1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Radeon 9550/9600 problem

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by bim27142, Nov 25, 2004.

  1. bim27142

    bim27142

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    448 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pilipinas!
    "VPU recover has reset your graphics accelerator as it was no longer responding to graphics driver commands"

    anyone encountered this problem? i played max payne 2, it frozed, then rebooted, windows showed me that message.... :(
     
  2. YohanN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i encountered this when i overclocked my 9550 too high (core - not mem) and then drained maximum output (doom3 for 2 hrs). So I had to lower freq from 420 to 405 and now its rock stable.
    But if your card runs default freq.....you shoud try to underclock or (better) RMA it.
     
  3. GallowGlas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    9550 Graphics Driver problems

    I have the same problem, only the problem occurs during regular windows Xp usage. "VPU has reset your graphics accelerator as it was no longer responding to graphics driver commands"

    If you find the solution, give me an e-mail.
    GallowGlas@gmail.com
     
  4. The Rage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    VPU is a system made by ATI


    http://ati.com/products/catalyst/features.html :D
     
  5. GallowGlas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, but the driver shouldn't crash every 30 minutes while using windows. VPU recovers it only some of the time.
     
  6. ati.bob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    352 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    9550 cards with the 'BIOS clock lock' are prone to these problems.. either by switching to a set of hacked drivers (like the SoftMod drivers from tPU! or the Omega driver)... or flash it with a compatible 9600 BIOS to remove the 'BIOS clock lock'..
     
  7. GallowGlas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Thanks for the help!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page