1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AutoCAD Problem

Discussion in 'General Software' started by OrbitzXT, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    I'm using AutoCAD 2011 and completely out of the blue it's behaving quite strangely and I can't figure out what to do about it. When I open AutoCAD, whether through the shortcut or double clicking a drawing, the bar along the top does not appear (Home, View, Insert, etc). Also when I click the AutoCad "A" in the top left that normally brings up the menu, it does nothing. I cannot even move the program window around, and when I right click it on the taskbar Close is grayed out.

    I tried the repair option in Add/Remove Programs (Using XP 32-bit), but that did not do anything. I'll attempt to reinstall it now and see if that helps but if it doesn't I'm at a loss. Any thoughts on what caused this so I can avoid it in the future? Or is there any fix?
     
  2. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    I've completely reinstalled and am still having this problem. Any ideas?
     
  3. JD15

    JD15 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Woodward, OK
    You might try running the CUI command, and if there aren't any workspaces listed, right click ACAD and click Restore ACAD.CUIX. If the workspaces show up, right click any of them and click Set Current. You might try the RIBBON command if that doesn't work. I ran into a similar problem with AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010.
     
  4. gvblake22

    gvblake22

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    366 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    You could also try updating the video card driver. Programs like AutoCAD and Photoshop can be very sensitive to stuff like that.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page