1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Backing up a ps3?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by stevednmc, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
  2. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    yes that should work, I think the PS3 uses a linux based file format (not ntfs or fat32) but with the right software you could clone the disk/image it.

    you're better off connecting it internally though as far as speed goes, but if you don't mind the wait, yes that will work

    Here's one that's $5 less and cheaper shipping

    VANTEC CB-ISATAU2 SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter

    I have this one and it works great! haven't used it for a ps3, but a hard drive is a hard drive. the only thing is the file format structure and if you can get a program to read the files/clone the drive
  3. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    I dont mind the wait. I think all i have to do would be to plug into the front usb and plug the other end into the sata drive that i want to install, go to the os in the ps3 and select back up drive or tranfer files or something like that. Ive never done this with a ps3 either

    I saw that one on the egg too!
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Use the PS3's Backup utility found @ [Settings]>[System Settings]>[Backup Utility]>Back Up. Make sure you use a HDD with just as much storage as your ps3. It has to be fat32 formatted. :)
  5. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Just as much or more right? moving from a 60 gig to 320. Can i format it through the usb port via the ps3's OS?


    And if not how would i go about formatting in fat32?
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Drive A = 60GB
    Drive B = 320GB

    Do this. This is assuming you have 60GB free (lowest denominator) on your PC currently.

    1. Format drive B to FAT32 on PC.
    2. Backup your drive A to drive B over USB using PS3 [Settings]>[System Settings]>[Backup Utility]>Backup.
    3. Transfer all files/folders from drive B to a safe place on your PC.
    4. Swap drives in the PS3, drive A is now external, drive B is in PS3.
    5. Allow PS3 to format drive B. While this is taking place see Step 6.
    6. Format drive A to FAT32.
    7. Transfer the files you saved (See step 3) from your PC over to drive A.
    8. Connect drive A over USB to your PS3
    8. Do a restore using the PS3 utility [Settings]>[System Settings]>[Backup Utility]>Restore.
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2011
  7. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Wouldnt it erase the files on drive B if i do a restore on it after i back the files up to it? And the Drive A should be fat 32 as it is the one already in the ps3 right. Ill have to research formatting using fat 32, not sure how or where to find the option to do so..im such a newbie, please bear with me if my questions seem lame..lol
  8. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Ok, so in step 8, would i then be doing a restore from drive A to drive B?
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Go to 'My Computer'
    http://img.techpowerup.org/110127/Capture035.jpg

    Right click the drive
    http://img.techpowerup.org/110127/Capture036.jpg


    No drive A will not be already in fat32.
    Unsure what you mean? Read 5. Allow PS3 to format drive B. While this is taking place see Step 6.

    Also see above, I revised a step.

    That is correct.

    @mods

    No don't adjust your eyes, he did not double post. I was doing major editing and deleting of my own posts. :)
    stevednmc says thanks.
  10. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Thanks for that, it confused me for a second too!


    That makes alot more sense to me now, your hand holding is greatly appreciated!
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh it's not a problem man. Just wish I was there. I would just do it for you. Oh also so you know; I am pretty sure (95%)the PS3's filesystem is ext2, commonly used with linux based OS distros.
  12. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Nah, then i wouldnt learn!
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2011
  13. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska

    Hence all the formatting i suppose
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well not only that, you can only use the backup/restore with fat32 drives anyways. Also makes sure you got a good clean backup ;).
  15. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Because the fat32 is more compatible with the linux format maybe? more than say NTFS?
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Possibly, couldn't really state y/n to that.
  17. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    btw.. on drives larger than 32gb windows may force to to select NTFS so you may need a 3rd party program. I just looked and i had an option between NTFS and exFAT. I don't think exFAT is that same as FAT32?

    EDIT: THIS should help with that

    other than that, do what Jr said.

    I'm pretty sure having to have fat32 is a linux thing. both windows and linux can read it, but windows can read the linux format, and linux can't read ntfs, so i guess they needed something in common lol
    stevednmc and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  18. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Well, its a good theory at any rate

    Ill have to check into that for sure
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Pretty sure that only effects flash drives.

    @fat32 & linux
    That is true now that I think about it

    Thanks man! :)
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  20. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    "EDIT: THIS should help with that"

    srry guess i was late on the edit on the other post

    ur welcome :toast:
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    LOL .. I was late on my reading. Alot of post editing tonight xD
  22. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    I have a bad habit of that actually... its my ADD/ADHD I'll think of something else and just edit it in LOL... hope i didn't loose steve in all the edits
  23. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    LOL, for me too.
    I suppose once i wipe this laptop drive i can see if it will give me the fat32 option, if it does im golden, and ill have space for days on my ps3, plus a little faster read and write times too!
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2011
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The good thing is, you can try this out for nothing (practically) because the way I have the instructions it has you making a backup of the files before even formatting the original ps3 drive.
  25. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    shall we keep this going till you hit 500? the speed will increase both because if the higher data density and possibly higher rpm... and more cache... just more more more lol

    Live chat would rule in a situation like this.
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page