1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 10.4 WHQL Driver Suite Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    well thats crap, these dont even include the 10.4a fixes?


    edit: links in first post are screwy, 7x64 takes you to XP64 driver
     
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,854 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    What the hell is with this dumb Transcoder. They say it's accessible from within Advanced CCC mode but i can't see it anywhere. I used to have it under wizard mode and now it's even gone from there. And yes, i've installed that crap separately... WTF!?
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    its there in 10.4a

    [​IMG]
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,854 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Stupid crap. I had to restart the runtime. Of course dumb installer didn't mention that anywhere...
    Besides, this shit is useless. Whatever DivX i tried to feed into it it was complaining about not supported codec. And what's the point of H264 encoding if you can't import anything useful or at least MKV. Lame and useless. And incredibly slow (GPU ownage my ass). I can encode videos faster in FormatFactory. And i'm not restricted to 5 formats. Sigh. Why they even waste time for this useless thing?
    Every time i try it with enthusiasm i get even more disapointed. I've changed 4 series of cards (x1950 Pro, HD4850, HD4870 and now HD5850) and nothing has changed.
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    yeah i dislike how resolution is hardcoded as well... i have a 480i DVD and i want a 480P H264 MKV... wheres my choices?
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,854 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Is there really no way of importing MKV files? I mean, that would be the whole point of it, to convert 1080p MKV file into smaller DivX that can be played on any DVD.
    Plus i'm not sure i could import HD video from Nikon D300s.
    Any way to add additional codecs? Otherwise this is just useless.
     
  7. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Why cant ATI release good drivers right now? This is bullshit. I been holding off on drivers because of all the problems with every release.

    I would goto Nvidia but they have no cards that I am interested in.
     
  8. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    apart from the sub-par layout of CCC, what problems are you (Nick89) talking about??
    Ive gone from 10.1 to 10.2 to 10.3 without a single issue whatsoever.
     
  9. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    673 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    10.4a and 10.4 messed up H.264 DXVA decoding with videos that have 480p/i resolution. I just tested with 10.3 and they work fine. Nice job ATI. :p
     
  10. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    *facepalm*
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    really? using the latest FFDSHOW and CCCP i've had no issues... avi files with H264 codec at 480p res.

    [​IMG]

    thats on 10.4a
     
  12. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    673 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Mine's tested on 480p Matroska (.mkv) video files. Dattebayo's encodes seem to work fine though. 10.3 OpenGL 4 Beta seems to utilize DXVA properly compared to 10.4a.
     
  13. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    10.4a:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    So one is broke, which worked fine on 10.3
    However here is the new advantage:
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    what codec are you using? i'm using FFDSHOW. if you're using an ATI one, that could explain our differences.
     
  15. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    This what your after?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    right you're using the MPC decoder, its a piece of crap. get the latest CCCP beta and use FFDSHOW, theres a guide in my sig how to get it working in DXVA.
     
    Gzero says thanks.
  17. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    [​IMG]

    Still broke, thanks anyway.
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    normally i'd say a poorly encoded file that doesnt work with hardware accel...


    but really, this isnt the thread for it. Start a new one if you want, or discuss it in the thread linked in my sig - we've derailed this news thread enough.
     
  19. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    I already did.
    And I already checked out the problem with these, it was the 10.4 drivers. Because going back to 10.3 solves the issue, but obviously breaks the other vids ;)
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    just like how the 10.4 drivers dont have any of the updates in 10.4a, the entire 10.4 range may be missing updates from 10.3 (and will reappear in 10.5)


    It seems like they have a leapfrog effect... two drivers in production at any given time, so the 'newer' driver may not contain fixes from the 'older' driver
     
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    From what I can gather, they are releasing drivers now when they send them off for WHQL certification. 10.4a will probably be released as a hotfix soon, pending that certification. THat's also why it took so long for this release...waiting for approval.

    At least they are showinbg they are working on issues!
     
  22. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I dont have a problem with DXVA and 10.4a. I stopped using DXVA mostly though because of the lack of ability to use filters, which nowadays i use mass of in FFDshow tryouts.

    Also I noticed in preview drivers and betas they tend to include the whole packages, but for actual releases they dont include it all together. Things like hydravision and the transcoder are separate downloads.
     
  23. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    bump? Anybody else experiencing similar problems?
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    i get a brief lag spike upon first loading a map (it lags, but i can join etc) and it goes away after 10 seconds or so. its better than the long load times.
     
  25. Josennes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page