driver issue" is sorted out, so we may be receiving a false impression of the relative performance of the Nvidia cards.

    Many people are switching to DirectX 10 for this title and are reporting little or no loss of image quality, whilst doubling fps and it seems that the "depth of field" can stress even the most powerful cards currently available. Due to the demands it places on the entire system, Metro is being touted as the new Crysis. Whether or not the system requirements point the way to what we can expect to see in games in the immediate future or whether they can be attributed to poor implementation of DirectX 11 features remains to be seen.

    I have no experience with the game, but even if the 5850 forces you to crank down a few features, it should still be visually stunning.
     
    D007 says thanks.
  18. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,269 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Well I just overclocked it and tested it for a while in heaven and 3dmark06.
    Looking like 1.237v for 950/1100. I'll stay with that as any gain beyond it seems to either crash or would require to much voltage to be recommendable in my situation. I'm quite pleased with those clocks though. Handles much better than my 8800gtx did :)

    I run at 1920x1080 btw, should be a little easier than 1900x1200 at least. Good to know, ty.
     
  19. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Thanks for nothing Nvidia! 5800 series cards have only gotten more expensive like I thought they might. My non-ref Sapphire 5850 still the cheapest at the Egg-$315 w free shipping. I bought it Fermi launch day for $279 shipped. The other $299 models like that Powercolor are long gone.
     
  20. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Thrackan says thanks.
  21. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,466 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    very good find!!!! Mine is 'for 5870' and has no cut out part.
     
  22. anonemus

    anonemus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Davao City, Philippines
    Through stroke of massive luck, I won a Gigabyte 5850 OC 1GB card in an internet contest! And now I'm glad to be a club member. Hope to learn a lot from you folks!
     
  23. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Guys, how do i OC past 850Mhz in a 5850? I tried the AB tweak, but its sucks
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    How do you mean "sucks"? Install Afterburner then go edit the .cfg file to allow "UnofficialATiOverclocking", save then overclock.
     
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    did you change the CFG file in AB?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page