1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI CrossFire and Physics....anyone using a 3rd video card as a physics card?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by fern420, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. fern420

    fern420 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I've been reading up on the ati physics/crossfire combo and am wondering if anyone is currently running it and if they could shed some light on it. i just got these two 2900xt cards so i have x1900xt sitting here and my badaxe board has a third pcie slot so i was thinking about using the x1900 as a physics card. the ati/amd website is pretty vague on this area and doesn't give much info on actually setting it up or compatibility.

    http://ati.amd.com/technology/crossfire/physics/index.html

    http://ati.amd.com/technology/crossfire/physics/Asymmetric_Physics_Processing_with_ATI_CrossFire.pdf

    is this setup automatically recognized by the CAT? i just cant seem to find any info on actually setting it up. it only refers to the x series of cards on the site so i don't even know if its possible on the r600 gpu. im just wondering if anyone knows if you can still do this with the r600 gpu series of cards and if so can i mix a x1900 with the two 2900's? i want to see if i can make the meter on the side of the house spin faster so i figured why not 3 power hungry video cards, hehehe.
     
  2. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Wow, you already have 2 R600's? Damn, that's ownage right there. Not sure how you're going to get that done m8. Good luck though.
     
  3. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,393 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    AZ
    dunno, you could always pop it in and see. might be no different, might actually work, never seen anyone try it before.
     
  4. TooFast New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    391 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    montreal quebec
    u dont need 3 to do it. it can be done with 2.
     
  5. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    2 R600's, must be a very powerhungry system. I haven't seen any real benchmarks of physics cards yet though, and there aren't many games that support it. I would use that 1900 elsewhere.
     
  6. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Problem is how are you gonna connect the internal crossfire? Card#1 to Card#2 to Card#3? Meaning using only two connecters to connect #1 and #2 and #2 and #3 since there's two slot for each card.
     
  7. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    for the cross fire to work the two 2900 card would have to have the bridges on, thats pretty much a given.

    i guess the 1900 card would just sit on it own passing the data through the PCIE bus, unless ati have a connector for connecting 3 cards together.
     
  8. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,069 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    907
    wow, i really hope you figure this out, sound like a fun challenge, i want to see some benchies after you get this running, sry i have no info to help you out though........
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Eh? How are you gonna force the 2900XT to create the phyiscs from the 1900? Even if the 1900 creates the data and transfer to the 2900, wouldn't that stress the 2900? Correct me if i'm wrong.
     
  10. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
  11. mikey8684

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    423 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
  12. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    It still doesn't explain how are you gonna interconnect them internally and does youe DVI connect to the main display only? OR there'll be dual-dvi display for one to the 2900XT and the other phyiscs card.
     
  13. fern420

    fern420 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    thanks for the input guys, im waiting on ati support for a clear answer. i do have a badaxe mobo and it does have 3 pcie slots and the ati demo system showing off the physics system uses a badaxe board so im assuming my board wont be the issue, i just need to find out if i can mix the x series with the hd series. according to ati it will help with any game using the havox fx physics system and there are almost 50 of them:
    uu
    http://www.havok.com/content/blogcategory/29/73?platformid=7


    heres a pic of the ati test setup i found here

    http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MTA3OSwxLCxoZW50aHVzaWFzdA==


    [​IMG]
     
  14. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Well apparently they're using the old external connecters to do crossfire. So i'm not sure..
     
  15. fern420

    fern420 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    thats how the 1900 cards are crossfired. they use the external dongle, they dont have internal connectors. with the physiscs setup no connection has to be made to card 3 from 1 or 2, it communicates with the "physics" card through the pci bus.
     
  16. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Can you connect the two 2900XT together with internal crossfire with the 1900 stuck in between? If you could then try that configuration. Also make sure you have enough power.
     
  17. fern420

    fern420 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    well just got off the phone with ati, no go. they say it isnt possible and on top of that there are no drivers yet to make a 3rd card act as a physics card. i just cant understand why ati would of plastering this crap all over their website over a year ago if it isn't even possible. even if i had 3 1900 cards i couldn't do it because the drivers don't exist.


    http://ati.amd.com/technology/crossfire/physics/index.html

    that was put on their website almost a year ago and it still cant even be done? why even tease people?
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2007
  18. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Yes i've seen it. Then i searched for the info if there's such thing. Well apparently none though. Even if you connect i bet your mobo recongises it as another graphics card. Or just an unsupported PCI-E stuff?
     
  19. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    It might if you knew how to hack the drivers and add the code to recognize the third slot. I think in that test system, they were either just showing how it will look, or they used some really shoddy beta drivers. Either way, it is a little misleading.

    Perhaps the Omega Drivers have something that might help?
     
  20. lane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hmmm.... good question.. this solution was presented like a preview, in 2006 when the Ageia was out... (Nvidia have something similar).. but in real, i don't think there's anything ready for this yet... Games need be compatible with the new Havok FX, and really i m sure nothing is released on the side of ATI yet for support this.. (it's in developpment, but nothing have been say yet about a date of release /use of this solutions.)

    Anyway i can try installing my X1900XTX on one slot of my P5W64 and see what happend.. but i think the only thing i will got, is the multi monitor function...

    One thing: the 2900 have many new features integrated for physics and too for the facial animation in real time ( we will see the first restults on next Valve title)..there's too a lot of thing for medical imagery integrated... We can't judge all this features yet, like for Tesselation, cause nothing use it yet... we need wait games or tech demo ( from ATI) is released...( Nobody have see a date of release for the Witheout demo?)
     
  21. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    on a similar topic, I have an x1900xtx, if i get an hd2900xt could i use the 1900 as a physics card? how would one set that up?
     
  22. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth

    You can't, check post 17 ^.
     
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Did you ask them that?
     
  24. lane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Cause it's a preview.. they don't say it's available yet on the site....i admit, it's not really clear too..
     
  25. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    The website has been there for like almost a year or so. I've seen it and checked the forums. None managed to get the 3rd ati card to run as a physics acclerator. Only the one physicX card is from aegis which everyone knows.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page