1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Preparing 'Super RV770' to Challenge GeForce GTX 200 Series

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 1, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,573
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    The RV770 is perhaps the best thing that happened to AMD in a long while. But more than AMD, it's perhaps the best thing that happened to us, the consumers. But general product launches seem to be just the tip of the ice-berg. The new PCB's designed by ATI for RV770 cards are actually running at well below the clock speed they can support and there is every reason to believe that these cards will be challenging NVIDIA's very best.

    The HD4870 PCB with two 6-pin power connectors can support a maximum TDP of 225W (2x 75W from the power connectors + 75W from the PCI-Express interface). While at stock parameters, the HD4870 will not consume over 170W, it implies that with a fair bit of binning for high-performing parts, there is a serious lot of room for overclocking way beyond what the ordinary HD4870 cards can take.

    ATI is binning the parts to a lowest denominator required for good yields and a level of performance that reaches or sometimes overtakes the GeForce GTX 260. But this time around, the company developed an AIB/OEM-only product codenamed "Super RV770", which will be much more powerful.

    These cards will come with pre-installed water-cooling and feature an 'unlocked BIOS'. Déjà Vu? Yes, it's perhaps the same parts that went into making the Diamond HD4870 XOC Unlocked Black Edition which was released earlier. The BIOS allows manufacturers to push the GPU core speed all the way up to 950 MHz, with the memory being able to scale up to 1200 MHz (effective: 4.80 GHz). With even better cooling such as a thermo-electric couple (TEC) cooler, you might be able to push it a little further. At 1200 MHz memory, the card attains a memory bandwidth of 150 GBps.

    With Diamond Multimedia already having a product in the making, expect announcements from other ATI partners such as ASUS, Sapphire, HIS and GeCube.

    Source: DailyTech
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2008
  2. petepete New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    317 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Oh Baby
  3. Nkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    well a really good custom after market air cooler could probably run the chips at 950 as well, I am already running at 790core, with temps never exceeding 65c under hours of gaming, that is with the stock cooler with fan speed at 40%. So the companys could easily hit 950 on air with a special bios as well, I really don't think that water cooling is really required for that speed.
    newconroer says thanks.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,945 (11.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,368
    sounds fun. to be honest, i think they'll all be like that diamond model.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    I hope this means, that all I need is some great cooling and a bios flash and I can have 900+ on the core!:p
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,573
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    It's not just a BIOS flash you'll need, those cards have higher binned parts (incl. the GPU) that allow stable operation at 950+ MHz.
  7. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    yum, I can smell the burning silicon already :D
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    a 4870 at 900mhz core and 4.8ghz memory would be NUTSO :D:D

    me wantie, that would really kick my 9800GTX in the nuts, and actually represent a viable upgrade.
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Those were my thoughts exactly. just take the place of binning with better cooling. lol.
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  10. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    ATI need the RV771. A rework, probably, of ROPs and local cache size/latency. I think we have enough TMU and SPEs to scale a bit further... problem is the bottleneck is elsewhere. Why?

    I've yet to see ONE benchmark, real or synthetic, where th 4850/70 is scoring 250% x the 3870/50 units. So that means with 800/40 SPE/TMU (250% of 320/16) the poor buggers are not scaling and are handicapped elsewhere. "OVERCLOCKING" isnt really getting more performance out of the SPE/TMU but from overclocking the bottleneck area... whereever that bottleneck is.

    But that is a serious waste of power and unnecessary heat. Attack the problem directly. Find and solve the bottleneck.

    *** HUNT THE BOTTLENECK ***

    1./ It's not SPE/TMU. We've go enough of those. In fact more than the GTX280
    2./ It's not memory clocks. With GDDR5, we're faster then GTX280
    3./ It's not PCIe1.0/2.0 interface. GTX280 can burst through

    >> Drivers?
    >> ROPs?
    >> Local thread scheduler problems/cache/latency?
    >> Memory bandwidth? Does ATI need to get back to 512-bit? Is there too much latency with 256-bit due to multiple read/write rather than single read/write

    ***ARCHITECTURE***
    Perhaps the *new* 800SPE and *new* 40 TMU are, in fact, less powerful PER UNIT than the old ones... due to instruction scheduling, data caching, and transistor-count optimisation issues. Getting 250% more units in only 33% more silicon will require some compromise somewhere. Perhaps that's the problem.
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2008
  11. indybird

    indybird New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    The real question is, when will these be available retail?

    -Indybird
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,945 (11.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,368
    most people would call that bottleneck a CPU :p
  13. Nkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    lol, haha, that was a good one man, yea that is pretty simple.

    I will post some numbers later with my cpu running at 4.2ghz.
  14. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    I REALLY do hope you are joking. You saying that the performance bottleneck on synthetics or GPU limited tests, is the CPU? ROFL. :nutkick:

    Just take a benchmark that is pretty much independent of CPU, like FurMark. QED
  15. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    @Nkd, take your PC, choose a clock for your GPU and stick with it. Now run Furmark with your CPU @2.0, 2.5, 3.0, 3.5, 4.2 and show your results. I bet they are all within 1% of each other, probably even closer.

    Next. Choose clocks for your GPU and CPU and stick with it. Now run Furmark with your GPU with memory clocks (main GPU clock same) increasing. Plot the results. Any difference? If there is, then there is a memory bottleneck. If it doesnt increase, or it is only marginal, then there is no memory bottleneck. (For furmark at least)
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    yeh that is what i talking about, super rv 770 , but i hope to add havok physics too , that will be best card for 2008
  17. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I said this would happen in the Diamond thread.
  18. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Will these Super RV770's be the ATI Radeon HD 4850+/4870+ series?

    I suppose I'll wait a while before buying a 4870 now, wait to see what these better RV770's are capable of.
  19. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Will the 256bit memory bus be able to give us the bandwidth needed if the RAM is maxed out, that's what I want to know.
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,573
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    With GDDR5, the bus width isn't as significant a figure as it used to be with GDDR4/3. Each pin of the memory bank transfers 2x the amount of data /clock cycle. 1200 MHz (2400MHz DDR) 256bit GDDR5 means the same bandwidth as 1200 MHz (2400 MHz DDR) 512bit GDDR3.
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2008
    WarEagleAU and mdm-adph say thanks.
  21. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,382 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,218
    for sure the winner here is the consumer! now wouldnt it be hilarious of matrox decided to enter the high end gpu market?
  22. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    You're right, I completely ignored the fact GDDR5 has that benefit as well as consuming far less power whilst doing so, but don't you mean GDDR4 not GDDR3?

    EDIT: No, I'm stupid, GDDR3. Man, I hate mornings.
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2008
  23. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Explain why my FPS jumps from 30 FPS to 50FPS + from 1.86Ghz to 2.4Ghz..... The GPU cannot function without the CPU. The CPU is a bottleneck, NO benchmark is 100% independent from the GPU as the CPU processes the data from the HDD BEFORE it goes to the GPU.
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  24. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Try adding a bit of useful information, like game, resolution, effects. Otherwise my explanation that you asked for is: you changed the settings. ROFL. 50fps+ is 70%+ more than 30fps. But you increased your CPU only 30%. ROFL.

    [​IMG]
  25. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Yep, thats the problem.
    From what I've picked up, ATi have decided to try using heaps of stream processing units, except they've had to downsize them so that they would fit on the die. They gave their designers a specific transistor count and size to work in, so the designers must'v had to cut back on the power of each unit.
    If they made each SPU the same as the last generation, the die size would be MASSIVE!
    I hope they get 45 nm chips out soon (better SPUs!), and not only ATI: c'mon AMD, where's some die shrinks??

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page