1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATITool 0.0.22 Bugs

Discussion in 'ATITool' started by W1zzard, Aug 31, 2004.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
  2. dkdgbroyles New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When I scan for artifacts,there is none. But when I try to find max cor/mem it finds artifacts at the start and clocks down. My card is 9600xt 500/600, brand : rosewill, using cat 4.8.Same thing happened with omega drivers.On the 21 version the same thing happened but I would get artifacts on the scan also.
  3. armagedon Guest

    kernel driver not running ???

    Just tried .22 but just after installation and upon all Atitool start, i get the error message :

    "The kernel driver does not seems to be running...bla bla"

    Atitools does not recognise my card. Alright back to .20.

    Win2k SP4
    Radeon 9800Pro ATI
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    armageddon: did you try uninstalling, rebooting, installing ?
  5. supreme Guest

    GREAT JOB !!! The only things I presume to be a bug is about temperature.
    I have a Sapphire 9800 Pro 256MB (by ARLT) and how you can see http://sandokan.altervista.org/atibug.jpg the temperature is going down form 69° to 20° when I start Show 3D View.
    By the way I live in Stuttgart..spitze!!! :D
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    supreme: i thought this was fixed .. is it always 20° as soon as the card is loaded with 3d stuff or just sometimes?
  7. supreme Guest

    As you see I was put the card lower in the core and mem because I have always in idle 76°;
    when I play 3D games I go fastly to 87°. With the value I have put I have in idle 69° that are going up to 75° playing games.The 20° I have always at any frequency when I begin 3D in version 0.0.22 (after 1 minute), was not with the 0.0.21. :confused:
    Here you can see my card: http://sandokan.altervista.org/sapphire.jpg
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2004
  8. Vigilante New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm still getting an occaisional problem with installing, with the the atihooks.dll error message. It happened twice with .22 betas and then again with the .22 official. Each time I closed ATITool from the systray and selected the repair option while installing. I've taken to just uninstalling each time and then installing the new version. So far, so good that way. I can't replicate this problem consistently. I don't know if this is an ATITool problem or a service pack 2 problem, as I've been having some weird issues with it as well.

    Another problem I've been getting inconsistently, but not usually, since the last couple .22 betas and again with the release, is with the find max core/mem tests. It seems to be finding artifacts at speeds which should be easily artifact-free. For example, I had it first find artifacts at around 384 on the core, stopped the test, restarted and it ran artifact-free up untill about 418 before finding artifacts. This has happened several times during my tests, but not consistently. The problem seems to occur usually right when coming out of a heat-up phase.

    Junk log entries being created is back in the .22 release as well. A small example:

    2004-09-01 03:33:49 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:33:51 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:33:53 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:33:55 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:33:57 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:33:59 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:01 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:03 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:05 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:07 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:09 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:11 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:13 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:15 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:17 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:19 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:21 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00
    2004-09-01 03:34:23 Clock set to: 0.00 / 0.00

    And also:
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:16 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:17 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:17 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:17 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:17 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
    2004-09-01 01:20:17 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:54:00
  9. acrowley23 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    78 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    with final 0.22 and Scanning for Artifacts entrys in LogFile, there isn't a correct Time running.....
    I become only Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00...at every Time....
    The clock and Date on the Left is runnig already, but Scan for Artifacts is standing on 0 sec. ! The wohle Log down.... that isn't a correct run ,isn´t ist ?....with older Versions there is a correct Log entry....

    small sample:
    2004-09-01 19:01:29 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
    2004-09-01 19:01:29 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
    2004-09-01 19:01:29 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
    2004-09-01 19:01:30 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
    2004-09-01 19:01:30 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
    2004-09-01 19:01:30 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
    2004-09-01 19:01:30 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
    2004-09-01 19:01:30 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
  10. armagedon Guest

    sadly yes. I reboot after to see and samething again. Reinstall .20, run fine immediately.

    That's funny as we spend sometime you and me a while ago to debug .22.
    The last unfinished version you gave me run without that problem.

    Zstrange...
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    armagedon: install and run debugview (google) and let it run while instlaling atitool, install 0.0.22 .. should give you a bunch of debugging messages .. can you get back to me with those?
  12. Qix Guest

    Hi there W1zzard, thanks for the software! Really Rocks!

    Only problem here is that after every reboot Ati Tool stops sending MBM infos about the GPU temps!

    I had this problem with the early builds of Ati Tool 0.0.22, than the problem disappeared with one of the latest build, but now with the final version the prob happened again!

    Powercolor X800 Pro VIVO @XT, MBM version 5.3.5.1, DNA 2848a, ATi Tool 0.0.22 final

    Sorry for my english!
    Thanks in advance!
  13. Qix Guest

    Just updated to latest version of MBM (5.3.7.0) Same problem :(
  14. armagedon Guest

    W1zzard, i am not sure what you mean.
    debugview (google) ? what's that ?
  15. veryhumid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  16. tomati New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi W1zzard ,

    First of all , thanks for your great job,

    so I try 0.22 with an 9800pro 128mo (xt pcb /lm 63) flashed to xt , I have also the temp bug "20°" after I used the check for high frequence for core so I get back to 0.21 & I never have it again.
  17. armagedon Guest

    woops, i guess i was slow that day... anyway here's the output after install and running :

    00000000 0.00000000 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): Compiled at 10:02:17 on Aug 31 2004
    00000001 0.00002766 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): ATIToolSys loading.. searching for devices..
    00000002 0.00049839 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): found ati device: 0x1002 0x4E48
    00000003 0.00050789 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): Device found: bus 2. dev 0.
    00000004 0.00051962 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): device fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE5000000.
    00000005 0.00052968 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): mmapped mmr to 0xEB800000
    00000006 0.00053890 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): BIOS at 0xC0000
    00000007 0.00054811 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): mmapped bios to 0xB3A97000
    00000008 0.00201702 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): LM63 temp chip detection failed 0x0
    00000009 0.00348368 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): ASUS temp chip detection failed 0x0
    00000010 0.00349123 Detected Temp. Chip: None
    00000011 0.00349989 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): device initialized successfully
    00000012 6.27781715 [920] Hook checking process: atitool.exe
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    The error message is again :
    "The kernel mode driver does not seems to be running.
    A device driver is required for communication with the video hardware."

    Gee i can't believe that i'm the only one with that error ???

    Win2KPro sp4
    Radeon 9800Pro
    Cat 4.8
  18. armagedon Guest

  19. Cynips New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No, it has happened to me too. And it was preceeded by a terrifying experince where I thought my x800 pro was broken...
  20. dkdgbroyles New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is my problem a bug? My 9600xt w/ ati tool can't find max core/mem and it only clocks down? When I only scan for arifacts it doesn't find artifacts but does when trying to find max core/mem.
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2004
  21. Ruisbak Guest

    Same problem here. :eek:
    Never seen this before with older releases.
    Downgrading over here.
  22. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    ruisback: can you check what debugview (linked here a few posts above) shows for you?
  23. Ruisbak Guest

    This is weird :confused:

    I installed v0.0.21 and no problem, for your request I uninstalled it and installed v0.0.22 again.
    Guess what... Running fine with no errors. :(

    The debug gives me:

    00000000 0.00000000 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): Compiled at 10:02:17 on Aug 31 2004
    00000001 0.00002803 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): ATIToolSys loading.. searching for devices..
    00000002 0.00025990 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): found ati device: 0x1002 0x4E48
    00000003 0.00026533 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): Device found: bus 1. dev 0.
    00000004 0.00027309 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): device fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xFE8F0000.
    00000005 0.00027957 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): mmapped mmr to 0xEB7B0000
    00000006 0.00028484 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): BIOS at 0xC0000
    00000007 0.00029048 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): mmapped bios to 0xAE834000
    00000008 0.00116623 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): LM63 temp chip detection failed 0x0
    00000009 0.00199407 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): ASUS temp chip detection failed 0x0
    00000010 0.00199746 Detected Temp. Chip: None
    00000011 0.00200199 ATITOOLSYS(IRQL 00): device initialized successfully
    00000012 13.69383653 [660] Hook checking process: atitool.exe
    00000013 23.79524589 [660] D3DX: (INFO) Using SSE2 Instructions
    00000014 24.14144176 [660] Miss rate before optimization: 1.058824
    00000015 24.14193597 [660] Miss rate after optimization: 1.000000
    00000016 24.14230692 [660] D3DX: The system cannot find the path specified.
    00000017 24.14230692 [660]
    00000018 24.14267004 [660] D3DX: The system cannot find the path specified.
    00000019 24.14267004 [660]
    00000020 24.14289471 [660] D3DX: The system cannot find the path specified.
    00000021 24.14289471 [660]

    But I think it's of no help at this time.

    The funny D3DX message appears when I press "Show 3D View" but everything is OK now. :)

    Edit: Running W2K SP4 + Club3D Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB with arctic VGA silencer Rev. 3 + Catalyst 8.05-040727a-017086E-ATI
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 11, 2004
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    looks all good to me ... the d3dx messages are normal
  25. Ruisbak Guest

    Thanks.
    When installing future update I will watch over it with debugview.
    Hope to give you some better info about this bug. (Because it did happen.)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page