1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Axle Radeon HD 5670 1024 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,560 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,109
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2010
    CounterZeus says thanks.
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    nice review as always:D

    but uhm, the reference doesnt require a 6pin does it, i cant see it does in any article:confused:
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,195 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Looks like a decent card from a Manufacturer I have never heard of Until now
     
  4. christian27

    christian27 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Lima,PE
    Nice review, I didn't know that the HD 5600's series needed a six-pin power connector.
     
  5. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    All this means is that this card use cheaper components than the reference card :shadedshu
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2010
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,560 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,109
    oh you guys are right abotu the power connector, my bad, fixed the article
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,600 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,926
    Do you need to have the power connector plugged in at all? Looking at the power draw (even lower then ref in idle and max) there's no reason for it.
     
  8. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    Yes u do since despite the card consuming very little power,th epower is delivered from the back of teh card,thus the use of 6pin.It seems it could go with mobo power only but for some reason axle left the power circuitry near the dvi-vga empty..??:confused:
     
    Frick says thanks.
  9. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I think they're a Europe only vendor
     
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i havent seen them in Denmark, but then again, denmark sucks when it comes to different hardware brands
     
  11. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Nope, Axle is a Chinese vendor. ;)
    Their HQ is based in HK.
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,466 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,402
    No, it means they added the connector for show, because power consumption was actually better, meaning better components.:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Better power consumption can come in a few different ways.
    It can be due to better board design, but it can also be due to better cooling.
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,195 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    additional power connector could be for overclocking
     
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i would rather have the msi cyclone edition if it was for oc'ing
     
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,195 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    MSI certainly gets a poorish rating when it comes to cards and motherboards
     
  17. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,581 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Seems oddly timed if this card is a new release, aren't these about to be updated to 640 shaders?
     
  18. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Newer game titles please.
     
    wahdangun says thanks.
  19. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    hmm Axle in my country was uber cheapo brand, and every card that have axle brand in it feel very cheap and have questionable quality.
     
  20. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,560 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,109
    had no issues with quality, card felt just as solid as any other card
     
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,001 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,467
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Is the price really 119$ for this card? you could buy a decent use 5770 for around 125$

    I dont see were the price and performance meet the need

    BTW!!!! GREAT REVIEW WIZZ!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,466 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,402
    Used being the important word there. Prices for new graphics cards aren't dictated by what used cards go for, that would just be stupid.

    $120 is about the middle of where the 1GB HD5670 cards go for new, so I don't see a problem with the price.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,280 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    Home
    True that used should not be compared with new, but any one not crazy will go for used 5770 rather than new 5670.
     
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,466 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,402
    A lot of people, including myself, don't like to buy some things used. I specifically never buy used video cards, because I want the warranty that comes with the new card, it is worth the extra $20-30.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,195 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    some companies warranties are transferable.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page