1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Awful WC temperatures

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by pantherx12, Jul 1, 2012.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Having a real crappy time at the moment using this set up.

    FX8120
    EK surpreme
    Thermaltake 500lph pump ( comes with big water kits and lcs kits)
    thermaltake resovoir
    Thermaltake double radiator ( not sure what this is made from came with the lcs)
    3/8 tubing ( I know 1/2 is better but AIO wc manage with smaller tubing)


    At 4ghz 1.3150 volts I hit 50c with intelburn test, at 1.4650 and 4.5ghz temperatures can reach cut off points!

    Mostly stays at 58 but occasionally will just suddenly jump to 72 ( and if I don't shut down fast enough it will get to cut off temp)


    Any ideas? Or do I just need to upgrade something?

    Really frustrating as I just sold a Big water 760 plus I had and a thermal right silver arrow!
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012
  2. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    the 8150's are voltage hungry and hott running
    the temps that you listed are what I would expect to see with you're loop
    get a better RAD like a 240mm or some higher static pressure fans ...
    you can try the old reapplying thermal paste and resenting but I think that's as good as you are gonna get from either live with 4@1.3 or change the rad
    a few min at 72c isn't gonna kill it AMD's specs are all over the place no one really knows what there really rated for AMD says 61c but somehow I think that's a arbitrary number and hasn't been really tested
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  3. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Got everything in your bios set right?
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Thank you for the suggestions
    I have a 240 rad and I have two high pressure fans : ]
    You see the problem this set up should be better than a silver arrow, but it's no where even close to match it. Let alone beating it.
    Yeah everything is fine bios wise.



    *edit* After accidentally ripping my cpu from the socket ( Arctic silver ceramic is to sticky!) and scraping of some access tim temps are much better!

    @4ghz 30c underload :D huzzah!


    Either my cpu has degraded overtime or latest bios for my board is crappy. need 1.472 volts for 4.5ghz stable but temperatures hit 62 c ( don't go over though) So at this point I'm matching my old silver arrow.

    Maybe this rad is made of aluminium.

    Reckon another radiator is worth a try?
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012
  5. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO boy ceramic`e is GLUE its semi-permanent once it harder's completely
    use something like MX4
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    O rly? Well balls! I'll clean it tomorrow and use some generic grey gloop :laugh:

    I thought ceramic was just the non conductive paste Arctic silver make.
  7. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    well more correctly its not classified as a glue but it gets mighty hard when it sets up
    MX4 is also currently at least in my book the best non-conductive paste you can get
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  8. XNine

    XNine CaseLabs Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    256 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    I use PK1 Nano. Stuff is like... a very fluid putty, and it cleans off well too. I've never had an issue with temps using PK1 Nano either.
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  9. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I used to use tuniq but I can never find any for sale when I am buying paste. I use mx-4 instead now. Its good stuff. In reviews I have read tuniq and mx-2/4 got the best temps.
    pantherx12 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Okay I've changed pastes, temperatures are still fairly damn toasty.

    Didn't leave it to run because I'll crash for other reasons but @4.5 1.42v hit about 51 before it's even finished one run.

    At the moment I have the air from the radiator blowing into the case ( 2 fans) about 120cfm total before they have to push through the rad) then I have about 90-100 cfm being pulled out the back and the case has a mesh roof to allow excess air to escape.

    How ever I was wondering if this i the optimal set up.

    this is the case I'm using http://techgage.com/article/thermaltake_armor_lcs_ve2000bws/
  11. Yin

    Yin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    542 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    I would have the radiators on the out side of the case.

    Also can you do some basic checks, find out which one gets hot first the cpu or the radiator. If radiator, you need a better one or more. If CPU and radiator remains cool. You need to move the heat away from the cpu faster. Pump upgrade.
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  12. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,587 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    so i guess the paste is not the problem
    how long you use the rads?
    have you tried flushing the rad before, just to make sure that it flows well
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  13. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Do you mean by touching the block and touching the radiator?

    If so neither get hot at all. So it's the pump that's no good? ( or in a bad position) at the moment it's on the floor pumping water UP to the CPU block.



    Asides from blowing through it to clear the last lot of fluid that was in it I've not flushed it ( but air/liquid came flying out so I imagine rad is clear, block is definitely clear I done that with a tooth brush :laugh:)


    Thanks for assistance guys. It's really annoying to put so much money into something and it not be better than what you were using :laugh: ( like when I went from a 1055t to an fx8120!)
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    How much compound are you using? High temps could be attributed to using too much paste, because those temps are kind of high for WC at those voltages imho. Is your radiator getting toasty? Have pictures with how you have it setup? It might help to know how you're loop is routed.
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hmm I have a spare loop lying around I was going to try and sell for like $50 but seeing as how your such an awesome guy (heh heh) maybe I'll just send it to you.

    The block is an Apogee GTZ though and idk about mounting for that socket. Not sure I have everything it came with anymore either...

    Edit: At the very least I have a pump I can give you. IDK about that TT crap.
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I'm using a small amount of compound just enough for a thin layer.

    The radiator doesn't get warm as far as I can tell.

    But I'll leave intelburnin going for ten minutes ( if I don't crash ) and report back.

    also picture [​IMG]

    Rad is tucked away in the 5.25 area.

    Got a gentle typhoon 1850 and some 1600rpm 120x38 delta type fan.


    That would be awesome man! after I got my current pump sold I'd give you the money from the sale.
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Nah...you would have to pay shipping across the pond, so...

    I have an old Danger Den CPX Pro but also have an extra XSPC combo pump/bay reservoir, extra being because somehow this one was machined slightly too wide to fit in a standard 5.25" bay (XSPC sent me another one, said to send this one back but didn't offer a shipping label and I kept putting it off and after awhile just kept it as never heard back).

    This rad is a Swiftech MCR-220 some beat up fins but still decent shape.
  18. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Well I've got pennies at the moment so just let me know, thanks man:toast:
  19. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    835 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    if its just a single 120mm radiator, those are actually pretty good temps!
  20. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    TT pump.... I had one of those and with 2x 120mm rads and 4 enermax magma fans my 965 at 4ghz was hotter than it was with my Xigmatek Dark Knight, try Wrigleys pump see how it does. its worth a shot at least
  21. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    You mean for these CPUs?


    I know. :) :toast:
  22. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,114 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,125
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  23. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Stand back! He's doing science!
  24. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,114 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,125
    Lets not be hasty.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  25. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    looks like 1.7 Gallons Per HOUR with his setup if i did it right.... thats really low lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page