1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 10.2 WHQL Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,214
    thats a long, convoluted method and it gets erased every time i update drivers. it just doesnt work as well as nvidias method (nor does it give me control over what crossfire mode is used)
  2. Wshlist New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    EU
    Actually no, the profiles folder remains, even if you remove the driver (which isn't always needed anyway since on vista/w7 you can install over the old one supposedly)
    Mind you that can actually cause issues if they change things too much and the profiles don't get parsed correctly, even though it's XML and should be easy to parse even when new things are added, a parser can just skip those missing settings and use default, but ATI is stupid enough to even mess that up.

    Plus you can save the profiles folder, it's in your user account folder ...Local Settings\Application Data\ATI\ACE and then restore it after some super cleanup/format you did where it were lost, which you can also script for convenience of course, simple copy command after all.

    And don't forget that even if ATI implemented what you wanted in some other way you'd also lose the profiles then if you wiped everything ATI related, so there's no difference there.

    But yes the crossfire profiles is another matter, but in your post you spoke of settings like AA and such as a separate issue, and that was were my idea for a solution was aimed at, and come-on, waiting for ATI and hoping they listen and add stuff one wants is pretty hopeless so you really should consider giving my idea a shot I think, at least for some often played games that need changed non-crossfire-related settings, it doesn't mean you need to like the situation, it's just that that's how it is currently with ATI.

    Talking of the crossfire profiles, I read they might also be XML, and in that case some 3rd party could simply write an editor and make user-editing a reality, and techpowerup is a place where we see such things, they have several utilities and BIOS editors and such because they aren't content with just accepting the crumbs but try to fix things themselves :)
    Mussels says thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,214
    the only thing i NEED changed is the crossfire settings, the rest is just a convenience issue - nvidias is more convenient.
  4. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    guys please help.. i played WoW for 5 mins with my 4890 and got vertical grey lines..people think that it is the drivers that are crappy..? Any help?:toast:
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Are you running the 10.2 set Saaki?
  6. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes I am sir..4890 HD with XFX bios and 10.2 catalyst set. Played WoW with Ultra setting for 5 minutes and BAM vertical grey lines and black screen..had to restart..works fine in 2D and temperature of the core is 33-38
  7. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Have you tried restoring the original BIOS and seeing if the problem continues?
    Saakki says thanks.
  8. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Nah man but i can do that..god damn ATi :slap: ..
  9. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Ok no crashing anymore BUT why the hell is the core clock boungin from 240 to 850 constantly in GPU-Z ? Is it related to Win7 and its AERO ? :banghead:
  10. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Can't say I've ever had the 2D/3D clock change issue, but then again I've never messed about with the BIOS for my card. Is it just GPU-Z that is reporting the fluctuation & when is it occurring?
  11. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
  12. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I've never had it and if I have I've never noticed any issue within games. At least you have that TPU thread to go on.
  13. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    ho ho problem solved. Made manually two profiles with 240 core and 850 core which can be instantly loaded by two shortcuts from the desktops. Now the constant changing stopped :pimp:
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,603 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,275
    Provide that Suggestion to AMD, that's the one thing I cant stand is autoadjust of a product, if Im going to game the part will be adjusted by me, not automatically by software. TBH this reminds me of Speed Step and Cool N quiet tech, when overclocking its recommended to have both turned off as they will not work properly.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,214
    they work fine for me - it just complicates things.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page