1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ati hd 4890 heating problem

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by nickrocker123, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have problem with my hd 4890 ?
    at first i had xfx ati radeon hd 5450
    which lasted 1 year........exactly after a year it died
    so gave it to xfx service center
    after a month they gave me hd4890 in exchange because my hd 5450 wasnt reapaired
    at first i was happy but then it started giving me problems
    it started overheating
    at idle it reached 75celsius
    and when i play games it goes upto 110celsius

    is it normal for a card to such temps
    n i have PSU 450watts
    so is it possible that due to insufficient power its getting overheated
    please help !!!!!!!
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,791 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    How is your case air flow? Also have you cleaned the card lately?
    nickrocker123 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,973 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    its not a power problem, make sure the fan is dust free and still spinning. it may need the thermal paste (AKA TIM) replaced.
    nickrocker123 says thanks.
  4. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ya my card is clean
    But my cabinet is small
    Iball compact
  5. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    With that case it would heat a lot, u need to install some optional fans, manage cable, clean the case.. and are u using the generic PSU that comes with the case? Or a PSU from a local company?
    nickrocker123 says thanks.
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,581 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    are you sure its more than 100C?
    or it just temp sensor err?
    try to improve your airflow, add some fans could lower the temp
    clean the hsf and check the fan too, does the fan spin normally?
    nickrocker123 says thanks.
  7. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ya i have PSU that comes with cabinet
  8. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0


    dunno man
    i checked it in GPU-Z software
    it shows 110celsius
    ya i think airflow could be reason
    but my pc restarts too
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,581 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    test and touch the hsf :D is that really hot
    it should be lower
    just to make sure coz the sensor may read it wrong
    if its hot so you can check the hsf and the fan too
    does the fan spin normally or you can add some fans
    nickrocker123 says thanks.
  10. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    346 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    At what's fan-speed is your HD 4890 running? If it's on auto, then use tools like MSI Afterburner to increase the fanspeed or make use of the user fan profile in MSI Afterburner. Furthermore, test the videocard with the PC case's sidepanel being removed and see if the temperature is still that high without the sidepanel. Perhaps the VGA cooler's heatsink doesn't make proper contact with the GPU core, reseat the VGA cooler, and replace the thermal paste too. If the temperature problem still doesn't go away, then try to rma the card.
    nickrocker123 says thanks.
  11. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    I touched it
    It's really hot
    That means sensor r not wrong
  12. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey guys thnx for your help
    my heating issue is been solved
    i improved my airflow
    but theres another problem
    i can see faded lines on my monitor ??
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,926 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Describe these faded lines. Also do you have another cable and/or monitor to test with?
  14. UbErN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    257 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Ingerland
    Sounds like a possible defective card and/or insufficient airflo as well as insufficient PSU. Your PSU is an OEM that came with the case? I wouldn't like to run a 4890 on anything less than a very good corsair/antec 450w PSU, they were quite power hungry cards for their time.

    On to the issue of high temps, can you try running with the side panel off and diecting an fan on to the 4890 and see if this helps?

    Can you post a pic of the inside of your case?
  15. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    white faded lines barely visible
  16. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Where are the white faded lines which I assume you are transparent light areas on your monitor.
    Does it resemble anything like a windows border or an image of some sort?
    It could be from leaving an image on the monitor for a long time which has left a ghost image.
  17. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    here the image showing faded lines

    http://i50.tinypic.com/n6qpfm.jpg
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,926 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I see no faded lines on the screenshot, as I would typically expect. Please take a picture of the display with a camera.
  19. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    http://i49.tinypic.com/33y5o9l.jpg

    this with my cell camera
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,926 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The vertical lines? What are you using for cabling between the video card and the display? (VGA, DVI (single or dual link), HDMI, or DisplayPort (inc. mini.))
  21. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i am using dvi 2 vga converter
    and my PSU is not 450watts
    i dont know actually
    its something iball-jsw-252-jc
    and theres not watts indication on PSU
  22. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Since the first one is a screen shot and does not show faded lines I am inclined to believe it's a monitor issue.

    Trying a different monitor should show a better result.
  23. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i am using dvi to vga converter that came with gpu
    and i dont know what PSU i have
    i say
    i ball-JSW-252-CE
    n there no watts indication on PSU
    could be the reason that i have insufficient power so i m seeing lines??
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,973 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    its a 250W PSU, and google shows that it has a reputation as being utter crap.


    No, replacing it wont cause the lines.

    Either your video card or your monitor is damaged - or, the cable between them. even a loose VGA connection can cause artifacts.
  25. nickrocker123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0


    i think it maybe problem of PSU
    cuz i check the system requirements of hd 4890
    they have mentioned 500watts or above
    n i think this might cause restarts also
    check at this link

    http://www.amd.com/us/products/desk...s/ati-radeon-hd-4890-system-requirements.aspx

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page