1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AutoCAD on a laptop

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Verikon, Jul 16, 2007.

1. Verikon

Verikon New Member

Thanks Received:
    A client of mine is looking to get a new laptop. He does quite a bit of CAD on it, and wants to spend around $1000.

We looked at a few models on Dell's website, and we came out with a 1.8GHz C2D, 512MB or DDR2 (I'm just going to order 2GB of RAM from NewEgg for him), and an 8600GT GPU. My question is, will that GPU give any acceleration/performance benefits for him? I've looked up on the CAD support sites and they say that most gaming cards are "supported, but not recommended". Would the money be better spent getting a fast CPU and a faster HDD?

I have no experience with CAD, and only assume that a decent GeForce GPU would help. Does anyone have any advice? What should I be looking for - obviously a FireGL or a Quadro would be best, but I can't find a laptop with one for under $1200 - to maximize performance?

Any advice would help.

2. theonetruewill New Member

Thanks Received:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    For CAD- the essentials are lots of RAM and a fast CPU. However I've always found they work well with good GPU's. For example with the CAD work I do on my laptop it's faster than on my mate's which lacks the X600 gfx. Howver if he can afford the slightly faster CPU stretch to it- it's worth it. This is coming from someone who always likes the best value parts, not the brand names with hefty premium so please belive me on this.

3. Verikon

Verikon New Member

Thanks Received:
    His options are 1.6GHz, 2MB L2 C2Duo, with the 8600M GT. Or a 2.0GHz 4MB L2 C2Duo if he drops the 8600GT and gets a 8400M GS. Which will be the better build?

Also, with 2GB of RAM, will having a 7200RPM drive help with CAD? I don't know how often the HDD is paged when you're uhh... CADing.