1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 10.8 Drivers Coming This Afternoon

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by 10TaTioN, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Mine didn't used go back to 400, it went to what I set in the profile : /





    brb gona see if they've fucked it up since I last did this.

    *edit*

    Your 100% right erocker, how annoying!

    Why would ATI take away that function it was really handy : /
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
  2. bim27142

    bim27142

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    436 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pilipinas!
    so what's the 3d clocks for this one now? i'm still using 10.4, simply love 157/300 2d clocks.
  3. bim27142

    bim27142

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    436 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pilipinas!
    awesome!!! :toast:

    * 2d clocks are still @ 157/300
    * video enhancement option FTW
    * SC2 feels more or less the same (in terms of FPS) but looks "glossier" this time... :D

    nice nice!!! :toast:

    will do more testing in the coming days... gotta get some sleep! :nutkick:
  4. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    75 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i'll be awaiting more feedback about 2d clocks from other testers
    /me has 10.4 final installed and nice 2d clocks
  5. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Ever since 10.4a every driver set seems to lock one of my Video cards at stock clocks and will not let me overclock it. My 2nd card will OC just fine. The one that will not is a reference Visiontek HD4850. Weird. :confused: I roll back to 10.4a and both cards clock just fine. Anyone else ran into this problem??
  6. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    I'll be getting these tonight. I hope I see the difference these are supposed to make for SC2. I mean it looks good, but any refinement is a plus for me :D
  7. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    754
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    mouse pointer being F'd up fix? now that would be awesome, im tired of having to use pointer trails
  8. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    75 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    vim, the 2d clocks you see are after overclocking the card with CCC or using stock clocks?

  9. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    I wish they would leave the damn driver download site alone!! Took me forever to find the South bridge driver.

    New Driver Download Page

    Old Driver Download Page

    I'll find out tonight if I like cause since 10.6 I get random crashes only with MLB2k10.
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Dio

    Dio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Skynet
    Anyone see any actual FPS gains over 10.5? That's what Im having to use... I mainly play Bad Company 2, Star Craft 2, and Mafia 2.... I'm downloading 10.8, Im hoping its better than 10.5 and 10.7 combined ;)... Mind you I'm using 2 5970's in CFX.... non supported CFX games are killing me :banghead:
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2010
  11. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    754
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Sucks but dont really feel bad for u, your lucky to get good 2 card support, let alone 4 cores.
  12. Dio

    Dio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Skynet
    [​IMG]


    I'm so disappointed, BC2 is still as bad as it was with 10.7, Mafia 2 same result lost fps, I ended up going back to 10.5 hotfix..... I really do hope ATI gets there shit together, really starting to piss me off.



    Heh, 4 cores? 980X is a Hexa Core brah, 6 cores of domination, Im jk with you, but Im still upset with ATI.
  13. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    754
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    im talking about your video cards not ur processor... u have downloaded the xfire profiles right?
  14. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Well just for kicks, I installed 10.8 today and the 157/300 2D clocks were intact! Odd thing was, no FPS improvements in a couple tests of Dirt2 and Mafia 2 demo.
  15. bim27142

    bim27142

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    436 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pilipinas!
    well, my card is factory oc'ed and used it as is... so i'd say "stock"... :)
  16. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    10.8A CFX profiles actually help BC2. It only took how many months?

    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2010/08/26/ati_crossfirex_application_profile_108a_performance

    So ATI doesn't read the reports so many people have sent in? Or pay attention to the numerous enthusiast sites that have reported problems? If they can't find problems that many users have experienced perhaps they need better testers.
    Dio says thanks.
  17. Dio

    Dio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Skynet
    I wasn't aware of 10.8a, I guess I'll give it another shot, oh man this driver sweeping, uninstallation/installation is sooooo time consuming :cry:
  18. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    I just hope the reported fix for Borderlands works. Since 10.6 the game just locks solid randomly.
  19. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    75 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    can anyone confirm if 2D clocks are unaffected(i.e. 157/300) even after overclocking?
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    When overclocked in CCC GPU goes to 400/"1100" in 2D.
  21. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    75 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    still broken then, pass....
    i wonder what's ati response....
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    They've already responded when they changed it. It's a feature, not a problem. :ohwell: I've learned to live with it now as I just don't bother having my cards OC'd when at the desktop.
  23. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    75 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    what feature, wtf?!?!?!
    "goodbye low power consumption?" and what has that got to do with overclocking???.
    time to write hate mail to ati support...
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,941 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    i wonder why people are so obsessed about calling it broken... its to prevent the flickering/grey screen issues people were having, especially on multi monitor setups.

    if you want low power consumption... dont overclock.
  25. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    75 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i overclock AND have low power consumption AND i don't have any flicker/grey screen problems.

    i don't need my card overclocked at all times, that's what 2d clocks are for, and another thing, one of the vaunted features of their hardware was that with GDDR5 retraining they could lower the ram clock withour atifacts and NOW they run your ram at full speed all the time?, ridiculous

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page