1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Radeon 5870 and Dirt 2 - Again

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by HillBeast, Jan 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Well a few days ago I wrote my first thread on this forum (http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=112992) and received several hateful messages for writing that ATIs latest Radeon, the 5870, is not as good as it was hyped up to be. The thread was then closed just as someone started understanding what I was talking about.

    I decided to go away and do some reseach (like several people said I needed to do) and my research turned up something rather interesting: I'm right. Now I know I'm being an a** for carrying on this arbguement and I expect this thbread will be closed within like two minutes because I am insulting peoples precious Radeons, but listen to me: I am not a NVIDIA fanboy. I OWN an ATI card and I OWN the card in question. These lags are real. It is NOT a faulty card. If it was then it would happen in more than one game.

    Anyways, to what I wanted to mention: I did my research and heaps of people are experiencing this issue and even a patch to fix it doesn't fix it. Here are some references to look at:

    * http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=260&threadid=122925
    * http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/103862-13-dirt-stuttering
    * http://www.overclock.net/ati/635871-dirt-2-stuttering-5850-a.html
    * http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=628798
    * http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?p=1336138538
    * http://www.techenclave.com/graphic-cards/dirt-2-benchmarks-dx-9-vs-153329.html
    * http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,...DX-11-Update-Radeon-HD-5970-results/Practice/

    If you say my hardware is faulty then you clearly have not read the pages I provided.

    Also the problem magically goes away when I put my GeForce GTX285 back in the computer (and yes this is after I do a fresh install of Windows with no drivers for the other brand.

    Here are my system specs:

    Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8GHz with HT on
    6GB OCZ Platinum DDR3-1866 @ 8-8-8-25 timings
    EVGA Classified X58 3xSLI
    Intel X58 Chipset
    HIS Radeon 5870 @ 900MHz
    Corsair HX1000 1KW Power Supply
    WD Black 1TB

    Here is what people have said and what doesn't fix it:

    * Get a bigger power supply - From where? I have a 1KW PSU
    * RAM is too slow - If that is the case then why doesn't the GTX285 do it?
    * Not reinstalling Windows between switching cards - I have. Doesn't work
    * The reviews never said about this issue so therefore the issue doesn't exist - Just because the reviewers don't mention it, doesn't mean it wasn't there, it just means the they didn't see it happen, or didn't think anything of it.

    I am not being paid by nVidia. Don't ask that. I am just trying to let people know that there is an issue and I want to know what people think of it. Again, I am thinking these cards could have been better than it is.
     
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,721 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I've been playing Dirt2 a lot and have never noticed any lags or stuttering. 1920x1200, high settings. Total eye candy and fun to play.

    I have had a few crashes, but turning up the fan solved that. I personally feel the fan does suck - that'm my only complaint, soon to be solved with a waterblock.

    Seen a one or two posts about compatibility issues with Core i7 systems, but that's anecdotal.

    OH: Post your system spec in your sig, as well as Sound Card and OS... everything I read points to a DX issue or hardware conflict.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2010
  3. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yeah the fan is really load. Louder than my vacuum cleaner even. Don't know how it could be so loud though, it's not like it's big, but it does the job seeing I only need it at 30% and it won't go over 55C.
     
  4. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    haf you tried this 5870 on a friends pc perhaps?

    which drivers are you using?

    what Os are you using?

    have you tried running the game with your cpu and all other setting at default?
     
  5. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Why aren't a number of TPU members not having these issues? I've never experienced anything like what's being described in the links above and I've tested over 8 different 5XXX cards ranging from the 5850-5970.
     
  6. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    Well for a start the 1st link doesnt relate to dirt 2, the 2nd one is a 4870 not a 5870 tho the OP couldnt update his 1st post, I didnt read any more after that, why should I go through your links when you obviousley didnt?

    I am not saying you dont have an issue, I just think if you are going to post threads that are relevant to your op and want you to be listened to, perhaps you should at least make sure they are indeed relevant?
     
  7. air_ii

    air_ii

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    129 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    POZ, PL
    It's most likely v-sync on. When it's on and the card can't sustain 60 fps, it drops to 30 fps. That's when you have a slow down. Either turn vsync off or ensure your card can pull 60 fps all the time. On GTX285 that didn't happen, as DX9 path is much faster than DX11. And it could be that on GF you had vsync off. And if you could quit whinging and focus on Q&A, that would be helpful.

    On a side note, in some cases, a game may stutter if you turn camera around due to the fact that the game is dynamically loading textures. This is not cards' fault, it's the way game engines are designed.
     
  8. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Nope, but if you are implying that my hardware is defective then as I said: why doesn't it do it with my GTX285 in it?

    Cataract Control Centre 9.12

    Windows 7 Professional 64bit

    Yes. I've tried it at stock and overclocked. It makes zero difference. Same with the RAM. The only thing that effects it is OCing the VRAM but not by much.

    I don't know but it's definately happening and across a wide range of hardware.
     
  9. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    It's not V-Sync. I've tried both settings and i happens both times, and as for GTX285, the settings were all on full and with V-Sync on. It's not V-Sync. People mentioned it last time.

    Also as to the second thing you said, if it's the way the game engine is designed then again why doesn't the GTX285 do it?
     
  10. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yes I didn't go through all of them, but most of them I read and got the gist that Dirt 2 lags at certain points. Simply Google 'radeon 5870 dirt 2 stuttering' and you will see why I didn't read them all: there are so many cases. I don't have all the time in the world to find references...
     
  11. air_ii

    air_ii

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    129 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    POZ, PL
    I didn't say that Dirt2 is designed that way. As I said, DX9 code path is much faster than DX11. That's why gameplay with GF could be smoother. You never mentioned that resolution you play at...
     
  12. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    But you stated in your first post

    You obviousley didnt? so maybe this isnt as common as your op would lead us to believe?
     
  13. dies900 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    93 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Estonia
    hey dont worry I have the same lag:)
    I bet its the drivers!
    try that: when you go in dirt 2 immediatly change your resolution:D
    any reso except the one what the game started in.
    sorry for my bad english:p
     
  14. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Dude if you google any card with any existing problem, you re bound to find em, its google! Anyways if your 5870 is giving you so much problems, why not sell it, keep the cash and use your gtx 285 since you seem to miss it. Then when fermi is around, just grab one of them, hoping by then, you won't complain its stuttering because it's heating too much.
     
  15. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yes you did. I know DX9/10 are faster, but still even considering DX11 bogging it down, it shouldn't do it even when I have the settings at minimum.

    I forgot to mention, it does it even with all the settings as low as possible (except resolution which I never changed), however weirdly when I put AAx8 on and the game lags everywhere (like constant 15FPS) the slowdowns stop, but if I try to resolve the slowdowns by OCing the GPU it goes quick again, but the slowdowns return too. Any ideas on that?
     
  16. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I use 1920 x 1200 x 32bit @ 60Hz.
     
  17. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    The thing is despite it going like poo in Dirt 2 and being a bit of a disappointment, it's still better than the 285 in certain games like GTA IV which I play more of.

    Another tbhing I should mention is I play alot of Killing Floor, and it is based on UT2004 engine (whatever the name is) and despite how easy on the system this game is, as soon as I use ANY AA it lags up super bad (like less than 15FPS). It's not that hard of a game to run.
     
  18. dies900 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    93 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Estonia
    the start the game in 1680x1050 change to yours reso and when you finish then change back to 1680x1050 thats how i play it I know its annoying but I like vsync gives no tearing:)
    I play at 1920x1080 and have hd 5850 with hd 5870 bios and clocked 900 core 1300 mem.
    with hd 4870 1 gb I didnt had this problem I bet because it uses different dx.
     
  19. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    I'm sorry dude but of all the links posted only 1 really describes your problem. And it's a forum thread where people put it down to dx11 mode/vsync issues. Even if it were a problem with the card or drivers we are only on the 3rd/4th driver release which means there still may be some niggling little bugs lying around - but since i've only seen you and the guy in the forum thread about the issue actually have it post the 9.12hotfix drivers then i'd say it is probably less a card issue and more of a machine specific issue (i have no such slowdowns, but then again im on a different card to you).

    And as others have said you can't really compare a dx10 card with a dx11 card as the dx11 has a diffrent rendering path which is where the issue may be (with vsync).
     
  20. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I'm starting to think DX11 is a flop too. The annoying thing is that this is the only game that uses it, and it doesn't work right so if this is supposed to be setting the bar for DX11 then I might as well pack up my stuff and build a computer with a GTX285 or a Radeon 4890 and forget DX11.

    The more irritating thing is that this game is supposed to work on these cards and is supposed to show off how great they are but it just doesn't do either...
     
  21. air_ii

    air_ii

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    129 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    POZ, PL
    No I didn't. I've heard comprehension reading courses are blast!

    I'm done talking with idiots who can't appreciate people are trying to help them. You know why it's called troubleshooting? Because there might not be one answer to the problem (you shoot)!

    "It is a logical, systematic search for the source of a problem so that it can be solved, and so the product or process can be made operational again. Troubleshooting is needed to develop and maintain complex systems where the symptoms of a problem can have many possible causes."

    If you seem to have ruled out all possible explanations, why bother asking?

    And so you know - Dirt2 flies on my HD5870 - butter smooth!

    Enjoy!
     
  22. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Hmm. Yeah. I'm thinking it is DX11 being rubbish. It's not surprising. I have been waiting to find what the problem with Windows 7 is (because Microsoft have to ruin everything), and now it seems I have found it.

    I might as well go back to playing GTA IV and GRID... At least they work not like stupid Dirt 2. It's not even that good of a game (the menu is stupid, the graphics are worse in my opinion than GRID, and Ken Block is annoying) but it's just irritating that it doesn't work considering I spent so long having to download it because they were too lazy to give me a disc...
     
  23. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Run the game in DX10 with the 5870.
    Post back your results..
    ;)


    EDIT: the game runs very smoothly on my 5850 (Win7).

    EDIT2: that should read DX9.. sorry :/
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2010
  24. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    How do I do that?
     
  25. dies900 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    93 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Estonia
    if you think so:D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page