1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI HD 2900 Pro Coming Soon?

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jul 30, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    According to the guys over at Chilehardware, ATI is preparing the HD 2900 Pro graphics card, which should hit the market in Q4 2007. The new card uses the same R600 core as HD 2900 XT and must fulfil the gap between NVIDIA's 8600GTS and 8800GTS 320MB. The price should be close to USD $200. The main reason to believe that this card is reality is found in a recent beta driver.
    Source: Chilehardware
     
    ChaoticBlankness and [I.R.A]_FBi say thanks.
  2. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Lets hope it doesnt suck up as much power as the XT :).
     
  3. FAXA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    236 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Lets hope its as good as the X1950PRO was.
     
  4. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    05-14-2007, 11:57 AM
    Name a bit wrong, but it was so obvious it was coming :)
     
  5. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Might be 512-bit, if it uses the same core as the 2900XT :D.

    Probably have less shaders/ROPs, or they will put a slightly modded 256-bit core, and call it the "R600 **" :p.
     
  6. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Ah yes, or maybe they save those couple bad shader cores for HD2900gto:s (mod to xt?) :p Just wouldn't want to see memory on the both sides, 512bit needed that, if I'm not mistaken. But HD2900xt might already be near 199$ once I need a DX10 card =)
     
  7. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Any clue if this will be on the 65nm processing like the hd 24xx and 26xx series? Either way, this sounds pretty exciting.
     
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    when it land mek me know ..
     
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,961 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Ohio
    I speculate it will take one PCI-E 8-pin.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    or maybe the bios can be flashed to unlock the hidden pipes, sps, flops, etc.
    This is great and would really make me get to (512mb ddr4 )
     
  11. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    For $200 I'd buy one. Or maybe 2... *dreams of crossfire*
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page