1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Radeon HD4850 Transcodes Four 1080p Video Files Simultaneously in Real-Time

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 25, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,705 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,668
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    With advancements in visual-computing technologies on an all-time high, and graphics processing units with immense 3D computational power coming out by the fortnights, consumers benefit the most. In the process of evaluating graphics processors' abilities using the latest 3D games and synthetic 3D benchmark software alone, we are probably missing out on other primary uses of a GPU which when tapped, show just how potent a GPU can be. Both NVIDIA and ATI have had video-transcoding features that until exploited by software are close to rudimentary.

    Cyberlink, have been working on technologies that enable their software to harness the video-transcoding abilities of GPU's. Shuichi Takagi, CyberLink's vice president of of business development ran a demonstration of PowerDirector 7 that is capable of GPU-accelerated video-transcoding, on a recently launched ATI Radeon HD4850 512 MB, proving that the hardware and software is capable of converting four HD MPEG-2 movies into MPEG-4 simultaneously, in real time. According to Shuichi, it will take about 30 minutes to process four full-length movies and compress them into handheld-friendly 200+ MB files.

    Source: TG Daily
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2008
    Kei says thanks.
  2. Rurouni Strife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    HOT DAMN!
    I mean, I'm sure the GTX cards can do similar. But still.
    HOT DAMN!
     
  3. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    I gotta test this :eek:
     
  4. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    In the nvidia demo what speed did they transcode the hi-def video at?
     
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,705 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,668
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Did they do one?

    We should be happy that the GPU has come this far. It's not ATI or NVIDIA but we who win.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  6. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    btarunr says thanks.
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wow this is simply amazing. I mean really amazing.
     
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,705 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,668
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    What GPU did they use at the NVIDIA demo?
     
  9. wolf2009 Guest

    can anybody test this ?
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,705 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,668
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    All you is need Cyberlink PowerDirector7. Good luck.
     
  11. DaJMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    479 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    There's reason to ever need to do this with a single midrange card...... but nice :cool:


    That's some impressive computing power.
     
  12. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    Getting Cyberlink Power director 7 on Tuesday coming. Im super excited, this is fantastic news. Im well aware that the power of modern gpu's are yet to be harnessed, but WOW!
     
  13. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Anyone know which build of powerdirector 7 you need for this? I have build 7.00.1628 and it doesnt have this feature.

    Dont think the feature has been released yet.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2008
  14. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    will this work on hd3870?
     
  15. sideeffect New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    81 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I just installed the trial of Powerdirector 7 to try to test this. It doesn't work for uncompressed AVI to divx or MPEG4 it used my CPU instead of 4850 GPU. Next I tried a MPEG2 transport stream and encoded it to MPEG-4 AVC and it still used the CPU, GPU load remained at 0%.

    So not sure what conditions need to be met to allow GPU acceleration there was no options to enable hardware acceleration. Anyone been able to get it to work ?
     
  16. wolf2009 Guest

    i hope wizzard can look into this , if this is really true .
     
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,705 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,668
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It's coming from a vice-president of Cyberlink. It has to be true. If you want to verify it, you need:

    The PowerDirector7 software
    A BD/HDDVD drive (or any source of a lossless HD 1080p video) total of 4 sources

    Transcode them to H.264 simultaneously.

    Yes. But I really don't know when Cyberlink is releasing this feature.
     
  18. wolf2009 Guest

    so this can only transcode from bdrom, not the video files on HDD ?
     
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,705 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,668
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Any lossless HD video source. I think content protection applies though, I'm not sure.
     
  20. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    It hasnt been released yet. Its not available in the latest Powerdirector 7 build. The demo must have been using a prerelease version of the software.
     
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,705 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,668
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If they turn out to be greedy /b/, they'd make only the Ultra version feature this?
     
  22. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    I cant remember where, but a site does say this.
     
  23. substance90

    substance90 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    What good is it if it works only on loseless bd and hddvd?! Anyway, I don`t care so much, cause my C2D handles perfectly any Full HD content, ripped or loseless. :)
     
  24. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    explains more on the argument , why ATi always had better picture quality also ........... ATi gpus are really HD when it come to being HD.
     
  25. wolf2009 Guest

    just in from DAAMIT,

     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page