1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI enables HDR+AA in Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Discussion in 'News' started by W1zzard, Apr 6, 2006.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    Terry Makedon, the masterming behind the Catalyst Drivers sent around an interesting e-mail.

    Later today there will be a new Catalyst "beta" release which has the new code for Oblivion. This is completely at a driver level, no game patches are required.

    Get the file at ATI.com soon.
  2. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    That's sweet. Does this work for X800 users?
  3. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    um no. this is for hdr cards only so the x1x00series. x800s do not have HDR and it wont be available even in the game settings. but bloom and aa are compatable together.
  4. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Um? Um... Can you explain how a radeon 9500 has HDR and my card doesn't? Actually... don't bother because I've already played with HDR in lost coast and DOD:S
  5. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    what you played with was bloom - a lower quality and more grafically intensive effect. i never said my card has HDR and for the record the only cards that can make use of this patch are the x1x00 series ati cards.
  6. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Nope, not bloom. I it said HDR, I slected HDR, and I compared it with bloom to make sure it wasn't. Get up with the times man... SM3.0 is not HDR. They are unrelated. Even your 9600 can run HDR. Try it on lost coast or CSS or someting. Oblivion is just stupid and doesn't support it on purpose to make you upgrade.
  7. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    ok then again you are claiming it on hl2 and dod:s. lemme know if u can run the extra tests on 3dmark06. and if u can theres somthing ur not telling the rest of us. but what you are actually running in hl2 is the best sm2 can do for a sm3 effect. you are not actually running HDR you are running an attempt at it. compare a screeny of HL2 on ur card with one from a x1800. you will see the difference.
  8. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,357 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    AZ
    lol sm3.0 and HDR are different things people seriously did you even look at the 3dmark06 test? it says hdr 2.0 and hdr 3.0.
    hdr = high dynamic range lighting, not shader model 3.0 seriously do some extremely basic research before posting.
    the oblivion patch only works with the x1x00 series because x800 and x850 cards can only run sm2.0 hdr which already worked with aa on oblivion.
    it was shader 3.0 hdr that was having trouble running aa. lol
  9. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    i believe thats what i was getting at the whole time. oh well...once i get a new rig and a x1800gto i will be able to use aa and hdr...lol
  10. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,357 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    AZ
    and if you get the right one it seems a few x1800gto's have been unlocked to 16 pipes, thus an x1800xl for th gto price!
  11. Anarion New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    485 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    u r simple wrong
  12. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    its all right dreaming about new fancy effects.. but it takes a lot of grunt to run em.. i can cripple my x1900xtx card as it is never mind running hdr and aa together.. i did some comparing in oblivion last night and prefered bloom and aa to hdr anyways.. the perfomance seemed about the same between the two options..

    as for running the pair of em together.. "in yer dreams" is my comment..

    and as for looking at the 2006 canyon run and comparing it with the 2005 canyon run.. well thats another "in yer dreams".. there aint a system on the planet that could actually use effects like that to any extent and maintain playable frame rates and there aint likley to be for another two bloody years..

    it works like this.. along comes the "theoretically" possible effects.. along comes a new 3d mark to show em off.. two years later along comes a system powerfull enough to make use of em.. he he he

    still i will download the patch even i i wont be able to use it.. he he he

    trog

    ps.. hdr isnt available in oblivion with the x800 cards.. it is with the x1000 series.. not as it will do u much good unless u have a pretty top end one.. not having it and not having sm3 does have certain fps advantages.. it aint all downside..
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2006
  13. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    HDR is new. brand new, atis x1000 has it nv6800+ has it ONLY.

    when the 9600 was made i doubt HDR was even concieved of bein seen simulated by computers. especially not in real time gameing.

    bloom and hdr: not the same thing, although the effects resemble each other the concept is different

    SM3 and hdr: not the same thing

    x800 gto, xl, xt, pe x850: none of these have SM3 or HDR

    x1x00 series radeons have HDR and SM3.

    n6800+ have HDR and sm3 ( i dont know alot about Nvidia card so dont ask me here)

    if you think youre actually playing HL2: lost coast WITH HDR on your 9600 you are mistaken.
  14. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    truth is. hdr can be run on any dx9 card. truth is when run on 9x00, xx00 series it is SM2. some games allow a sm2 hdr although it is nothing compared to sm3 hdr. sm3 and hdr are not the same. half life was made to work with everything. oblivion is not therefore hl2 - sm2, sm3. oblivion sm3 only.
  15. Dehx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    LOL, I am so glad I bought a X1900XTX Instead of a n00b Geforce 7900 series. haha... I knew this would be possible. NVIDIA just got owned. lol. :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page