1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ati flash 5970

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by lnd2288, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    hey ppl i recently been having issue with my 5970 freezeing and crashes. i made already a post earlier about my issue. my question and concern is i made a usb flash drive to flash my ati/amd 5970 with the lastest bois. it was done properly, but when i try to boot the usb it does not detect it as a flash drive for the bios on my PC. i tried on my friend laptop and it does detect it. my usb ports are all working because i have tested them all with other items. but for some reason it does not detect when i tried to boot it up on my pc. any suggestion on fixing this issue??
     
  2. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    any chance you could make a bootable cd and do it that way? as long as you can access dos mode you can access the atiflash.exe

    usb wise, do you have have detect generic usb device enabled in bios?
     
  3. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    yes i have first boot removeble usb drive. i have not tried cd due to no cd at my house. its pretty wierd bcuz i new i was doing it correctly so i tried on my friends pc n it work fine.
     
  4. ml2517

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    If it is anything like my USB flash drive you need to:
    Plug the device in
    Reboot
    Go into the BIOS
    Go into the hard disk boot priority and move the USB flash drive to the top.
    Save and exit the BIOS.

    I have a similar motherboard as yours and this is the method I use. There was also a shortcut key that you could press on bootup to choose a boot device but it never seemed to work for me.
     
  5. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    it pretty wierd because i choose all three bootable usb removable and does not read it. i will keep on trouble shooting to see what is the problem.
     
  6. ml2517

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I should also note that this step:
    Go into the hard disk boot priority and move the USB flash drive to the top.

    ...should actually show your USB flash drive name as one of the hard drive entries (my Patriot does at least).
     
  7. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    gonna try it out
     
  8. ml2517

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Make sure you aren't doing it from the outer menu... you need to leave your normal boot device order as CD/DVD, Hard Drive etc...

    It is the "hard drive" boot priority menu where you should be changing the boot order and pushing the USB flash drive to the top.

    If you aren't seeing the USB flash drive in that menu I'm not sure you'll be able to get it to boot.
     
  9. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    okay. will do that.
     
  10. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    i see u have 2 5970. have u done any bois update or mods?
     
  11. ml2517

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yeah I've modified the BIOS using RBE for both. If you water cool your video cards some people have had to use RBE to bump up the default clock rates just to avoid the cold bug that can happen during boot up. I personally didn't run into the cold bug but I wanted to set my clock rates in the BIOS so that I didn't have to keep doing it via software.
     
  12. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    yea my 5970 was working perfectly fine for over 8+months(estimate) and all the sudden its beem acting up freezing and crashes but no BSOD. when i do furmark which only pushes one GPU at a time goes well but when i do benchmarking with both GPU load at 80%+ it freezes ot crashes.
     
  13. ml2517

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    About the only thing I'd suggest on that is that you try lowering your overclocks of the graphics card down to clock speeds and see if that helps. If it starts working properly you might have either had an unstable overclock or maybe heat is an issue when you are warming up the card.

    Another thing that *could* cause it I suppose would be if your power supply was going bad.
     
  14. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    yea i thought it could of been heat or unstable so what i did i completely down clocked everything and heat or stock clocks was not an issue but still have crashes. i think it all comes down to RMA the card
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page