1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI 5970 BIOS flash...

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by xmac81, Mar 6, 2013.

  1. xmac81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hi,

    I never have flashed my video card BIOS. I am computer literate, so I can follow instructions. According to GPU-Z, my BIOS version is 113-C00001-103 (012.013.000.002.034996). The GPU is a CYPRESS. The BIOS I found for flashing (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/80275/ATI.HD5970.1024.100519.html) says HEMLOCK. Isn't this a different GPU than a CYPRESS? The subvendor is 1002. I've read around that I have to flash both processor BIOS. I guess the card doesn't have one BIOS that controls both processors. Which processors BIOS do I flash first? I also see some people flashing in DOS, and others within Windows? Is it safe to flash while running Windows? Wouldn't it be better to flash the video card in DOS off a bootable USB stick?

    Any direction would be helpful, as I don't want to "brick" the card...

    Thanks!
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Welcome to TPU

    xmac81 I will PM you the required information; deleted for an odd reason

    +1 Grunt 408, Please answer the question; before flashing

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  3. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    What is the reason for wanting to flash the bios in the first place? Does the card down clock itself on idle?

    Edit , Welcome to TPU
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2013
    Law-II says thanks.
  4. xmac81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks for your quick (and detailed) reply!

    I haven't figured out how to attach pictures to the thread. I'd like to post a snapshot of the GPU-Z screen. I think that would show all the information. I don't have a area on the net to host the pictures...

    The card is a plain looking ATI 5970 (black with a red stripe down the center) that I originally bought from NewEgg. It is air cooled. Card has not been touched (stock) since bought.

    I wanted to update the BIOS because at times the card is touchy (intermittent lockups), freezes when overclocked, and occasionally get artifacts forcing a reboot to cure. I use GPU-Z to monitor the VRM temps and try to keep them under 100c. I use MSI Afterburner to monitor the VRM temps, adjust fan, memory and CPU clocks.

    Is my BIOS version outdated? Is a better one available? How can I post screenshots to this thread?

    Thanks again!
    Law-II says thanks.
  5. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    May be AMD reference design, Diamond or VisionTek
    Source - radeon hd 5970

    May be, saying this the only vga bios updates that I am aware of are for Sapphire and XFX OC versions of 5970 that required fan profiles and control for ccc to function.

    -screen shots [if you go to misellaneous tab at the top to TPU web site select Free Image Hosting]

    or

    Open GPU-Z and select
    Edit: Example: screenshot.jpg
    and upload screen's

    Q. do you see fan control in Catalyst Control Center? [if Yes; may be no need to flash]

    Q. with regard to lockups and artifacts what core and mem have you been using in MSI Afterburner when this happens and what applications / games?

    Q. has Ulps been disabled when OC is applied?

    Q. what version of drivers are installed?

    Q. when the card was installed; was it a fresh install of windows? and which version of OS

    Q. When was the last time the card was cleaned and or re-seated?
    [power down system and PSU remove card holding fan in position (do not allow the fan to rotate) use tin of compressed air to remove dust from the shroud]

    nb: if you get a chance fill in your system specs in UserCP when you are next logged in

    Note: Radeon HD 5970 = (codename Hemlock) Cypress = GPU

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
  6. AndrewK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    31 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Artifacting is a sign of a cold solder problem. Lockups are usualy, but not allways, VRM related.

    Look back at your newegg order history and tell us the brand.

    If you think of getting rid of the card let me know. I repair these (or atleast try) and can give you a good price.

    Good luck,
    Andrew
  7. xmac81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I checked my old Newegg order and it read...

    AMD HD5970 Radeon HD 5970 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card - OEM

    Let me clarify some things. If I run the card at stock settings, all works fine. If I change overclock settings when the card has been idling (cold), it would lockup rather quickly. If I ran the card hard at stock settings for 3min or so, there by "warming up" the GPU, then apply overclock settings within reason, it would continue to work fine if I kept the VRM temps under 100c and the fan speed up.

    I'm just thinking that if there is a newer BIOS available, it could only improve the functionality of the card...

    I'm not a gamer, but I just ordered a "OCZ Vector Series VTR1-25SAT3-256G 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC" from NewEgg, and it comes with "Free Copy of Far Cry3". I wanted to get the video card updated so that when the drive comes (which is for another system), the 5970 is up to the challenge of playing the game while overclocked for performance...

    Law-II, I've updated my system info to "UserCP". When I click the icon in GPU-Z to save my current video card BIOS, will it save both the master and slave BIOS's, or just the master? Where can I go to download the latest BIOS?

    I've attached a GPU-Z image for your review.

    Thanks to everyone for your assistance!

    Attached Files:

    • GPUZ.jpg
      GPUZ.jpg
      File size:
      99.4 KB
      Views:
      250
    Law-II says thanks.
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Note: the screenshot you attached from GPU-Z looks like the *slave GPU/Bios

    Example: Top Master Master.jpg = 0 [click on image]

    Example: Bottom Slave slave.jpg = 1 [click on image]

    This is very important, if you open GPU-Z that these are in the same position; if they are not *do not use the instructions below to flash the card.



    need to use the drop down box to switch between master and slave; click on the GPU-Z image

    to backup the vga bios's, there are two make a copy of these to edit and [**Keep a copy safe**]

    Open GPU-Z
    - Note: when it opens *should default to the master core/bios save this to file; see example [name file CypressM.bin] M=Master

    -Then use the flip down menu in the bottom left hand corner to switch to the slave core/bios and repeat the process; save to file; name file CypressS.bin] S=Slave
    Master%20and%20Slave%20Example[2].jpg

    Agreed; However the only bios available that may fix the *cold boot, is a sapphire bios [use at your own risk] I have used this with some success - http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=185918 [use original bios *only (131_634136893713165000.zip)] core 735 mem 1010 Edit:[Note: do NOT change .AC1 to .bin]

    **Warning do not change device ID in vga bios**


    ***Uninstall vga drivers in windows before flashing***

    -download atiflash; use this version: here -
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/Utilities/BIOS_Flashing/ATI/

    go here http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/browse.php?c=21
    -download - HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 & Windows 98 System Files

    click Primary Download unzip the files to a folder on your HDD; make sure your USB Flash Drive is attached to your PC; open HP USB Disk

    Storage Format Tool v2.1.8 ; select Creat a DOS startup disk/ select: using DOS system files located at: (these are the files you have just downloaded): browse to the files in win98boot; then start the process.

    Next

    [Note: enable file extentions in windows via control panel]

    create a plain .txt file and type the following commands:

    CLS

    @echo

    atiflash -s 0 oldcyp0.bin

    atiflash -s 1 oldcyp1.bin

    atiflash -p -f 0 C0001OCM.AC1

    atiflash -p -f 1 C0001OCS.AC1

    :save and rename the file Flash.bat

    Next

    copy atiflash and newly created Flash.bat & C0001OCM.AC1 + C0001OCS.AC1 to the bootable USB flash drive

    Next

    Set the motherboard bios to boot from usb *press F8 during boot; select from boot menu *if option is avalable; this should boot to a win98 dos prompt

    check flash drive
    - type dir

    Check position of Master 0 & Slave 1
    - type atiflash -ai 0
    - type atiflash -ai 1

    Flash the card
    - type Flash
    - *wait for it to complete both bios's

    [backups are held on the flash drive should you have to blind flash if anything goes wrong]

    Re: System specs, thanks; Nice rig :)

    Note: unplug any USB and other divices that may be attached to the PC, disable anything that may disturbe the flash process

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013
    xvi says thanks.
  9. xmac81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks for the reply...

    Just for clarity, I've attached two CPU-Z screenshots to help determine which GPU is 0 and 1. The Upper.jpg represents the upper menu choice in GPU-Z and the lower.jpg is the lower choice. Please review and let me know which one is 0 and 1. Am I correct in assuming that 0 is master and 1 is slave? Does 0 or 1 control the fan? I've read that in some cases, it is the opposite and the card needs to be flashed differently. Would it help if I booted to DOS and ran your pre-procedure and posted the results?

    Check position of Master 0 & Slave 1
    - type atiflash -ai 0
    - type atiflash -ai 1

    I'm still not clear on...
    1. Has my BIOS version been known to be buggy?
    2. How many different BIOS's are available for this card?
    3. Where can I go to see a list of available BIOS's?
    4. Of people that flashed the BIOS, is there a "preferred" version?
    5. Which BIOS do you recommend?
    6. If something happens with flashing, can it be recovered? What is the percentage of recoveries from bad flashes?
    7. Is my BIOS version on the site? If not, should I upload it for others? How would I do that?

    I'm comfortable with the process you laid out for flashing. It's just like flashing the BIOS on the motherboard, which I have done many times. When flashing the 5970 BIOS, should I remove all other PCIe cards and other peripherals before I start?

    Thanks!

    Attached Files:

    Law-II says thanks.
  10. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    you do not appear to have installed AMD Catalyst driver or control center [you will have noticed that this appears in Top Master example .jpg]

    -check under sensors tab in GPU-Z Master 0 will have Memory Usage (dedicated)
    [slave dose not have this readout]

    -upload screens; name them as before upper.jpg and lower.jpg, but this time from the sensors tab (thanks)

    Yes

    0

    Yes

    Some

    Official bios updates NONE [as the card runs as intended at stock clocks]

    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...cturer=ATI&model=HD 5970&interface=&memSize=0

    Sapphire vga bios 131_634136893713165000.zip

    If you have to flash ~ Sapphire vga bios 131_634136893713165000.zip

    Good better than even

    Make sure you have a PCI vga card and or onboard vga [if you need to recover from bad flash]

    Blind Flash; may be a good idea to add another .bat name it OLDFlash, place this on the USB Flash Drive alongside others

    create a plain .txt file and type the following commands:

    CLS

    @echo

    atiflash -p -f 0 oldcyp0.bin

    atiflash -p -f 1 oldcyp1.bin

    :save and rename the file OLDFlash.bat

    Example: View attachment OLDFlash.zip

    If required [if black screen] at the command prompt type OLDFlash [this will replace the newly flashed vga bios's with the backup files created on the USB Flash Drive by Flash.bat

    It might be; however please upload both Master and Slave; use GPU-Z and submit to online database; fill in details; note which is the master and slave in additional comments; agree that the info is correct.

    this is a good practice / some may say it is not necessary

    [disable windows updates] **uninstall amd drivers before flashing**

    If I have missed any points do not hesitate to ask

    Note: command switches for Atiflash here - http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57750
    thanks go out to CrackerJack

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
  11. xmac81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hi,

    Sorry for the delayed reply, but it's been a hectic weekend around here...

    Attached are the 4 screen shots requested.

    Please review and let me know if due to this information there is any tweaking to the flash process or flash file to be used...

    Thanks for your continued support!

    Attached Files:

    Law-II says thanks.
  12. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Thanks; these are as expected
    Hemlock Master XT @ position 0
    &
    Hemlock Slave XT @ position 1

    *No need to tweak the flash process

    atb

    Law-II
  13. xmac81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I can't find the file 131_634136893713165000.zip to download. Where can I get it? I'm ready to flash the card tonight...
  14. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Link is in my TPU #8 post in this thread with instructions

    http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=185918

    example:
    3713165000.jpg

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  15. xmac81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Per Law-II's instructions, I flashed the card. I've attached some pics of the DOS flash process and GPU-Z after the system rebooted and driver loaded. Please review the attachments and let me know if all looks good. There was one error, but that was because the new BIOS extension was different. I just called the file by the name it was and all flashed OK...

    Now that the card has been flashed, what improvements can I expect over the previous BIOS version?

    Thanks again!

    Attached Files:

    Law-II says thanks.
  16. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Noted: thank you for the feedback; I have amended the post to reflect this

    all done; look good to me :toast:

    nb: the attached photos are named wrongly FlashMaster.jpg is of the slave and vise versa

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  17. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    just FYI.
    Hemlock = Cyrpess x2
    So the 5970 is Hemlock
  18. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    thanks; did you miss this in post #5? have to say its a long thread to digest :toast:

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
  19. Treehugger68 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    15 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    xfx 7970 black, 3

    I recently just bought 3 of these cards(ebay...), the first one came, updated the drivers, and such seems to run well, but without the fan controls. MSI afterburnner is telling me the BIOS is 012.013.000.002. I have been building computers for a while now, but first time dealing with gpu BIOS, and after spending over 1200 on 3 cards I dont want to risk bricking them. I read the comments above and wasnt sure of which bios files I should be installing.
  20. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Updated fan control vbios for the HD 5970 Black Edition vga card is available on the xfx web site here -http://www.xfxsupport.com/Account/Login.aspx ; in the support section; will need to registar details to get access. [look in the driver section toward the bottom of the page]

    NB: *If there is nothing wrong with the cards do not flash for the sake of it, if there is something wrong with the card/s then follow Post #8 [ this will invalidate any warranty and XFX Voltage tool will not work once flashed.

    Note: Don't forget to backup both bios file Master & Slave before flashing

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013
  21. Treehugger68 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    15 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hey I tried to registrar my product, got a personal activation code error, figuring its because its has already been registered being a second hand card i got off ebay. I really need to get fan controls thats why i figured i would just go flash the bios.

    I got my usb drive ready. im just unsure of what file to load in it.

    Personally i got the .rom file off of http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/80275/ATI.HD5970.1024.100519.html

    also got 2 files Cyoress-5970-M.bin, and Cryoress-5970-S.bin from http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=328736.

    I am just trying to get my card fan working at 100% ASAP.
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013
  22. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    First thing to do is make a backup of the vbios Master and vbios Slave from your card! use GPU-Z for this

    Then start to have a think about what to do if things do not go to plan, you have pci vga card available / abiloity to boot using onboard vga / igp

    next

    creat a bootable flash drive

    Note: the TPU link in post shows SLAVE vbios ONLY

    Note: could not see the file link in Guru link; which post are you refering to?

    I used these from XFX Master and Slave with fancontrol View attachment HD597ACNBXOriginal.zip this was the latest version for XFX HD 5970 2Gb Black Edition ONLY

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013
  23. Treehugger68 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    15 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2


    Thanks for the great help and quick responses. I backed up my bios with the program and the only file that was saved was a Cypress.rom file. not a master and slave.

    The link i was refering to on that post was the one with the white/blue tiger
    http://db.tt/Jft95fO

    Lastly, if I just use the file you gave me for bios will it work? haha Thanks again.

    also, my 5970 2gb black edition, doesnt have the duel fans. I am assuming it was the first model.

    Treehugger68
  24. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,530 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    When you save the files you need to name the first file CypressM.rom then use the scroll menu at the bottom left to change GPU-Z to the slave bios and save that as CypressS.rom
    example in post #8 at the top of the page

    Thanks

    Yes; open .zip file and read the readme.txt follow instructions

    agreed

    example
    XFX-HD5970-Black-Edition.jpg

    Note: uninstall drivers before flashing

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page