1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI HD 4850 PSU Requirement

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by smartali89, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. smartali89

    smartali89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    525 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Karachi, Pakistan
    how much psu power is required for hd4850 ? Will it work with 300W??
     
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,427 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I highly doubt it, most companies are listing that it needs 450W minimum.
     
  3. smartali89

    smartali89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    525 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Karachi, Pakistan
    I am going to have some upgrades on my pc like I will change my processor to Intel E8400, Corsiar 4gb Dominator and HD 4850

    I currently have 300W PSU
     
  4. wolf2009 Guest

    it may work, but forget overclocking. on stock too it may not work .
     
  5. smartali89

    smartali89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    525 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Karachi, Pakistan
    so how much will I need?
     
  6. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,427 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Before you get any of that I would suggest getting a new PSU since your current one is probably being pushed to its max.
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Get atleast a 450w FROM A GOOD BRAND. Most people buy bad brands!
     
  8. smartali89

    smartali89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    525 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Karachi, Pakistan
    CoolerMaster?? 460W Or 500W???
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I would not recommend cooler master.. Look for Enermax, Corsair, Antec(earthwatts, True Power), Mushkin, FSP, OCZ.

    If its all you can find where you live then its ok tho!
     
  10. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,427 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Don't forget Silverstone.
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  11. smartali89

    smartali89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    525 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Corsair is available but not in my budget
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    even the 450w? BTW A good brand like Silverstone, Antec Earthwatts, Enermax, Silverstone 350w would be good too!
     
  13. proletariandan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    Antec is also a good brand that is relatively affordable. I have an Athlon X2 & Radeon 3850 that only use about 160W at load, so you don't always have to follow the manufacturer recommendations but it isn't a bad idea, especially if you plan to overclock which can drastically raise power consumption.
     
  14. smartali89

    smartali89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    525 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Here only Corsair, CoolMaster and Real Power Pro is available :(

    COrsair and Real Power Pro have 600W+ PSU

    only CoolMaster has 450W available
     
  15. proletariandan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    450w will be more than enough if you aren't going to do crossfire or anything crazy like that.
     
  16. smartali89

    smartali89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    525 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Karachi, Pakistan
    I wont crossfire but will oc
     
  17. proletariandan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    smartali89 says thanks.
  18. smartali89

    smartali89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    525 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Karachi, Pakistan
    That means I can stay with 300W If I dont OC... :D
     
  19. proletariandan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    Most likely, but I would recommend a device that I also use called a Kill-a-watt (or something similar) that you can use to measure your power consumption. If you are constantly using 250W of a low-quality 300W PSU then its not going to last long. What brand is the 300W?

    http://www.p3international.com/products/special/P4400/P4400-CE.html
     
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    No your 300w is a crap brand. I would never trust a high wattage card with a crap brand.
     
  21. proletariandan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    Forgot to check your specs; I agree - get the 450W to protect your system. If your crappy PSU goes it could take anything or everything with it.
     
  22. ASharp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    The power supply is the most crucial part of the system. One hiccup and your system is done. I will never understand why people will cheap out on this part.

    Do yourself a favour and get a new, quality power supply. It might seem like a big investment buying a PSU for $80+ when you can get one with the same wattage for < $50 (for crappier brands) but, it's worth it for the peace of mind. Also, you're probably going to continue to use it in the future if you upgrade to newer next generation parts and not just throw it away.
     
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I got my Antec Earthwatts 500w for 50$ on newegg cause it was on sale :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page