1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI 9500NP / 9800SE Hardmod

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Jul 25, 2004.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,374
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2004
  2. DeX Guest

    hi , scheint ja recht einfach zu sein.
    hat jemand diesen mod schon gemacht ?
  3. Frozen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    137 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    US
    Post in the German forum DeX....
  4. Slayerstaps New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    313 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Noord-Brabant,The Netherlands
    Jah vielen haben diesen mod gemacht aber ich nicht...
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,374
    english only please, except in the german forums.

    i did the mod .. works great
  6. Frozen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    137 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    US
    Im thinking about doing it.

    Now what can i use to connect the points? :p I ran out of conductive stuff, and my dad put his solder gun somewhere....

    I tried numerous things........
  7. Ramon Guest

    R360 core

    Hi Wizzard.


    I have a Sapphire 9800SE L-shaped ram (266bits) with the R360 core. I removed the heat sink and it is the 360. softmodded all right until I flashed it to an XT (why not , it's a 360 after all?). The oly driver able to go from 9800Se to XT I have found is the Omega driver, but they don't have the 4.9Beta :mad:

    2 Questions:

    #1 Why your driver (V47 and V49) refuse to install (Unrecognized hardware error) ? The 9800XT is not supported yet ?

    #2 Is the hardmod the same for the 360 core ?


    Many thanks,

    Ramon
  8. Frozen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    137 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    US
    You cant mod a 9800SE to XT through drivers. That requires hardmodding and flashing to XT.....
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,374
    well actually i have never seen any performance increase from a pro to xt mod .. if you clock a real xt at pro speeds, performance is the same as a real pro ..
  10. Frozen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    137 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    US
    Well the R360 has shader optimizations i think, so you DO score higher on benchmarks......
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,374
    got any numbers to back that?
  12. Frozen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    137 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    US
    Look in the endless OCfaq archive...some people get a boost from about 5400 to 6500 in 3dmark 03. If i clock my card to XT, i get about 5900 now (i also get around 5400 stock) The small jump from 380/340 to 412/365 shouldnt boost you 1100 points....
  13. tomy_j New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medan, Indonesia
    Hello, I'm new member here.

    Last week I bought a brand new Sapphire Radeon 9500 nonpro 128MB 256Bit with L shape 3.3ns Infineon memory layout.

    I got my Sapphire R9500 softmodded successfully into R9700 and I OC-ed it into 325/300 core/memory with stock cooling.

    I consider to use Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer Rev.3 to replace the stock cooler. ;)

    I got 7200 in 3DMark2001 SE.
    While I got 4700 in 3Dmark2003.

    My PC specs:
    Intel PIV 1.5GHz
    MSI MS-6534 i845
    384MB PC133 SDRAM
    Seagate 7200.7 40GB
    LiteOn CDRW 52x32x52
    400 Watt PSU

    Is that scores good enough?

    I wonder why my 3DMark 2001 SE is too low. :rolleyes:
    Can anybody give me some explaination?

    Sorry for my English.

    Thanks.
  14. Unregistered Guest

    Its a old version use the 3dMark2003 its the same dumb qeustion as why is my videocard slower with old divers :S
  15. mulder Guest

    Hardmod Resistor Question

    I have an Xpertvision 9800SE that runs flawless with the softmod drivers.
    I would like to do the hardmod by connecting pins 2-3.The thing that troubles me is that the resistor that used to be moved from 1-2 to 2-3 is around 5 Kohm.Won't I be damaging my card by just "shorting" 2-3.Is there any successful mods out there that used this method?
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,374
    nope .. many people have done it successfully .. never heard of any problems
  17. Unregistered Guest

    Do you only need to make a connection between 2 and 3, and not cut any between 1 and 2 ?
  18. jkabaseball New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    do i need to flash to pro bios after connecting the 2 pins?
  19. CjVirus Guest

    Hi gues i am a new ati owner ......( i had geforce 2 mx!).
    I have softmoded my Club 3d 9800 se 256 bit to 9800 and now i want to hardmod it
    so here are the question......
    Were do i find the PRO rom and the flashing program?
    Does anyone heared that something went wrong with club 3d card by hardmoding them?
  20. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,374
  21. CjVirus Guest

    I tryed to hardmod but i have a problem....my card has Etrontech 3.3 bios chip but there is no Etrontech bios for pro.I have tryed to flash with other manufacturers bios but it doesnt work.Now i have the original 9800 se bios again.

    The question....What sould i do to upgrate to pro?
  22. CjVirus Guest

    Nobody?Anything?
  23. jkabaseball New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    your in the same boat as the Infineon users, nothing you can do but overclock it.
  24. LiOneL Guest

    After doing the mod card is not responding?

    I did the mod on 9500 Non Pro L shaped memory card... Soft mod worked just fine before i tried hard mod. I unsoldered the resistor and moved to position 2-3. The computer doesnt started... Problem VGA says D-Bracket.. I unsoldered resistor again and put to position 1-2 card still dead. Is it possible that i damaged the GPU? Can the GPU be replaced if its damaged? Are the R300 and R350/R360 GPUs compatible? I dont think that there are available R300 GPUs anymore ...

    Also when i was mounting the AMD cooler (replaced stock cooler with AMD one before tried this hard mod) on card Screw driver slipped away a little bit and hit the board, but i think it dont do any visible damage to the card... Any advices?
  25. CjVirus Guest

    try with another gfx card and also try your 9800 to another pc.Good luke dude

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page