1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATX voltage tolerances

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by silkstone, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Hi guys,

    I'm running extenders from my power supply to my Mobo and Video card. I'm a little concerned about the voltage drops I am seeing. When i put my cpu at load i'm getting 11.46v on the +12v line and 11.6v on the video cards 12v line.

    These are (just) within the +/- 5% specs of atx, but not by much. Should I be worried at all?
     
  2. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    I wouldn't worry about it. Your hard drive is going to be the most sensitive to this kind of stuff.
     
    silkstone says thanks.
  3. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,434 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Louisiana
    It's relatively common to see some variance in the voltages either higher or lower, within a few percentage points. Usually becomes more common the older a PSU gets. But if things are operating fine, those variances of yours don't bother me.
     
    silkstone says thanks.
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,456 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's an issue if it's because your PSU is aging or struggling. Using a thicker gauge wire for the extender would minimize resistance and voltage drop.

    Are you using a multimeter to check the voltage? Onboard sensors don't always produce accurate results.
     
  5. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Just the on-board sensors, I don't have a digital MM and I'm not sure I could safely measure the voltages at the same time as stress testing the CPU. I know they are not 100% accurate, I may have to see what voltages get without the extenders, It just means I'll have to do my cable management all over again :(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page