1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ati radeon powercolor 128 64bit-->video memory overflow

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Isatanica, Oct 14, 2004.

  1. Isatanica New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi guys ,I searched around in goole and in here but couldn`t find any subject about my problem.
    my specs:
    amd 1.8
    memory 512
    xp pro sp2
    40 hd
    dvd player
    cd rom player
    newest drivers for my systeem like the videocard-motherboard -soundcard ,everything,it`s up to date and I used every single driver for my videocard from old version to the new and I used the official ati drivers and the drivers on ur website

    I`ve got a big problem with my graphicscard(ati radeon powercolor 128mb)

    when I try to play a game it shuts down and comes back to the desktop ,with some games there comes a message:
    ERROR#8888
    video memory overflow

    what does it mean,please help me out on this I have my pc for 2 months and never had this problem before but yesterday I wanted play Mafia it shut down the game and give me that error message,but with other games it just shutdown for no reason without any error message, I`ve used the Ati Tool but didn`t overclock anything on purpose,I just turned on
    by the way I`ve got the newest drivers,please anyone help me

    P.s my apologies foir my bad english,I`m dutch

    here is a link to the picture of the image

    http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0PgAAAK4R6BDK6!tdXtkSnq4mBJngDl!pPpJhV8ftuod!2TmA8yrwX557*4CHq48DN7NG7Pa0AvaNO6aFP1MPm0s4OQuhYEhZ/1.JPG?dc=4675493093322819798

    btw ,when I try the dxdiag ,the black cube with a green X on it goes toooooo fast I cant even see the X.
    I would appreciate it if someone could help me out,I`m very sad about this
     
  2. nightelf84 Guest

    Ati radeon powercolor ???? 128MB. Please specify generation/series. Also, this did not happen before with the same game?

    Go to your BIOS and check your AGP aperture. Either change this to the amount of memory you have on your card, i.e. 128 or bring it down a notch to 64
     
  3. Isatanica New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no it didn`t happen to the games I played before,it is kinda weird,but what do u mean by which generation?
    this is my videocard http://www.gistron.com/scripts/info.php?artnr=23798

    please someone help me out :(


    P.S dxdiag says that my RAMDAC is 500 and not 400 :confused:,nou the X on the direct x cube runs normaal ,I reinstalled the drivers on safe mode,but the error still comes back :mad: ,and like I said dxdiag say RAMDAC 500 and not 400 :mad:

    edit: I tried AGP aperture 64 ,but nou the games just crash
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2004
  4. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Try and uninstall service pack 2
    WARNING THOUGH, all programs installed post-SP2 will be lost with uninstallation
     
  5. Isatanica New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hmmm,why do I have to uninstall sp2?I mean the games worked well before tere wasn`t any problem I had sp2 from the day I bought my pc
     
  6. nightelf84 Guest

    What was your default AGP aperture? If using 64 still doesn't solve the problem, try 128. Memory overflow means you've run out of texture memory on ur video card. Try also lowering game settings...
     
  7. Isatanica New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    by default the aperture was 128 ,about the settings ,they are the same as they were before,I played like one month with the same settings :(
     
  8. nightelf84 Guest

    hmmmm....what else did u do during that one month? Did u update your video driver? Some updated drivers can cause certain games to crash... try using the first driver installed when you bought your pc. Also search google for any graphics card related problem for the game you're playing.
     
  9. C&C Freak 2K New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    205 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Applegate, CA
    It is suggested that your set your AGP aperture to no more than half your system RAM, or no more than 256MB, whichever is smallest.
     
  10. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Still say its SP2 :p

    Though try and roll back the driver for the powercolor video card
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page