1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Radeon HD4870x2 - Crap performance on Vista Ult 64

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Mannaro, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. Mannaro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys, i'm really desperate. I've read thousands of forum pages but seems nothing can solve my problem.

    I bought a ATI Radeon HD4870x2... well i get crap performance, 7-8 fps on Crysis no matter settings.

    I have a AMD Phenom 9500, 4gb of memory, my MO is N2M-SLI Deluxe and my S.O. is Vista Ultimate 64. The card works fine on same computer under XP32 (30-40frames on Cysis 1920x1200 high settings). Support tell me is a power supply issue because i have a 500W and the card require a 650. Ok but works on XP32!!
    So is a driver issue??

    I've installed everything, official and unofficial... nothing works. Support tell me that i have to install Catalyst 8.7 but this driver not recognize the card! So only 8.8 or 8.9 beta. Nothing...

    Any of you have this card under Vista 64? You think that power supply is really insufficent on Vista but may be enough on XP?
  2. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    It's very possible that running Vista creates more of a power draw from your components. What I don't understand is why you would even try to run this card on a 500w psu. My thought on this always. Never buy a video card before you have a psu that can power it. You are not only risking poor performance, but you risk frying your psu and taking other components with it. Get yourself at least a quality 650w psu.
  3. Mannaro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Er... my bad on this ^^' i bought this card without know that requires at least 650W. On my old 400 the computer power off, so my releseller mount a 500W (he dont got a better power supply) and the computer runs fine. Test on XP32 and the card was AMAZING!

    So we think it have to work also under Vista 64...
  4. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Totally agree......a 500 watt PSU even of quality build shouldn't be used with that beast of a card...way to much risk of killing It..along with your PSU....remember....to little voltage can kill equipment as easily as overvoltage can.

    Get a decent 650 or higher PSU and get to enjoying that card.

    Hope It helps. :)
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You really should not even be trying to run that card in XP until you get a better psu, even if it apprears to be running ok. You will end up killing the psu, and possibly taking other components with it.
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    4870x2 and a 500W PSU (dont know the rest of your power draw as you have not filled in your specs) = An accident about to happen whatever your operating system, and yes, I read an article about a year ago about the different methods of system and hardware management between XP and Vista, that showed about a 25W draw difference between the two OS's with identical hardware at identical speeds, that 25W maximum margin you are playing with there will not only cost you the price of a PSU but perhaps a motherboard and other stuff.

    Edit: try downloading something like motherboard monitor or even just check your hardware monitor in BIOS, I reckon your rails are being dragged down to well under their ratings.

    As a matter of interest, what make/model is your PSU with what amperage?
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    just out of curiousity what model/make psu is it anyway ?
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Tatty, you and I are exactly on the same page here. :)
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    As always :)
  10. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,442
    Besides the crap/underpowered PSU more than likely it doesn't even have a 8-pin connection that is "REQUIRED" to be connected inorder for overdrive to function.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mannaro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  12. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Blue Storm II, who makes that & what's the amperage on the 12volt rail?
  13. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,442
    Are they both 6 pin, 6+8, or 8 pins? I believe the 4870X2 requires a 6-pin and a 8-pin to function normally, besides a beefy PSU.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Get a new psu pronto,i have a feeling he has the CPU 4+4 plugged in it along with the one 6pin pcie or both.Also that is not a very good psu to begin with,Here is the specs..

    Efficiency


    85%

    Input Voltage


    100-240 VAC

    Frequency


    50Hz - 60Hz

    PFC


    Active

    Power Provided


    500W

    Over-Current Protection


    V

    Over-Voltage Protection


    V

    Short-Circuit Protection


    V

    Line Type


    Main connector


    20+4Pin

    4Pin+12V Power Connector


    1( 4+4pin for EPS)

    4Pin Floppy Connector


    2

    S-ATA Connector


    4

    4Pin Connector


    6

    PCI-Express Connector


    2

    Case Color


    Blue

    Chassis Fan


    120mm

    Noise


    <25 dBA

    Form Factor


    Intel ATX 12V V2.2

    Safety Approval


    CB, UL, CSA, FCC, CE, TUV, NEMKO, C-TICK, CCC, BSMI, GOST

    Dimensions(LxWxH)mm


    140*150*86

    Also there is a reveiew here from HardPC
    http://www.fsplifestyle.com/en/reviews.asp?strKey=&pro_catId=8&categoryId=1&productId=17
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    If he had the 4pin from the 4+4 connector, he wouldn't be able to power his system.
  16. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    He has the 2 6 pin in it wich is starving that x2 .

    Uhm if peps would read the package before pay that cash he would`n be in this mess .....just ranting .....
  17. Mannaro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I read 18A on the 12V and on the card is connected a 6-pin and a more larger pin, seems formed by a 6 plus a little 2.

    BTW... tomorrow or saturday morning ill change it with a 750W at least.
  18. gottistar

    gottistar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    174 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    PSU pronto !! , i learnt the same way !!

    im a greedy bitch, i went 1200w tough power t/take, because i had to :D:D:D
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  19. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,442
    Couldn't agree more!! What PSU brand are you going for? Be careful, it maybe 750W but the amp's could be really weak.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
  21. Zehnsucht

    Zehnsucht New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    439 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    The extra two pins on an 8 pin connector are just ground.

    I am somewhat surprised though. According to the tpu testing the entire PC was peaking 380 W at the wall. With 80 % efficiency that's 304 W delievered to all the components. Assuming the 4870x2 peaks 250W (I'm just pulling numbers now), that's 21A on the 12V rail(s).

    Since there are two connectors, if you have two rails the power will be divided among them.

    What is more important IMO is the current rating on the 12V rail(s) (and combined wattage).
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  22. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    that psu only draws 450 though .
  23. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    It's an FSP so it is a decent make but nowhere including their website does it state amperage.
  24. Zehnsucht

    Zehnsucht New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    439 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  25. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yup, around 264W draw for the card at load, but thats of course at stock speeds, bottom line is standard 6 pin PCI-E connectors give 75W each, so thats 150W plus 75W coming from the boards PCI-E slot (PCI-E 2.0 is 150W but dont think his board is 2.0??) that makes a max available wattage of 225W which simply aint enuff, now as I understand things, if an 6 to 8 pin adaptor is used, it does not/cannot increase wattage available, these adaptors started off as toys to fool 2900XT cards and CCC into thinking all was well so as users could get access to "overdrive" for the overclocking options, genuine PSU 8 pin connectors can deliver upto 150W (I think....maybe it's only 125W....not sure), as his PSU does not have an 8 pin the way I see it is he can only be drawing a max of 225W physically and that aint enuff.......so apart from the obvious PSU issues, the system fails/will fail because of a lack of juice, and that will also probably be damaging the card also.


    http://www.xbitlabs.com/misc/picture/?src=/images/video/radeon-hd4870-x2/4870x2_power_full.png&1=1
    Or am I missing something?
    Zehnsucht says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page