1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Radeon 9550 Oversized Background Image Resolution

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by SimTramp, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. SimTramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I recently installed an ATI Radeon 9550 graphics card in an old Dell Dimension 4400. It worked fine but the PC had been in storage for a few years so I installed a bunch of new Microsoft updates and now the desktop background is way oversized. When running a 1680 X 1050 desktop resolution the desktop background has hidden about 30% of a 1680 X 1050 picture (the bottom and the right side) no matter if you stretch, tile or center the picture. I opened a paint program and sized a blank template to 2098 X 1315 and placed the 1680 X 1050 picture against the top-left sides to get a picture centered properly in the desktop background. It’s certainly something I could live with but it’s not right and is likely an indication of other underlying problems. Any Ideas??
  2. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    SimTramp says thanks.
  3. SimTramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks segalaw, I downloaded the driver and installed, after installation reboot I was prompted to install microsoft .net framework 2.0 as well. After both installations the desktop background still remains in the oversized resolution........ dern it!!
  4. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    247 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Iraq
    I believe it's a windows issue..Did u try changing the wallpaper and playing around in the options?
  5. SimTramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've screwed around with the display settings with no results, now I get this message when I try to access the Catalyst Control Center
    ---------------------------
    Could not load file or assembly 'CLI.Implementation, Version=2.0.3693.42437, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=90ba9c70f846762e' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
    ---------------------------
  6. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    247 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Iraq
    I meant u 'screw around' with the windows background options!! Do not center the image, choose 'fit' or 'fill'
    What windows r u running? What's the resolution of the wallpaper pic and the resolution of ur desktop?
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010
  7. Timonthy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Reset the monitor resolution and see what happens?
    If everything else fails you could always do a repair installation of windows.
    SimTramp says thanks.
  8. SimTramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm running XP Pro. Originally my desktop background was 1680 X 1050 and the resolution under the Properties-Settings was 1680 X 1050 but the desktop background was stretched off the screen to the right and bottom. I opened a new picture document and moved the resolution around to find just how stretched the desktop background was. I came to the resolution of 2098 X 1315 and placed the 1680 X 1050 in the upper left corner to get it to center properly as my background. Where can you choose fit or fill?

    Nice set up!!!
    Regards:::
  9. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    247 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Iraq
    Can u post a screenshot?
  10. SimTramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here you go
    [​IMG]
    What it looks like without adjusting the image size (this is the standard 1680 X 1050 image)

    [​IMG]
    The enlarged image to correct it

    [​IMG]
    and what it looks like after the large image in used as the desktop background.

    Are you in Iraq because you're in the military?

    Regards::::
  11. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    247 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Iraq
    Right click on ur desktop->Properties->Desktop Background or something (It's a long time since I ran XP)->U should now see options like: center, fit or pile, or something like that, I believe the current one is 'pile', while it must be 'fit', so change it.

    I'm in Iraq coz I'm Iraqi! :)
  12. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I have had the same problem with my laptop. I changed the resolution to 1920 in order to see all the screen. Try out the 1024 and all types till you find the exact one
    SimTramp says thanks.
  13. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    247 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Iraq
    If the above didn't work, uninstall ATI driver, reboot in safe mode and use driver sweeper to remove any remnant of the driver and then reboot into normal mode and re-install it.
    If everything fails, a clean new windows installation might be the only way!
    SimTramp says thanks.
  14. SimTramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That would be a very good reason!

    The current XP options are (Center, Stretch & Tile) none of which have any proper resizing affect….. Changing resolution settings also have no results…. I will do the uninstall, sweep and reinstall as soon as I catch up and can afford to have my system down….. Thanks much!!!!!
  15. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    have you update your monitor driver so windows know what setting to use

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page