1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Radeon Xpress 1150 Driver

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by hoax32, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Hi y'all!!!
    I recently got some ati2dvag blue screen's so I decidet to switch / update drivers.
    With my OLD DRIVER i would have a total of 256MB Video Memory (128MB Dedicated + 128MB Shared).
    After updating the Drivers to a NEWER VERSION (the NEW version is like 0.001 or something newer) windows XP Pro now tells me that I have 700MB!!!! O_O
    Everest tells me folowing:
    Dedicated
    Avaible Local Memory (Dedicated) :131072KB (probably 128MB)
    Avaible Non-Local Memory (Shared) :575455KB (562MB)

    Is it just me or did this driver give me a huge boost in shared memory!?!? :twitch:
    If that is true, then this would be 1 of the most powerfull ATI-IGP Graphics Solutions!!!
    But....... 700MB sounds kinda wird!!! :wtf:
    Never heared of a 700MB Video memory.
    Can that be right?
    Can I expect a performance increase?


    Additional Info: When I installed the driver, my laptop was under the list of supported devices and Installation went perfectly!
    Another difference between the 2 drivers is the Date!
    My old driver is from 2006 and the new 1 from 2007.
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  2. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    my old board has a 1150 in it. i could ony get max 256mb

    i think this is probably due to the addition of the hyper( or something, forgot the actual name) memory.
    for eg, my 4650 has around 1700MB mem, but its only got 1GB dedicated.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  3. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    So can I trust Windows or do you think that that 700MB is false information?
  4. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    I wouldent worrie about it to be honest. :toast:
    hoax32 says thanks.
  5. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX

    To be honest: Everything that doesnt seem right on my computers, bothers me!
    If I find a tiny crack in on my laptop housing, I would probably replace the whole bezel! xD
    If my HDD has 1 low S.M.A.R.T. score, I replace the whole frikin HDD, but not for the DATA - for my peace of mind! xD

    Thanks for your cheerig up words! :toast:

    I better go to bed!
    I have a dentist appointment tomorrow! e.e ouch! - Maybee a root canal surgery in my jaw x(
    Here in Texas it costs a fortune to go to the dentist!!! $600 just for 1 root-canal treatment! (Thats already a i7!!!)
    There are people out there, who cannot afford a Dentist and they sleep and work with toothache ALL their life!!!
    Imagine all that paine waking you up at night! Aouch......

    Im getting off-topic here! lol
    I would appreciate any other comments regarding the video card! :)
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  6. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    I know what you mean when it comes to toothache i need to see a dentist to but havent got the money to do it yet, It's defo not nice some of the worst pain ever.

    As for the GPU i think i get the same thing with my ATI card ill try find the info.

    In dxdiag display tab it tells me my 1gig HD5750 has approx 2805MB

    [​IMG]
    hoax32 says thanks.
  7. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX

    Dude, I feel so sorry for you!!! <:_(
    This frinkin pain is unbearable! :banghead:
    It comes to the point, where you just want to rip out your mouth!!! :banghead:
    MY dentist once told me that flossing is ALOT more important than brushing!!!
    Because inbetween teeth - thats where plaque and cavities builds up!

    Here some advice to linder the pain:
    Mix water with salt and use it as a mouthwash!
    Works great!
    Use Ice-Packs to numben / prevent swelling

    Brush and floss until you go to the dentist and ONLY eat sugarfree stuff on the good side of your mouth until then!
    Good luck mate! :nutkick:
    animal007uk says thanks.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,151 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    your blue screens would be system ram related, since thats what its using - system ram.


    as for the extra ram showing up, thats normal for all cards. all video cards now, can use system ram when they run out of ram themselves.
    shlesscamp and hoax32 say thanks.
  9. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Are you shure that its RAM?
    Because this Card also has 128MB Dedicated memory!
    Its a seperate Graphics chip on the motherboard - not with the CPU.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,151 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    my onboard had similar issues with a failing stick of ram, you just dont get BSODs from video ram - when VRAM goes bad you get visual artifacts or complete system freezes, not BSOD's.
  11. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Think of it as an older onboard GPU that uses system memory for its graphics ram, With todays new cards they can also use system ram if they want to but its all done auto now rather than having to go into bios and set it to what you want.
  12. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    I still have 2x 1GB DDR2 Kinston memory lying arround! But that would mean -2GB RAM!!! :(
    Is there any mem test that does not require a CD-Boot? (usable within windows)
  13. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    I dont see it being subtracted from the RAM so I guess, its directly on the bord for the Video Card.
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    what? 1150 has to share RAM!! atleast it did on mine! it had taken 128MB
  15. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX

    not on mine! :/
    Maybee i have a newer revision.
  16. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,723 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    The 128MB you think is dedicated is still shared. IGPs never have dedicated VRAM.

    All you're seeing there is HyperMemory and Windows assigning extra system RAM to the existing system RAM the IGP already uses. All IGPs do this.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,151 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    it doesnt work that way, they cant test the ram that windows is using so its pointless.


    Red_Machine: SOME IGP's have dedicated ram. my media PC has 128MB of DDR3 soldered onto the board making it a 'true' videocard, it just has upto 512MB of system memory to dedicate to it as well, and THEN vista/7's shared memory on top.
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    what mobo has that thing soldered on???
  19. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,185 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,367
    Assuming that British tax regulations are not that different compared to the Dutch regulations, there is a chance that you can get a tax reduction because of "(additional) medical costs" if you are having an income below a certain amount of money.

    Hoax32 may have that luck as well, depending on how the taxation law is in his region.

    And a piece of advice for the two of you: try to set sufficient money apart for a medical insurance. ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX

    I'm friggin 17 so I don't have to worry about that! :roll: (Thats why God made parents)
    B.t.w. I just came back from the dentist...... :( ......I NEED 2 ROOTCANAL's!!!!!!!!!!! :cry:
    I can already feel the doc. taking my mouth apart!!!! :cry:

    GUYS!!!! BRUSH YOUR TEETH!!!!!!!!! ....... or you will get :nutkick: (nutkicked)
  21. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,185 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,367
    Oh, okay. I did not now you are 17. :D

    Good luck then, oh and if the dentist ask whether you want an anaesthetic you better consider it. ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    that stuff always makes me high! xD
  23. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    UPDATE: After some use today the screen turned black so I reinstalled the old driver.
    I changed out the 4GB Nanya RAM for 2GB Kingston.
    I also didnt noticed that Dell's have a System check tool in the bios.
    It's an extra ROM soldered on the motherboard with a System Check tool!
    Pritty handy! :)

    Dentist update: I need 3 Rootcanals! O_O :cry:
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,151 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    heaps of them. AMD called it sideport memory.
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    whats yours :/

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page