1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI card wont show a load up screen or anything..

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by -1nf1n1ty-, Oct 31, 2008.

  1. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    What the title says I cleaned my video card, like the heatsink and everything.....put it all back together.....it doesnt work anymore is there a way to fix this or do I have to RMA?
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,214 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    sounds like you zapped the card, i suggest RMA.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    give step by step instructions on what you did. leave no details out.
  4. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    This actually happened to me a few times already, but for mine all I had to do to fix it was clean the card. Make sure there is no TIM anywhere but the center chip! Absolutely nowhere else should there be paste anywhere on your card but the chip, also clean the connection to the PCIE slot. Just give it a clean swipe and make sure everything is spotless then try again.
  5. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    yeah card is dead..... but I got this card when it was still new and the 2900xt 1gb version was just about to release I have the 512mb version would they take it?
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,214 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    yes they will take the card and possibly replace it with a better model. Just dont tell them what you did to the card per se.
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
  7. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    I take it all I have to do is submit a ticket
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,214 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Request RMA from the Manufacturer of your board, dont tell them what you did to the card, otherwise that voids warranty.
  9. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    well my board works... I replaced the 2900xt with a 8800gts oc so I sent a ticket on the ATI site and they arent helping at all,lol
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,214 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Well, im gonna say this again, who is the manufacturer of the board?

    3rd party- Gigabyte, Asus, MSI, Visiontek, Palit etc

    1st Party-AMD/ATI
  11. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    gigabyte
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,852 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,661
    Location:
    US
    Woundering that my self. I got mine a little after release and iv'e never seen one with any thing more than a year on the card.

    EDIT: Gigabyte umm you could see if the sticker on the card and locate it that way as it seems like they have it listed that way :|. BUT mines going for it's second winter now so near 2 years old.

    Thinking if you had the 1GB model as soon as it came out it's about 16 month or so. you could check reviews or lactual release dates.
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2008
  13. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    the card is ATI sorry....
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,214 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Gigabyte is the Manufacturer of the Card, aka Powered by ATI, not Built By ATI, Pester Gigabyte for the RMA process not AMD/ATI.
  15. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    ati built it and powered so it says has no other name on the sticker or anything
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,214 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    so do you have the original box it came in???
  17. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    hell no,lol
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,214 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    so you say the card was manufactured by Gigabyte, well now you have to pester Gigabyte for the RMA.
  19. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    no I didnt know what you were talking about , so I thought yyou were talking about my motherboard,lol so I said gigabyte but its really ati
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,214 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page