1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI HD5XXX Series Discussion

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by TheMailMan78, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. Bo_Fox

    Bo_Fox New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    480 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Barack Hussein Obama-Biden's Nation
    Largon already said that 16 memory chips is definitely needed for 512-bit memory bus, as each chip is limited to a 32-bit wide interface.

    All W1z literally said was that a GPU has a number of ROP's that is directly tied to a certain bus-width memory interface... just like with a GTX 275 that has 28 ROP's and 448-bit bandwidth and a GTX 285 that has 32 ROP's and 512-bit bandwidth. But then again, Largon could be correct in that a (512-bit or 1024-bit) ringbus changes this, since ATI did 512-bit memory with only 16 ROP's and a ringbus.
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    you are correct of course. you can "join" as many chips together as you want to achieve whatever bus width you need.
    Scrizz says thanks.
  3. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,099 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Hmmmm, doesn't GDDR5 use less pins then 3 or 4 allowing for fewer pins and fewer traces on the boards and making them cheaper for AIB partners?

    Anyone think the 5870x2 will have the cooling problems like the 4870x2? I love mine, just wish I could push the clocks higher. Maybe about tax time I'll move over. It will either be a 5870x2 or 2x 5870s.
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  4. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,099 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
    oli_ramsay, a_ump and MoonPig say thanks.
  5. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i wasn't talking number of chips, i meant that what i got from w1z's post was that a bus width isn't limited by the type of chips: GDDR3, 4, 5, etc. Though i musta missed the post bout 16 chips being required for a 512-bit bus
  6. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Modern GDDR3/4 has 136pins, GDDR5 on the other hand has 170.
    But you're actually right - GDDR3 has 69 I/O pins (you made me count them :p), and out of the 170 pins on GDDR5 there's just 63 I/O pins. So GDDR5 does infact have less pins when you look at it from the memory controller's POV. The total pin premium of GDDR5 is explained by the 100 power/ground pins and 7 other (nonconnected, etc.) pins. GDDR3/4 has just 64 power pins and 4 other pins.
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Here be the backplate. The card finally looks good in a case:

    [​IMG]
    1Kurgan1 and Scrizz say thanks.
  8. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    So the holes are just decorative :wtf:
    [​IMG]
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    That is a nice looking piece of kit!

    Huge though, I'm going to have to rearrange my Antec ( rig its going in til I build my own)

    And then cut out some of the HDD cage on my new case XD
  10. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,099 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Card length

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    If true, the 5870x2 is going to be a very long card.
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Anyone else going to mod their case just to fit this in? :D
  12. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,099 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    What's the card length of the 4870?

    I think I'm going to go with two of those to help with cooling which should be better than the 5870x2. Besides, it shouldn't be slower than my 4870x2 and more than likely will be faster in most games. That and having a board with two pcie slots helps too.
  13. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    My XFX 4870 ( that I had for 2 days ;) )

    was about 24 cm long..

    I think I might actually have just about enough room for the card without modding, thanks to the PCI-E power being on the side, I shall go measure things.
  14. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Maybe i will mod my case or buy CM HAF922 if i have cash.
    And btw the card is 28cm long... It's ridiculous :twitch:

    [​IMG]
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  15. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    884 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    I am really thinking about selling my kidney, so i can buy one of these! ;)
  16. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,099 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    The 5870 is 28cm?

    BTW, if you got a Microcenter around they have a rebate on the 922 making it ~$75 before tax.
  17. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  18. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Location:
    Australia
    I knew I was going to upgrade to a Full Tower for more than just airflow :)
  19. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Very nice pics. =)
    By 28cm you mean the whole card, and not just the PCB, that is, including the mounting bracket and DVI connectors sticking outside the case? The PCB alone should be 26.5cm.

    And those pics confirmed the construction of the VRM:
    ● 4 "digital" vGPU phases with Volterra VT1157SF (never seen these before...), option for a 5th vGPU phase
    ● new type of vGPU inductor package
    ● 1 "digital" uncore (GDDR5 IMC?) phase with Volterra VT1157SF, option for a 2nd
    ● 1+1 "digital" GDDR5 vDD+vDDQ phases with Volterra VT242WF
    ● 2× Volterra VT1165MF controllers (vGPU & uncore)
    ● the card is SOFTMOD COMPLIANT, YAY!
    ● 2×6pin, option for 6pin+8pin - not that it matters, though

    It's a strong PWM, overall. The PCB supports VT1195SFs aswell instead just the VT1157SFs installed, so there's an open upgrade path for even more stronger parts.
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  20. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    My 932 would have a problem as long as the card gets juiced by the side!:toast:
    Still missing the card though:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
  21. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Correct largon!
    @theorw Uhhh what ?

    [​IMG]
  22. Bo_Fox

    Bo_Fox New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    480 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Barack Hussein Obama-Biden's Nation
    When I look at this picture, it seems that a lot of space is wasted in making the card longer. The PCB could've easily been an inch shorter, like the 4870. I'm willing to bet that we'd see a few manufacturers making their own non-reference PCB's for shorter 5870 cards within a few months from now.
  23. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    I guess both nV & AMD think a high-end card MUST be as long as it is possible.
    Makes no sense.
  24. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I'm guessing its longer so they can fit a bigger heat sink inside as well.
    just measured my case, I literally have just enough space :D

    The red vents should touch my HDD cages ha ha

    ( in a full tower case!)
  25. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,719 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    After measuring up my case i've realised i have nothing to worry about - it can take a full 16 inches before i have to worry :D

    Now nothing is in the way of me getting a 5870x2...other than the fact i have no money ofc.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page