1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Awfully high VDDC temperature.

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by chickennoob, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. chickennoob

    chickennoob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I used GPU-Z to manage my VGA temp once and after first loop of 3Dmark 06, I realized something went wrong. The three VDDC phases temp reached 127*C (Also is max temp) suddenly, no matter what I try to cool them down, they still reach this terrible range of temp. I put a fan blow directly to these three, nothing changed, used a full-block cover, still 127*C. I googled and found some people who has the same problem as mine, and they all said their VGA died completely after 2 or 3 weeks get along with these VDDC temp :confused: what can I do now? I don't have enough money to bury my VGA at the moment :respect:
    By the way, my VDDC temp at Idle is 49 50 50.
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,684 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    US
    You tried cleaning the dust out of the cooler ?. You maybe looking at RMA if it's not overclocked.
    chickennoob says thanks.
  3. chickennoob

    chickennoob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I tried, but it didn't work. Will my VGA damaged with those temp?
    And what do you mean by saying about overclocking? I think VGA voltage will never change without volt mod, the voltage that goes through VDDC should always be the same >>> Produce the same temperature. Am I right?
  4. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    The more you over clock the hotter they will get, as more amperage needs to be pushed through them to keep core(s) happy.

    High VRM temps is not good and it will break your card, but 127C is not the max. FurMark has some sort of bug that causes VRM temps to pop up to 127C (always). I get those spikes too and whole different card. (140C is max rated temp for my cards VRMs, don't know what sort of is in that one, but that's not saying that 127C is safe)

    Maybe it's just producing the bug constantly? Dunno, but the temps can't stop at 127C and no way are they identical to every phase, you should see some variation on the hot end too like you see in idle temps.
    chickennoob says thanks.
  5. chickennoob

    chickennoob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Oh, I was wrong. I tried to put the clock back to stock and the VDDC phase now 68 127 80 at PCB#1 and 86 127 86 at PCB#2 at Full load (3dmark Vantage + Crysis very high for 15mins). I wonder why it's 127*. Is it possible that GPU-Z is reading the wrong temp? Could my temp raise higher and GPU-Z just can't realize it? Is there anyone has same crazy temp as me? 127 constantly :banghead:
  6. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Use a different app to check the temps ?
    chickennoob says thanks.
  7. chickennoob

    chickennoob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Is there any application similar to GPU-Z? I have some other but they just be able to read Core temp.
  8. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    chickennoob says thanks.
  9. chickennoob

    chickennoob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I have been using HW Monitor for quite a long time and it's just read my Core temp.
  10. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Then maybe Rivatuner with the apropriate tweaks and plug-ins?
    chickennoob says thanks.
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    it's possible that 127° is the maximum the sensor can write into the temperature register (7-bits)
    chickennoob says thanks.
  12. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Outch, that sounds smoky!
    chickennoob says thanks.
  13. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    I think speedfan but I`m not sure.
    chickennoob says thanks.
  14. chickennoob

    chickennoob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I have no idea, but 127* is the highest temp that my VDDC *always* reach after half an hour of gaming. Just play GTAIV for 30 mins and 127* for all three VDDC. (Stock clock)
  15. chickennoob

    chickennoob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I don't mean to spam, but I have to ask again. Is this temp really dangerous. After look back carefully, I think my VDDC temp is not stuck at 127*C all the time, it's just reach those temp at some short moments and then goes back to normal immediately, just up and down rapidly. The graph in the ss below will describe clearly:
    [​IMG]
    The SS has been taken after 1 hour shoot and run inside CODMW2. 127 is maximum value, but it doesn't look like a long-term value.
  16. NoToXxiCc

    NoToXxiCc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    RMA it, there is definetely something wrong with that card. 127 degrees is just ABSURD!:eek:
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    this looks like a sensor reading error. do you have multiple programs running that monitor the graphics card?
  18. chickennoob

    chickennoob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yes, Hardware Monitor and GPU-Z, GPU-tool (Just recent value, not maximum, minimum available).
    PS: I never ever experienced any Crashing or Freezing while gaming at all, but when I touch the VDDC after full load, it's really hot.
  19. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    I'd concentrate on the current values and leave the max spikes be. Seems your VRMs aren't even close to the 127, more like half that. Average would get you more realistic values with long test.

    Anyhow you'd see the temp rise to 127C in furmark with 10-15min or so if it was ever going to rise there.
    chickennoob says thanks.
  20. extrasalty

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    When you run more than one monitoring tool I think there's always the risk of incorrect readings. Those spikes are the result of that. Your temps look perfectly fine, but if you need to double-check them, go to AutoZone (or decent auto parts store) and get a IR digital thermometer. I got mine for $20. My model goes to 370C(700F) as opposed to cheap key-chain thermometers that will do 70C (160F). It has a laser pointer too.
    My GTX260 VRMs are around 60C during folding on the back of PCB, while the heat sink on my mobo northbridge and NF200 chip hits 80C with a fan 90-95 without.
    chickennoob says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page