1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI RV670 is Radeon HD 3800 Series

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    According to VR-Zone, the official name for AMD/ATI's RV670 will be Radeon HD 3000 series. Previously codenamed Radeon HD 2950 series, today one of the AIB partners - GeCube has even listed out Radeon HD 3800 on their website. AMD has also decided to drop PRO, XT, GT, XTX from their future HD 3000 series graphics cards. The last 2 digits of the model name will determine the performance of the card. For example RV670PRO will be known as Radeon HD 3850 while RV670XT will be known as Radeon HD 3870 when they are launched on November 15th.

    Source: VR-Zone
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2007
  2. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Some marketing people at AMD need to fall on their swords.

    RV670 is only a small update. Hardly an order of magnitude difference! The X2950, if anything, was probably overstating it, and better to have X2920.

    I fondly remember the days of Radeon 7500, 8500, 9700... each time doubling or tripling performance. And all the $millions spent on teaching people about Pro, XT, XTX... all being thrown to the wind for another naming convention!

    I hope that the new GPU, R7xx or whatever they call it, will go back to a more sensible naming convention, and "reset" the counters.
     
  3. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    It would have been a good idea.....years ago. Now lets think about this Ati. You do still have products called the 9600 and 9800 and etc. You really have noobs out there confused because your horrible with your names.
     
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Maybe a typo on the GeCube site? It could easily have been supposed to be HD 2800 - which might make more sense considering AMD always used to have 9800, X800 ect, but if the RV670 does perform better then that would be misleading. AMD should really have released the HD 2800s first rather than HD 2900, and released the rest under 2900.
     
  5. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,745 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    US
    i like that they dropped those XT, XTX... less confusion for new people
     
  6. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    That's got to be a typo, right? I mean, it's only a revision...

    I hope ATI/AMD aren't that eager to forget the HD 2000 line -- they're not that bad.
     
  7. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    I think they already have forgotten about the 2000 products for the high end at least, mybe they will keep the 2000 for the lower end products.
     
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I think this might let on to say that maybe its not just a revision, but they added changes to it. Only thing I can see for the new naming scheme.
     
  9. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,432 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    if anything the new naming scheme makes it more complicated!
     
  10. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Very nice!

    Death to the suffix!
     
  11. ccleorina

    ccleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    195 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Overclocking Hell
    WTF..... I just got 2 HD2900XT.... Now HD3000? DAMM.... :banghead:
     
  12. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Maybe ATI will just skip ahead to the next generation and surprise everyone with a full hd3000 series. hd3900 with 640 stream processors ;)
     
  13. ccleorina

    ccleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    195 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Overclocking Hell
    I hope it with 640 SP + 4X8pin PCI-E Power.....:banghead:
     
  14. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,745 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    US
    no, PCI-E2.0 will provide more power to video card = no big need for additional connectors
     
  15. ccleorina

    ccleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    195 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Overclocking Hell
    Hope so man.......:roll: can wait see if HD3K can kick nvidia ass:rockout:
     
  16. ccleorina

    ccleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    195 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Overclocking Hell
    Why don't make a dual core graphic card?:toast:
     
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,595 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,513
    ya know what too many of you are too harsh on the company for making a major step, Honestly in my opinion the Naming Conventions were getting too f!@#$%^ long for pronunciation.
     
  18. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    They already exist, in fact, they have for many years. Even 3DFX made them.
     
  19. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,667 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,505
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yep.....but we dont want any more power consumption, we want faster cards with higher speeds using less power and therefore producing less heat.....surely thats one of the main reasons for lowering the fabrication process, if every time you need to raise the power requirements to gain the speed with each generation then IMO that is nt really an advance in technology..........leading to the year 2050, when we all own our very own nuclear powerplant to power up our DX25 grapics cards!:eek:
     
  20. Seany1212

    Seany1212

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    669 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    England, UK
    agreed on sooo many levels :toast: (to gfx manufactures: :slap:)
     
  21. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,925 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    US
    :laugh::laugh:
     
  22. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    If only they would listen to us and actually did create lower power requirements

    For Shame Nvidea:shadedshu and for Shame ATI/AMD:shadedshu

    More power means more connectors which means more space taken up on the graphics card which means less room to innovate. Im not sure but I do hope this is the 3000 series of cards from ATI/AMD since this will give them a head start on Nvidea since Nvidea wont be releasing their new series of cards until early 2008
     
  23. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    From what I've gathered...

    PCIe 2.0 slot = 150w.

    If a card has a greater demand, then a single 150w 8-pin connector will be present (they want to do away with the 6-pin for simplicity).

    I guess you can call it the "300w soft cap" - that hasn't changed (6-pin + 8-pin + PCIe = 300w). They're just shifting more of it to the motherboard (PCIe 2.0 + 8-pin = 300w).


    -edit-

    And these days we know that isn't true...
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2010
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,667 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,505
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Very true.....but my point is....300W is wwwwwwwaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyy too much!
     
  25. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    What's the talk about 300W?

    This thing is also PCIe 1.1a compliant so the cards' spec has an absolute max. power consumption of 150W.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page