1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Attaching 2 monitors to the same video card - need advice please.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Black Panther, Dec 29, 2007.

1. Black Panther

Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    Firstly apologies if this is a super-n00b question, but it's something I've never done before, because I didn't think I'd be needing it.

Now I know that I can attach 2 monitors on my GT. It's got 2 DVI outputs. However, before I go into the trouble of doing it I would like to know if I'd be getting the expected results.

The thing is that originally I had my old pc... which I gave to my 5 year old daughter when I assembled the new one... then we bought an apartment - which missed a pc so I took the old pc there.... and I share it with my kid. Now the kid (rightfully) expects that since she shares 'her' pc with me in one place.... I should 'share' my rig :)cry:) with her at home.... (is there a bigger crying emoticon somewhere?!?)

Anyway what I wanted to get is having both me and my kid using the same rig. It'd be advantageous because I could keep a half-eye on her making sure she doesn't mess up anything I have.

However what I wanted to ask before I go into the trouble of carrying a heavy CRT from my dad's place is:

What would be the result when I connect both monitors?

I do not want to have the same screen stretched out on 2 monitors. Apart from the fact that it would look terribly funny stretched on the right on a 19"LCD and on the left on a 17"CRT, but what I want really is that my daughter and I can access different stuff at the same time.

I'm not looking into games as such, but would it be possible with such a setup for... for example my daughter browsing the internet on her sites while I can browse the net on my sites?

Another thing.... what about mouse and keyboard input?