1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

bad bios checksum

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by JanJan, May 3, 2009.

  1. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    This infinite loop of checking floppy disk and cd rom happen when i was overclocking. When i power computer, everything goes on, all lights and fans.

    I tried
    -Move the cmos cap to pin 2,3 and put it back on after 10s. I also try take out mobo battery and put it back. All failed.
    -Then i create a bootable floppy disk (only put in a P5LD2X.ROM). The first time computer doesn't recognize the disk.
    I (blindly) mess with the little square switch at the corner (push down) and the computer recognize it but takes forever to read it. I turn off computer (this probably only make it worse) and when i power it one more time the computer doesn't recognize anymore.:cry:

    Any help please? can i use afudos or crashfree bios 2?
     
  2. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    someone please reply
     
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Does that board have dual bios?
     
  4. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    dual bios means 2 bios chips? if so then i think it's a single bios.
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    Wow I should just stop posting today. Looks like the Crash free bios wont recover from a bad flash... http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx...d_id=1&model=P4S800D-X&page=1&SLanguage=en-us

    Now the question is: Is the bios chip socketed or soldered directly to the motherboard? I assume I need to look and verify this?

    I just looked at the one on newegg... http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowI...ription=ASUS P5LD2 R2.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

    If that is your board, you could simply get a new bios chip from ASUS or http://www.biosman.com/
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2009
  6. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    from what I read the issue is internal in the bios chip. The number of the bios you attempted to flash isn't corresponding to the bios chips recognition of the last checksum it saved.

    There may be other alternatives with flashing, never tried it to a corrupted chip myself. Getting a new bios chip will get you passed the checksum issue though.
     
  8. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page