1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE keeps crashing - VPU RECOVER

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Wutan, May 8, 2010.

  1. Wutan New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello all! This is my first post and i hope i'll get the needed help here.

    My specs first:

    CPU-Z

    Binaries
    CPU-Z version 1.54

    Processors
    Number of processors 1
    Number of threads 2

    APICs
    Processor 0
    -- Core 0
    -- Thread 0 0
    -- Core 1
    -- Thread 0 1

    Processors Information
    Processor 1 ID = 0
    Number of cores 2 (max 2)
    Number of threads 2 (max 2)
    Name Intel Core 2 Duo E8200
    Codename Wolfdale
    Specification Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8200 @ 2.66GHz
    Package (platform ID) Socket 775 LGA (0x0)
    CPUID 6.7.6
    Extended CPUID 6.17
    Core Stepping C0
    Technology 45 nm
    Core Speed 2719.9 MHz
    Multiplier x FSB 8.0 x 340.0 MHz
    Rated Bus speed 1360.0 MHz
    Stock frequency 2666 MHz
    Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, EM64T, VT-x
    L1 Data cache 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L1 Instruction cache 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L2 cache 6144 KBytes, 24-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    FID/VID Control yes
    FID range 6.0x - 8.0x
    Max VID 1.225 V

    TDP Limit 65 Watts



    Chipset
    Northbridge Intel P35/G33/G31 rev. A2
    Southbridge Intel 82801IR (ICH9R) rev. 02
    Graphic Interface PCI-Express
    PCI-E Link Width x16
    PCI-E Max Link Width x16
    Memory Type DDR2
    Memory Size 4096 MBytes
    Channels Dual, (Symmetric)
    Memory Frequency 340.0 MHz (1:1)
    CAS# latency (CL) 5.0
    RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 5
    RAS# Precharge (tRP) 5
    Cycle Time (tRAS) 15
    Row Refresh Cycle Time (tRFC) 38
    Command Rate (CR) 2T

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1173293

    GRAPHICS CARD:
    http://www.shrani.si/?3P/hv/ClfjyEE/ati.gif


    My problem is next:

    Nonstop i receive a message from the ATI control panel (specifically from VPU recover) that my graphics accelerator has stopped responding.

    What i have tried:

    Removing my RAM's and (have 3) using only 1 at a time - DIDN'T WORK

    Reinstalling Windows (XP) - DIDN'T WORK - tried it 2x

    My PSU is strong enough - NOT THE PROBLEM

    Took it to a computer repair shop (he said he fixed it) - DIDN'T WORK - same problem

    Updated all possible drivers - tried driver only, tried with the control panel, tried Omega drivers, updated all Windows needed drivers (used software made for that specific purpose)

    Tried powering the graphics card with 2 different cables that are needed to power it - DIDN'T WORK

    The BIOS in the graphics card is probably ok (not an expert) - Sapphire started selling my graphics card with a faulty BIOS - checked it (a i said probably not an expert - probably not a problem as my BIOS and the wrong ones don't match).


    SO PLEASE HELP ME!

    If you need any more information please say.

    P.S.: Could it be because it's GDDR5?
    The only thing i didn't try, because i couldn't find the driver is for the PCI-to-PCI bridge driver (it's supposed to be included in the intel chipset drivers package, installed it - still Driver Checker said it's not installed.)

    Thank you for any help given. :respect::respect::respect::respect:
     
  2. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    You have to disable vpu recover from CCC
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    VPU Recovery was a technique developed back in 2004 for older video cards, It really didn't work well at all and should be disabled. Its sensitive to code errors from games etc, turning it off should fix crashes
     
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Here

    [​IMG]
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,662 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,055
    The PCI to PCI bridge driver can be found on your driver CD. Go to the device manager, find it, right click on it and make it update the driver from the CD.
     
    Wutan says thanks.
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    I Had this same exact problem with a Asus P4S8X and a Radeon 9700 Pro, I couldn't figure out for the life of me why my machine kept crashing so i RMAd the video card just to find same problems, Later On I moved to AMD and Low and behold it was the motherboard being a POS.

    Took this just to get stable with the Asus board
    Beta Bios Installed (Never went final)
    Video Cache mode change to UC or USWC (Cant remember now)
    Latest Drivers from SIS
    Catalyst 3.8-4.0
    Disable WIndows Automatic Restarts
    Disable VPU Recovery

    This is what I had to do with the MSI K7N2 Delta-L

    Install video card,
    install drivers
    Play games.

    Worked right out of the box with the MSI K7N2 Delta-L

    Also people had the same problems with the Asus P4G8X. I don't trust asus.
     
  7. Wutan New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I disabled VPU RECOVER - in my case being turned on it did help - very little , but still when turned off my computer froze up, where as before when VPU would be turned on it would just reset the driver and give the error message. The same would be if the ATI CCC was not installed (only driver) - the desktop froze and you can't do anything until you reset it.

    ONE THING I DID NOTICE !!! : when lowering hardware acceleration in the Display properties everything works fine, except that games and videos don't work in this state, so it's a partial solution.

    And forgot to mention that i tried my older graphics card (Geforce 8800 GTS) before to exclude Motherboard being to blame - worked fine

    HERE'S HOW THE ATI OVERDRIVE SETTINGS LOOK IF YOU NEED THEM
    http://www.shrani.si/?1s/x2/1wGo7DLl/untitled.png
     
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    well if you tried your old card it sounds like you didnt remove the previous graphics card drivers properly.
     
  9. Wutan New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @eidairaman1 I tried the previous graphics card today, been fixing this problem for the last week now (before it was all a clean install), so there was no driver conflict - i tried the previous graphics card just to say to myself that i tried everyting possible, and still nothing :banghead:
     
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    where is your powersupply at?
     
  11. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Wutan says thanks.
  12. Wutan New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My power supply is LC6550GP. My graphics card is supposed to have enough watts, 550 i think, but the individual power requirements, amperage and all that might be different.

    If this doesn't work i'll install Win7 if all else fails.
     
  13. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    :laugh:
     
  14. blackbird307 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Funny thing is, I remember having my old x1050 having vpu errors. For some reason my the latest ati drivers would give me VPU errors. So I just went to the drivers provided on disk.


    :roll:
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    Newer drivers for that Card are not going to be any beneficial as that is not a gaming board.

    Btw Radeon X1950 Pro Beats out 2600, 8600, and 3650.
     
  16. Wutan New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Guys thank you for your help, but i'm not going to bother with this anymore. I'm going to assume that despite being 2 weeks old that the graphics card itself is faulty.

    Thanks anyway.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page