1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 10.5 WHQL Driver Suite Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 26, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,430 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD today rolled out this month's release of its ATI Catalyst software, which provides drivers and essential system software for ATI Radeon graphics processors, AMD chipsets, and other ATI multimedia products. The WHQL-signed version 10.5 brings a few feature updates, along with a list of important bug fixes. To begin with, Catalyst 10.5 gives 120 Hz display support for ATI Radeon HD 4000 and HD 3000 series graphics processors (helpful with stereoscopic 3D), and ATI Overdrive enhancements which allow full control over ATI Radeon GPUs that are connected to multiple displays, eliminating a limitation.

    Following on with Catalyst 10.4, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 doesn't take unusually long to load maps, while a stability issues connected to IL-2 Sturmovik: 1946, Mass Effect 2 (where display goes blank if you switch to desktop in the middle of a game), Empire: Total War, Napoleon: Total War got a fix which allows AA settings with Volumetric effects, while Unigine Heaven 2.0 in wireframe mode doesn't crash. For more details, refer to the release notes document.

    DOWNLOAD: ATI Catalyst 10.5 WHQL for Windows 7/Vista 64-bit, Windows 7/Vista 32-bit, Windows XP 32-bit, Windows XP 64-bit
    digibucc says thanks.
  2. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    365 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Nice screw up ATI, their fix for flickering when using more than one monitor has screwed up the clock speeds when idle, this is only relevant to those that overclock but now my clocks are 400 core and 1200 memory on a 5870, idle temps are up 20c and of course more power draw at idle..ATI you sux.
    Last edited: May 26, 2010
  3. shagg

    shagg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Florida
    2D clocks NOT in idle. Have a 5770 and my idle clocks in 2D are 400/1300 respectively. They should be 157/300. This happens when using overdrive and card is overclocked. As soon as I reset everything to default it's fixed.

    Stop spanking the monkey while watching hockey you jack asses. Ati- you sux.
  4. saikamaldoss

    saikamaldoss New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    197 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    India (Chennai)
    Wow

    Why cant they add (Free Anaglyph Red-Cyan 3D Mode (color and optimized mode) :shadedshu

    ATI start doing something about 3D :(

    buy Fermi next time lol.. u can save a lot in Idle lol ;)
  5. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    178
    Location:
    Romania
    Now what? :wtf:

    Attached Files:

    • 10_.jpg
      10_.jpg
      File size:
      44.2 KB
      Views:
      376
    OneCool says thanks.
  6. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    654 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Great. They broke idle clocks. AGAIN.

    Going back to 10.3 OpenGL Beta 4.
  7. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Can't say I've had any negative implications going from 10.4a set to these.

    Likin' them so far in BC2.

    :D
  8. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.

    Flash your card and be done with it!
    Best way. easy, not able to screw it up, (as long as you have a IGP or pci-e or pci videocard.
    if they die, reflash..

    Set costum clocks, then no matter driver, no matter reinstall, always is the clock, and 2d clocks works.

    Overclocking in general is something that really voids warranty and is unsupported, so really are ati,amd,nvidia,intel not applied to support that at all. one can still complain tho.
  9. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    365 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    lol ATI supply you an overclocking tool with their drivers...:banghead:
  10. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    824 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    At last.
  11. shagg

    shagg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Florida
    Lol, exactly my point brother.
  12. rpsgc

    rpsgc

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    696 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Portugal
    My idle clock speeds have always been 400/1000 (5850) with dual monitors. I thought that was the standard?


    However... I just noticed something. If I enable Overdrive (even without overclocking) the idle clocks change to 157/1000. Still crappy but at least the core now downclocks! Apparently it's a GDDR5 issue.

    Oh and now I can finally overclock without the card doing 157/300 and getting flickering.
  13. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,429 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,486
    "ATI Radeon HD 5470" = ati2mtag_Evergreen,
    "ATI Radeon HD 5490" = ati2mtag_Evergreen,
    "ATI Radeon HD 5530" = ati2mtag_Evergreen,
    "ATI Radeon HD 5630" = ati2mtag_Evergreen,
    "ATI Radeon HD 5690" = ati2mtag_Evergreen,
    "ATI Radeon HD 5730" = ati2mtag_Evergreen,

    Some interesting part names...if they decide to actually use them
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,429 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,486
    Every time i use OverDrive or Afterburner, when i go to apply clocks, the clocks reset to factory settings.....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    186 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    BC2 map loading time sux again... isn't it?

    Nice fail, amd...
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,602 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,989
    These work fine for me. As usual I edit my profile for 300/575 2d clocks. No noticeable difference for me between these and 10.4a's.
  17. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Meh, using 10.3 with my 5770...no need for a change.
  18. Pyarn

    Pyarn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cardiff
    same goes here.. my single 4770 loads BC2 faster compared to CF..
  19. Sapientwolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah, I'll be rolling back just for BFBC2 loading times. :banghead:
  20. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    My loading times have allways been quick since I changed to DX9 in BC2, faster than CSS when it loads its first game(any loading after that still smokes BC2).
  21. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    844 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Thats what I said.I guess we wait until the 10.6 ;)
  22. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    How something like screwing idle clocks get past any test? Dont they at least try out the driver first?
  23. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Too damn busy working. Still on 10.1.

    Maybe i'll have some spare time in July to install 10.6 or 7.
  24. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    ATI are just pumping out the drivers these days. It's almost daily! Good work ATI!
  25. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,916 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    Seems I have to stick with 10.3 :laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page