1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI cards are Sound cards ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by wolf2009, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. wolf2009 Guest

    Can you use them for sound without actually having a sound card ? and just use a HDMI cable to send the audio to your monitor or TV.

    Note: No other sound drivers must be installed in the system.
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2009
  2. JayliN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    71 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    NYC
    yes. dont you love ati

    Too bad I'm replacing my 4670s soon so I can do some folding.
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    yeppers
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    HD2k series and higher has audio built in. In Vista and 7, you can only use one sound device at a time, so you have to use just the ATI card, or just the sound card, not both at once.
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,720 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,434
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yes, all HD2K and newer ATi cards have their own audio chip built in, vs. NVIDIA requiring an S/PDIF lead from the soundcard/motherboard. My Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce 210 also has built-in 7.1ch audio (new 40nm budget GPU). My mini-review here: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=105353

    Sorry for the slightly off-topic part.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,293 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    839
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Actually Radeon cards only have internal passthrough (so you don't have to connect stuff with cables). You still need soundcard if you want to listen to audio locally (and working on monitor).
    But if you use it only on LCD TV, then yes, you don't need an extra soundcard.
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    No, they actually have HD Audio onboard. It's not passthrough, it's fully processed by the card.
  8. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,663 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Yes, isn't it neat!
  9. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,041 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA USA
    Those statements contradict each other. How would be be different if you are just an LCD TV as opposed to what? Someone has been watching FOX News again. For shame. :shadedshu
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    ati video cards have a realtek HD soundcard built into them.

    This allows audio to be passed through when using an ATI branded HDMI adaptor (or a video card with native HDMI ports)

    TV or LCD screen doesnt matter, so long as it has speakers and supports HDMI audio.
  11. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,735 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    your good to go thats what i used a little while back. just make sure you got the ATI drivers because they have a driver ati hdmi audio that im pretty sure you will need. what OS and Card you got? i cant see your System specs drop down
  12. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,867 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,169
    Yup, it's a Realtek HD sound card on ATi cards. Up to 7.1 surround as well.
  13. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    858 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    win vista and win 7 can both use 2 sounds cards, I have sound from my ati hdmi on my tv watching a movie threw mpc-home cinema and game sounds with my x-fi on my head phones. that way my wife can watch a movie on the tv and I can game all on the same computer.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    i do stuff like that. i tend to watch movies while RTS gaming - it rather pisses people off when i still win :D
  15. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    823 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    Exactly which Realtek HD audio model is on card?
  16. LaMpiR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Interested in this also.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    its a unique chipset, not found on motherboards. it has its own driver download in the realtek website.

    unfortunately i cant give you any details of that driver, since the links havent worked for me to download from them in several weeks (realtek always has issues for me, as well as the asus website - they dont like australians)
  18. newfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Links are actually password protected by RealTek and passwords change with each driver version, but on RealTek website they'll work just fine.
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    i go to the website, i hit download, nothing happens or they download really, really slow.
  20. LaMpiR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can upload it for you on rapidshare if you like, just pm me the link ;)
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
  22. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,867 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,169
    The "ATI HDMI Sound Device" has driver version R2.29 compared to R2.34 for the other downloads. Did that help? :p
  23. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    858 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    the drivers are usually included with the newest cats. I dont bother with realtek at all.
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    they're different.

    I dont get 32 bit audio on the cat 9.9 ones, yet i do on the realteks.

    Also, many people claim they only get 2.0 channel audio on the ATI drivers, while getting 5.1/7.1 (receiver depending) on the realteks.
    neither of my HDMI screens supports passthrough so they're stuck with stereo, so i dont know about that for sure - but i do see it mentioned often.
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    Realteks website is so pityfully slow....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page