1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

atitool memory clock speeds???

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by gaminfool, May 18, 2005.

  1. gaminfool New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    va
    ok I am a old fart with a love for gaming I just got my first computer about 1 1/2 yrs ago I started piddling around a bit and wound up building one for my wife loved it so much I find an excuse to build one every chance i get, I just started recently getting to learn what I need to do to make mine a real gamer, so of course I had to check out overclocking I started out with a celeron 2.7 and a ati 9550se with a p4sfx55+ asrock mobo and a gig og ddr pc2700 naturally the first thing I did was get rid of the celeron and went to the pentium 4 prescott 800fsb 1 mb cache then I had to get a thermalake spark 7 to deal with heat issues I really formed the opinion that my card {ati 9550 } was not a gamers card I tried oc ing it and not having a fan on it , well it just would overheat and crash the aTI TOOL READS IT AS HAVING 250/CORE AND 200/MEM i JUST LEARNED TODAY THAT IT IS REALLY 400 MEM SPEED due to the DDR thing. I just got a 9600pro 256mb not a great card but better than what i got it will hold me over for about 6 months till the next gen of ATI cards come out they say it is a very good card to overclock with a default of 400/400. will the ATITOOL read this card like the 9550 memspeed?
    it will read 400 core and 200 mem right? so if I want to overclock it 'lets say 500/500 it will read 500/250 right? if any of you OC'n pro's have any pointers to help me out please tell me.
    everything I have learned I have read and done the trial and error method that can get mighty expensive when a dumb A$$ like me trys to teach himself, I think to learn about OCing that this is the place so if dont mind you'll probably see me quite a bit

    THX GAMINFOOL
     
  2. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    If you wanted to get a 500MHz mem effective it will show as 250MHz. Any card with DDR mem will show the true clock of the mem. But it runs at twice the speed. If you get something like Everest 2, and you go to GPU it will show you all that fun stuff, like oc percentage, speeds, ect. Hope it was a help. O and one more thing when you get your oc that you want run scan for 15mins. If you get no errors your good to go.

    -Dan
     
  3. gaminfool New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    va
    thx for the pointers is everest 2 a progam I can download?
     
  4. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    :D ----> google.de---> everst systemanalyse--->download :D
     
  5. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    You can get in from techpowers main site aswell.

    -Dan
     
  6. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    but be more presize and ask i think we cann tell you best parts for ocing and so on atm if you want to?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page