1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 9.9 WHQL Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Furmark isn't working right. No image. I can see FPS but no image. :shadedshu
  2. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,078 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Ok I'm seeing Flashing Objects in Crysis when Running in DX10. DX9 works fine though.

    Under CCC 9.9
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    i know he deleted his post so its a little odd for me to reply to it...


    that screen that claims its on HDMI in my screenshot is actually using a DVI cable. the ATI drivers have bugs about detecting screens as the wrong type for no real reason.

    (i have one DVI and one HDMI connected atm, and it will detect them wrong, or detect both as HDMI for no reason)
  4. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,835 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Florida, US
    very wierd
  5. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    Cant say the same for Core 2 duo, lost 3 fps there, 9,7 was the best for Crysis so far, but, i'm not playing this game anymore, just for testing.

    Anyone noticed any glitches in ovedrive menu ? mine is blinking everytime, the entire CP when using overdrive tab blinks, I think is when temp readings are update, never saw that before.

    Section 8 still not supporting CF or AA.

    Redfaction runs flawless, 1680x1050 8xAA, Softshadows, AO and all the rest at maximum, the big deal is my C2D can handle to much phisics :( its time for a i7 upgrade :rockout:

    Res 4 its now working too, CF enable, no shadows problems.
  6. -=SNIPER=-

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
  7. kingkongtol

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    70 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jogja, Indonesia Republic
    my bad, i just noticed mine always running @625/1000 when running JDownloader maximized, when minimized in tray, powerplay running normally...

    thanks...
  8. Dixxhead

    Dixxhead New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    214 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Is it just me or did ATI really roll back the Catalyst Version on their download page?

    http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx :wtf:

    [​IMG]
    Shot at 2009-09-16

    And I'm actually running CAT 9.9... Do I have to expect my laptop to explode any time soon now?
  9. rockit00

    rockit00

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    224 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
  10. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Yup, thats strange, wonder why they did that?
  11. Robert-The-Rambler

    Robert-The-Rambler

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    646 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Bay Shore NY
    What is this BS?

    I already downloaded 9.9 on some of my PCs and now all the sudden it is back to 9.8. Well, I guess I'll check the AMD forums and see what I dig up. I have never seen this before. Damn!! :mad:
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,904
    Only thing I found is they removed it due to bad performance from some and a bad review at tweaktown.
  13. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Hmm, I got the best preformance ever on my card with 9.9, i guess ill just wait for the next 9.9 and give it a try, see whats better :)
  14. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    getting lower scores with 9.9 here about 4-500 lower on almost all 3dmarks
  15. Robert-The-Rambler

    Robert-The-Rambler

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    646 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Bay Shore NY
    9.9 is back already

    WTF? Wierd...

    Anyhow, I will bench these with Resident Evil 5 with a Phenom II 920 and Triple 1 gig Radeon 4850s and see what happens in DirectX 10.:banghead:
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,853 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,396
    Ditto.
  17. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Works for me, haven't tried Sims3 for the corruption issue on trees.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. Robert-The-Rambler

    Robert-The-Rambler

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    646 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Bay Shore NY
    All Seems Well With RE5

    I got around 100 FPS in MAX Detail at 1920 *1200 with triple crossfire Radeon 4850 1 gig cards and a Phenom II 920 with 8 gigs of DDR2 800 RAM on a MSI K9A2 Platinum Motherboard in the variable test. The fixed results were in the 60s. The texture flickering is gone. I guess I can buy the game now. :)

    Attached Files:

  19. Dixxhead

    Dixxhead New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    214 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Oh... MY... GOD! Guys, this is like a nightmare, I think I haven't really realized it yet, but yeah, this is kind of fucked up...

    Let me quote myself:

    Obviously, this was meant as some kind of joke... But yesterday I got my first blue-screen thanks to an ati-related .dll... So yeah, figuers I should try and update my 9.9... So I did, redownload the 9.9 that was back on the AMD Homepage. Nothing seemed wrong, so I used my PC as usual.
    The disaster happened while I was trying to run pcsx with the ZeroGS Plug-in... Strange lines all over windows and the obvious crash. Rebooting, I didn't think anything of it... Might have just been the faulty Plug-in, so I tried GSdx plug-in. after 2 secs (not overclocked 36°C GPU-Temp), another crash, this time I had lines all over the Blue-Screen aswell :wtf:

    Ok, so after reboot no more picture... After next reboot this greeted me (obviously not booting anymore):
    [​IMG]

    So yeah, I really don't think this is the work of the Cat 9.9, but it sure is what you would call irony, fate or whatever :laugh:

    So what I suppose is that the vram "blew up", or, if I'm lucky, it's just the solder of latter chips that has broken and reflowing (think 360 RROD) should fix it... I'll be trying that tomorrow.

    Now give me some condolences :roll:

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page